Help... extreme Newbie..Just purchased Davis VP2 any suggestions?

Thanks to members who have answered my other cries for help on different threads,Im A complete novice when it comes to weather forcasting, monitoring etc… im still trying to learn all the terms of measurement and what they mean, Ive finally decided not to keep the two unopened stations I just received (davis weather wizard III & lacrosse ws-3610u touchscreen) . And instead purchased a Davis VP2 wireless which should arrive sometime this week. As I said before im green when it comes to meterology and am interested in learning since it seems like a great hobby, what else do I need to buy to make this station work once it arrives, not really looking for any additional sensors like soil or leaf sensors, just the basics for now will do until I learn more about what ive gotten myself into here :roll:

my wife and I own a condo so we cant put anything on the roof and since someone else cuts the lawn I cant put anything out in the common yard area like a pole with guidewires, the best I can do is mount to a wooden fence structure about 8 ft out from the rear of the house,( see pic) I will include a pic of the rear of our condo so you can make recommendations, im assuming that I should remove the temp sensor and place it somewhere other than directly on the pole or is the radiation shield adequate on the davis vp2? I would like to check data on my pc as well ive been hearing about WD im assuming its some monitoring software created by someone on this site, if
someone can recommend a good monitoring software that works well with this and tell me how much it costs and where I can get it I would really appreciate it, thanks and I anxiously await responses
thanks again p.s the davis is the wireless version not the cable version
Wayne

houserear.jpg

sideview.jpg

I have a question for you.

Are you able to get on top of your roof ?