Weather-Watch.com

Weather Equipment/Software => Weather Station Siting & Setup Tips => Topic started by: dan43 on November 21, 2016, 11:51:06 PM

Title: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 21, 2016, 11:51:06 PM
Hi, I'm having a bit of an issue with my IP camera quality settings.

If I accept the default settings in my Amcrest control panel, an excellent quality video image is displayed, but when I view it on the website, the image only displays for about 6-8 seconds and then goes blank.

If I lower the quality settings, the image stays there, but the quality settings are horrendous.  There is lots of pixelation and I can't clear it up.

I'd like to get an excellent quality picture at 640x480 but I can't get the settings right.

What do the different encoding modes mean?  I have a choice of H.264B, H.264, H.264H and MJPEG.  Could one of these settings be my issue?

Thanks to anyone who can help.

Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 22, 2016, 12:34:58 AM
Wait... I think I got it...

Can someone please check it out for me and let me know if it's clear for you, and stays on the screen for awhile?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on November 22, 2016, 12:59:20 AM
Not working now in Chrome, it was earlier.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: lgRich on November 22, 2016, 02:19:36 AM
Wait... I think I got it...

Can someone please check it out for me and let me know if it's clear for you, and stays on the screen for awhile?

Try this setting:

Encode : H264
Frame Rate (FPS) : 10
Quality : 6(Best)
Frame Interval :10


Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 22, 2016, 03:46:59 PM
Thanks all, I'm having a problem trying to re-connect to my IP camera.  I'm on vacation next week and can fiddle around with it then.

Until that time I've re-set up my Logitech webcam and put it in the window sill (which I hate doing), but any port in a storm I guess.

There is also no live video until I can get the IP camera running again.

Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 23, 2016, 02:56:16 AM
Ok, so this is a little frustrating needless to say...

I've been trying to get my wireless IP camera working since yesterday morning and I'm not having any luck.  Here's what I've done:

1) Unplugged the camera and plugged it back in again (this may serve as a hard-reboot, though I have not proven this - instructions do not say to do this if you're having a problem)
2) Uninstalled and re-installed the software
3) Gone into the Amcrest IP Config software, where I see the camera image, and can see the local IP address of 192.168.1.101 showing up with port 37777 being used
4) Configured two Windows Server firewall rules and opened up 37777 and 377778 both internal and external using TCP
5) Configured my TP-Link router to open 37777 and 37778 range on 192.168.1.101
6) Configured the URL in the PHP page to go directly to the camera with the correct settings to embed the live image into a web page
7) Gone into the settings in the camera software and selected "reset" to reset it to the default values and configuration settings
8 ) Set Webcam Capture v 10.23 to use my IP cam to go to directly to the camera URL with user ID & password.  The cam's log file says "[ERROR] URL async connection cancelled", "[INFO] asynchronous URL connection in progress", [ERROR] failed to start preview" and "[ERROR] failed to connect to" (but what, I don't know)

It's still not able to load the image in Chrome, Firefox, IE, or Edge.  When I hit refresh in my browser, the progress circle keeps turning and turning, then eventually times-out.  I've also tried putting the URL directly into the browser address field and it also times-out.

I'm not entirely sure why the camera just "stopped" on me yesterday morning, but I believe I have made a little progress - at least I can see the camera in the IP Cam software now and I can connect it to my own WIFI and the image is nice and clear.  I can also see the image clearly on my iPhone.

Anyone know what I'm missing?  This wasn't so hard the first time I set it up.

Thanks,
Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: Budgie on November 23, 2016, 01:10:18 PM
To see the live video external to your local network (i.e: on your website) you may need a fixed IP address and then add the port number to the end: 70.168.11.210:37777

For Webcam Capture you'll need to find out the URL of the image created by the camera, each manufacturer is different but on my Hikvision webcam it's: http://192.168.1.125/Streaming/Channels/1/picture

Hope that helps a little.  :wink:
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 23, 2016, 02:42:26 PM
To see the live video external to your local network (i.e: on your website) you may need a fixed IP address and then add the port number to the end: 70.168.11.210:37777

Yes, already did this.  I changed the default port to 4012, but it makes no difference, you can use any unused port.  It was working properly before the camera stopped displaying an image.

