cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station  (Read 87640 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #30 on: March 21, 2005, 12:35:08 AM »
Wellll... Ummmmm...

Lets see here it is a full 5 months after i got mine and I am STILL working on it  LOL

No seriously I don't have a VP but I had my La Crosse running and sending data to my computer the night I got it...

The next afternoon I had it set up outside and sending data to my web site (not live but sending data).

So it all depends on a bunch of things, digging hole 5 minutes to 30 depending on your terrain, sticking pole in hole 2 minutes...  Nighttime excursion 30 minutes...  mounting everything the next evening I would think 30 minutes  LOL

Good luck and let us know,
Bob

Great.  Doesn't sound too difficult, and as I said, I should have everything up by next weekend so I should have you guys updated by then.  Thanks for all of the help, Bob.
P.S. - I like how you snuck that "Nighttime excursion 30 minutes" thing in there...haha LOL

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #31 on: March 21, 2005, 12:45:32 AM »
P.S. - I like how you snuck that "Nighttime excursion 30 minutes" thing in there...haha LOL

Haaa... A guy has to be able to take a midnight stretch, even in an Association Controlled development ;)

-Bob

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #32 on: March 21, 2005, 12:47:06 AM »
Lol...I was wondering if you had any pictures of when you first started out with the setup of your weather station to where you are right now?

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #33 on: March 21, 2005, 01:47:26 AM »
Sorry if I am being annoying, but I would just like to get some more ideas.  Thanks.

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #34 on: March 21, 2005, 01:54:20 AM »
Ohh you are not annoying me, if that is your concern...

The best i have are located here:
http://jaxweather.net/Gallery/thumbnails.php?album=4

However there were two modifications made today that I haven't captured yet.  I slotted the board that the rain gauge is mounted on, and raised the height of the mount, to facilitate the sliding down of the Anemometer pole as that will put the top of the pole at a reasonable height to access using a standard ladder...

The second was the adding of another "shield" to the pole with the thermo-hygro sensor mounted to further reduce direct sun light which I will have to evaluate for another couple of days before I say this is a final deal  LOL

-Bob

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #35 on: March 21, 2005, 01:58:31 AM »
Ohh you are not annoying me, if that is your concern...

The best i have are located here:
http://jaxweather.net/Gallery/thumbnails.php?album=4

However there were two modifications made today that I haven't captured yet.  I slotted the board that the rain gauge is mounted on, and raised the height of the mount, to facilitate the sliding down of the Anemometer pole as that will put the top of the pole at a reasonable height to access using a standard ladder...

The second was the adding of another "shield" to the pole with the thermo-hygro sensor mounted to further reduce direct sun light which I will have to evaluate for another couple of days before I say this is a final deal  LOL

-Bob

Geez your right...you put a lot of work into this.  I'm glad to hear.  Anways, keep me updated on how things are going.  Thanks.

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #36 on: March 21, 2005, 02:07:01 AM »
Also one other question...since my house is two stories, once i complete the mounting/setup it will only be about 12-15' off the ground.  But my house is about 25' tall, and the house blocks the N/NE readings.  What do you think about this?  Thanks.

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #37 on: March 21, 2005, 02:09:54 AM »
Well...

There is another reason to Live here in the south, more one story then multiple story residences ;)

(Oh and that OTHER reason the S*** word :P )

I would have to refer you to others that are dealing with that problem as I only have trees and they are mostly southern pines which are 50 to 75 feet of trunk and then the limbs, and pine needles, at the top  LOL

-Bob

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #38 on: March 21, 2005, 02:12:57 AM »
Well...

There is another reason to Live here in the south, more one story then multiple story residences ;)

(Oh and that OTHER reason the S*** word :P )

I would have to refer you to others that are dealing with that problem as I only have trees and they are mostly southern pines which are 50 to 75 feet of trunk and then the limbs, and pine needles, at the top  LOL

-Bob

So what is your answer?  LOL.  The trees around us are not very tall, but it is just the house that is in the way...so what is your advice?  Thanks.

Offline snowman

  • Posts: 1,945
  • C'Mon Snow
  • North Central Pa USA
    • sterlingrun.com
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #39 on: March 21, 2005, 10:44:36 AM »
(Oh and that OTHER reason the S*** word :P )

I heard that!
~Stan~

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #40 on: March 21, 2005, 01:04:54 PM »
LOL...Nice one snowman.  But seriously, is there anything I can do that you think of to prevent my house from blocking the anemometer?  Thanks.

Offline dcoufal

  • Posts: 115
  • Temple, TX - USA
    • Temple, TX Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #41 on: March 21, 2005, 02:28:43 PM »
LOL...Nice one snowman.  But seriously, is there anything I can do that you think of to prevent my house from blocking the anemometer?  Thanks.

You can drill some nice big holes through the walls in your house...  Just explain to your wife it's for the greater good of society.  :wink:

Oh, wait.... you said "seriously", didn't you?  #-o  Sorry...  :wink:
Weather Station: AAG 3.0 / W2K / P4-2.8GHz / 512MB / 120GB / Boltek PCI
Web Server: RedHat 8.3 / P4-2.4GHz / 512MB / 120GB
http://www.templeweather.com

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #42 on: March 21, 2005, 03:15:59 PM »
Smooth dcoufal...I will defintely take that into consideration  :wink:  :D.
Anyways, I will keep you guys updated.  Thanks for all of your help.

Offline PDX-Mike

  • Posts: 428
  • Portland Oregon USA
    • PDX-WX.COM
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #43 on: March 21, 2005, 06:00:04 PM »
LOL...Nice one snowman.  But seriously, is there anything I can do that you think of to prevent my house from blocking the anemometer?  Thanks.

Only thing I could suggest is to try to get the anemometer up higher than your roof ridge line.  But if your homeowners assoc. is un-happy with setting a post in concrete, then my guess is they'd have a cow over a tall pole sticking up.  I suppose they won't let you have a TV antenna on the roof either (that's where I put my anemometer)?

BTW, the "midnight run" seems like a good one to me... if you use quickset concrete you can just pour it in dry, toss some sod on the top, true up the post and water it well.  No need to mix up the concrete first!

Mike

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Post A Picture of the Setup for Your Weather Station
« Reply #44 on: March 21, 2005, 06:09:36 PM »
Sounds good...but our association does not allow us to put anything on our roof or any concrete.  And since the person in charge of the association for our neighborhood lives across the street, and they check (association people) the backyards of people's homes to try and nail you with a fine.  Anyways, I will probably just bury the 4x4 post (either an 8' post or a 10' post) 3 or 4' into the ground...Do you guys think this will be stable and work out okay?  Thanks for all of your help.