cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: wmr200 not decoding data  (Read 355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sticky

  • Posts: 72
  • Brisbane
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 75.0.3770.100
    • Northgate
wmr200 not decoding data
« on: June 28, 2019, 06:33:03 AM »
My wmr200 seems to have stopped decoding data after downloading from the datalogger. I see it downloading and it appears in the wmr200history file but doesn't get decoded. Tried resetting unit. Also why does the wmr200history program run twice when I start WD?
R

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,244
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 75.0.3770.100
    • Weather Display
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2019, 09:31:50 AM »
there is a way to completely reset/erase the history data on the wmr200 console via a sequence of key combinations
its in the manual...

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 989
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2019, 10:10:47 AM »
there is a way to completely reset/erase the history data on the wmr200 console via a sequence of key combinations
its in the manual...

I don't think that's the answer, Brian, the history data is erased when downloaded to wmr200history.txt. I've been reporting exactly the same problem as Sticky for some time now. . . I don't mind losing a few minutes for minor W10 restarts, but not hours at a time. I'm keeping the longer wmr200history.txt files in case I ever find out how to decode them, but it would be much nicer if you could help us get the history routine running properly again.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2019, 05:45:20 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,244
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 75.0.3770.100
    • Weather Display
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2019, 07:23:52 PM »
you can import that file into WD, I have that function
the WMR200 is a very quircky station when it comes to the history data. there is also of strange things that go on..ghost data etc. I have given up on it sorry.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 989
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2019, 08:42:20 PM »
you can import that file into WD, I have that function

Where do we find it? And why couldn't you tell me that months ago?

Quote
the WMR200 is a very quircky station when it comes to the history data. there is also of strange things that go on..ghost data etc.

Also what? Talk of strange things. . .?

Quote
I have given up on it sorry.

Thanks a lot. WMR200 suits me because I can site sensors where they give sensible readings, and I'm steadily buying up spare modules so I can keep it going. . . Davis kit would be useless in a small suburban garden.

Meerkat was obviously right, all those years ago: don't use WD if you're interested in WMR200 history data.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Sticky

  • Posts: 72
  • Brisbane
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 75.0.3770.100
    • Northgate
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2019, 06:08:55 AM »
some guidance on importing wmr200history file would be good. Can't see anything obvious so far.
R
« Last Edit: June 29, 2019, 07:08:38 AM by Sticky »

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 989
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2019, 11:28:15 PM »
some guidance on importing wmr200history file would be good.

+1
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Sticky

  • Posts: 72
  • Brisbane
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 75.0.3770.100
    • Northgate
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2019, 05:48:23 AM »
Found these instructions but not entirely sure how to implement?
https://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,59739.msg477352.html#msg477352

R

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 989
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
    • Home Weather Station
Re: wmr200 not decoding data
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2019, 06:22:07 PM »
you can import that file [wmr200history.txt] into WD, I have that function

Brian, even if you have given up on the WMR200 I should be grateful if you could share what you offered above. It certainly is not under "action, import logfiles files, import wmr200history" any more.

It's meant to be fun. . .