Quote
For Webcam Capture you'll need to find out the URL of the image created by the camera, each manufacturer is different but on my Hikvision webcam it's: http://192.168.1.125/Streaming/Channels/1/picture

Yes, my URL goes something like this, taken from the Amcrest website for my camera model:

http://192.168.1.101:4012/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1

Quote
Hope that helps a little.  :wink:

Thank you for your help, it looks like I've already done what you have suggested with no success.  I'll keep at it though.  I think it might have something to do with the firewall.

Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: Bashy on November 23, 2016, 03:03:42 PM
What i used to do was setup either a noip.org or dyndns.org and create a dns that would be something like
bashyscam@no-ip.org you get the idea, i never had a problem....

When you click on http://192.168.1.101:4012/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1
Can you see the video?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on November 23, 2016, 03:21:59 PM
Running an Amcrest webcam here ok.  If I can help let me know...
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 23, 2016, 04:58:13 PM
What i used to do was setup either a noip.org or dyndns.org and create a dns that would be something like
bashyscam@no-ip.org you get the idea, i never had a problem....

Thanks for your suggestion, I've set up a dns entry to point to my webcam but not sure how I should be using it.  Can you enlighten me?  :)  I'm already using dyndns.org for my dns entries.

Quote
When you click on http://192.168.1.101:4012/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1
Can you see the video?

No, that's the odd thing.  I've even temporarily turned off my firewall thinking it was something in the firewall that was preventing me from seeing the image in the console, but that doesn't appear to be the problem as the image is still not being displayed.

In the attached image, would this happen to be the correct URL?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 24, 2016, 12:52:32 AM
Would there be anyone who would be interested in a TeamViewer session with me on this?  Maybe I need a new pair of eyes to look at it.  Please contact me via pm.  Thanks.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 24, 2016, 05:13:46 AM
Running an Amcrest webcam here ok.  If I can help let me know...

Hi Dan, just sent you an email.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 24, 2016, 06:17:52 AM
Hallelujah!!!

Gentlemen, it's working again.  The issue is that I was entering a port number in the webcamcapture app, when it didn't really need it.  I found this out quite by accident by trying different connection URLs as shown on the Amcrest website and when I entered one but didn't put the port number in, the image showed up!  This is quite perplexing because I always had the port number in there before.  But, if it works like this, then I'm going to leave the port number out of the URL. I've been watching the page now for about 5-6 minutes, and so far it hasn't timed-out and is keeping pretty good time.

lgRich, I took your advice and tried to set my cam settings to the ones you suggested and after I click the "Save" button to save the changes, it changes back to MJPG, 720P, 10 FPS all by itself and I'm not sure why, but like I said, if it works with these settings then I'm going to leave it alone for awhile to see what it does.

Thanks to everyone who helped me with my settings and helping me to get this back up and running. It's been an experience, I can tell you!  Now I can go to bed happy.  :)

Cheers,
Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on November 24, 2016, 02:40:56 PM
I can't see it but that's because the webpage is trying to show your local IP http://192.168.1.102/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 24, 2016, 04:20:50 PM
Hmm.  Works internally but not externally.  I tried my IP address, my domain name, and the DNS entry I created yesterday for my webcam and it still won't show.

Well, back to the drawing board, as they say.  :(
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on November 25, 2016, 10:47:37 PM
Gents, I've given up on this for now.  It's too frustrating to try to get a live image going again.  Works locally but not externally.  I'm on vacation next week so may spend more time with it then.  In the interim, I've gone back to 1 image and the daily video.

Thanks for all your help.

Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on November 26, 2016, 11:16:04 PM
Lots of moving parts in getting the outside world access to your internal net.  What problem are you having?  I do use teamviewer.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 01, 2016, 11:39:33 PM
Live camera is working now.  Would someone care to try it?

Mozilla just updated Firefox just updated to a new version and it seems to be working in Firefox now as well as Chrome.

Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 12:58:51 AM
Not going to work...

http://192.168.1.102/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1

You need a real IP for anybody to reach your cam...
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 02:26:26 AM
Hi Dan... when I put an external IP address there, the page never loads.  I've opened the port on the firewall, but still I get nothing.  Any ideas on how to fix that?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 02:33:10 AM
Do you know for sure that the port you are trying to use is opened by your ISP?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 02:35:44 AM
Try testing with Shields Up https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 03:28:14 AM
Yes, it's open, according to Open Port Check Tool.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 03:31:24 AM
Also open according to Shields Up!
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 03:32:05 AM
Hi Dan... when I put an external IP address there, the page never loads.  I've opened the port on the firewall, but still I get nothing.  Any ideas on how to fix that?

In your browser, for the URL enter "whatsmyip" and you should see your actual IP.  That IP along with the actual port number should be part of the URL you would use for access.  It should look similar to:

http://xxx.xxx.x.xxx:xxx/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.cgi?camera=1


add: Forgot one thing...You need to port forward.  In your router, port forward the port you select to the IP address of your webcam.  The IP should match up with your internal net address's...if you internal address's are 192.168.1.1xx the on the router, set it to port forward requests from the external IP:Port to the IP of your webcam and include the port #.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 03:50:11 AM
Entering that URL in a browser window results with a "Page can't be displayed" message.

I switched the port to 3193 in the webcam IP setup console, just in case 4012 is being used by something, but that didn't seem to help.

EDIT: I have also already port forwarded 3193 in the router port forwarding settings.  Still nothing.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 03:51:57 AM
Try this one...

https://whatismyipaddress.com/?u=TRUE (https://whatismyipaddress.com/?u=TRUE)
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 03:52:36 AM
Try this one...

https://whatismyipaddress.com/?u=TRUE (https://whatismyipaddress.com/?u=TRUE)

Same IP.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 03:56:10 AM
Just FYI your IP isn't a secret because you have your webserver running on it  :wink:

Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 03:57:17 AM
http://www.showmemyip.com/


or you blanked it out in the shields up query...
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 04:02:11 AM
Yeah, I thought about that after I blocked it out.  I don't know why I did that, I'm among friends here.  LOL
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 04:12:38 AM
Keep in mind that the directions I've given you are to allow people to connect directly to your webcam.  AFAIK all the Amcrest cams run an internal webserver.  If your using WD to serve the live feed then the setup would be different.  Instead of pointing the router requests to your webcam you would instead point them to your WD computer.  I am not familiar with using this method to serve up live video.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 04:16:29 AM
I've tried a few things and I can't find anything to connect to on 4102 or 3193. Are you sure you have the port forwarded correctly in your router? I guess you must have done it OK with 80 'cause the website works  :?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 04:21:01 AM
Try port 3732.

Keep in mind that the directions I've given you are to allow people to connect directly to your webcam.  AFAIK all the Amcrest cams run an internal webserver.  If your using WD to serve the live feed then the setup would be different.  Instead of pointing the router requests to your webcam you would instead point them to your WD computer.  I am not familiar with using this method to serve up live video.

So, if you're not familiar with this method, what method should I be using?  In the "Connections" tab of the Amcrest setup console, it can handle TCP, UDP, HTTP, RTSP and HTTPS, and on the Multicast tab it can do Main Streams on port 36666, and Sub-Streams on 36667.

What's the best method for doing this and how should I set it up?
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: NorCal Dan on December 02, 2016, 04:25:02 AM
I'm not familiar with using WD to serve the stream.  :wink:

The only method I've used is to allow visitors to connect directly to my webcam so that's the directions I gave you. 
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 04:27:21 AM
If I enter the Multicast Stream URL into the browser window, I get this bar across the top of a web page... much different than any other page that errors occur on.  It doesn't say it can't find it, it says it's "Unable to connect".  Try this URL:

http://239.255.42.42:36666/

I opened 36666 on the router.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 04:33:39 AM
That's a special use IP, it will only work within your network.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 06:11:35 AM
Guys, I got it!!!!

The problem was on my router both the Service (Internal) and External port were both set to 3732.  I set the Internal port to 80, and it started streaming like it should!

So excited!!!

http://portcoquitlamweather.ca/livecam.php

Let me know if you can see it.

Cheers,
Dan
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 02:55:16 PM
I see it  :D  but only for a few seconds and then it goes away.
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 02, 2016, 04:37:51 PM
I see it  :D  but only for a few seconds and then it goes away.

I think that has to do with the quality settings being set too high and it can't keep up.  I have to do some tweaking to get it just right.  Just reload the page if you want to keep viewing.  It's not consistent.

Thanks for testing!
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: niko on December 02, 2016, 04:57:53 PM
For some reason fullscreen seems to work better than the webpage image...
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: Bashy on December 09, 2016, 02:07:44 PM
Dead in chrome :/
Title: Re: IP camera image quality question
Post by: dan43 on December 16, 2016, 04:42:38 PM
I think I've found a good mix of quality and bandwidth options to produce a continuously streaming webcam image from my camera.  It's not 100% perfect, but it does the job and doesn't time out after a few seconds.

If this can help anyone else out using an Amcrest webcam, by all means feel free to use these settings.