cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips  (Read 471 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« on: April 20, 2019, 06:06:07 PM »
AQI- unstable with a lot of dips down to 0.0.

I use a PM sensor and SW from Luftdaten to measure the particles in the air.
I let WD do the AQI calculation, but when I look at the WD screens, the AQI-curve has a lot of dips.
The curves made by Luftdaten have no dips, but since WD does some calculations with the data from the sensor, I think that the problem is in WD.
Luftdaten is updated every 150 seconds, how often is WD updating the AQI? may be there is a setting for this?
Which parameters are used in the calculation for AQI in WD, including PM10 and PM2.5?
What does the formula look like?

PC: WIN10, WD 10.37S94. Have seen the same for older WD Versions.

see http://www.ts20.no

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2019, 06:50:31 PM »
the green line is dipping to zero
hence why the aqi line is
I would need a copy of the raw data file when that is happening

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2019, 08:35:43 PM »
Sorry, but can you please tell me the name of that file  :roll:

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2019, 10:11:11 PM »
airquality.txt and airquality2.txt
where WD is installed

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2019, 08:00:59 AM »
Hello

airquality.txt I can't find anywhere on my computer..

But I'll attach what I think you mean, airqualityaqi.inf (zipped due to size) and airquality2.txt.

I also attach the setup.

The dips are there more or less all the time.

Regards

ts20
« Last Edit: April 22, 2019, 08:10:13 AM by ts20 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2019, 06:34:41 PM »
what I need is the copy of the airquality2.txt file when the pm2 value is zero in WD

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2019, 09:39:07 AM »
Hello Brian

I logged during the night, lot of dips, here is what I found at 10:12:33.
Seems that the PM values are missing, between 10:10:18 and 10:19:18.
I also attach the whole log.

Logged time = 10:10:18,20 23.04.2019
{"software_version": "NRZ-2018-123B", "age":"82", "sensordatavalues":[{"value_type":"SDS_P1","value":"5.80"},{"value_type":"SDS_P2","value":"2.95"},{"value_type":"temperature","value":"13.70"},{"value_type":"humidity","value":"42.60"},{"value_type":"samples","value":"1883805"},{"value_type":"min_micro","value":"74"},{"value_type":"max_micro","value":"21034"},{"value_type":"signal","value":"-72"}]}
*
Logged time = 10:12:33,13 23.04.2019
{"software_version": "NRZ-2018-123B", "age":"109", "sensordatavalues":[{"value_type":"temperature","value":"13.70"},{"value_type":"humidity","value":"42.50"},{"value_type":"samples","value":"1891742"},{"value_type":"min_micro","value":"74"},{"value_type":"max_micro","value":"21560"},{"value_type":"signal","value":"-71"}]}
*
Logged time = 10:14:48,16 23.04.2019
{"software_version": "NRZ-2018-123B", "age":"109", "sensordatavalues":[{"value_type":"temperature","value":"13.70"},{"value_type":"humidity","value":"42.50"},{"value_type":"samples","value":"1891742"},{"value_type":"min_micro","value":"74"},{"value_type":"max_micro","value":"21560"},{"value_type":"signal","value":"-71"}]}
*
Logged time = 10:17:03,15 23.04.2019
{"software_version": "NRZ-2018-123B", "age":"109", "sensordatavalues":[{"value_type":"temperature","value":"13.70"},{"value_type":"humidity","value":"42.50"},{"value_type":"samples","value":"1891742"},{"value_type":"min_micro","value":"74"},{"value_type":"max_micro","value":"21560"},{"value_type":"signal","value":"-71"}]}
*
Logged time = 10:19:18,14 23.04.2019
{"software_version": "NRZ-2018-123B", "age":"24", "sensordatavalues":[{"value_type":"SDS_P1","value":"5.12"},{"value_type":"SDS_P2","value":"2.77"},{"value_type":"temperature","value":"14.00"},{"value_type":"humidity","value":"42.10"},{"value_type":"samples","value":"1847291"},{"value_type":"min_micro","value":"76"},{"value_type":"max_micro","value":"21046"},{"value_type":"signal","value":"-71"}]}
*

Regards

ts20

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2019, 10:18:47 AM »
that is the issue then, those missing pm 2.5 readings

use a new .zip update of WD, so that WD then does not set that reading to zero (hopefully)

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2019, 09:15:31 PM »
Hello Brian.

Installed the zipped files earlier today, but no success. The PM-values do not update, except when I manually click "Test"- button in the setup window.
Every time I do this, the PM2.5 is updated, never during normal operation.
See the log.

Regards

ts20



Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2019, 09:36:22 PM »
auto updating should not have been affected by the change I made
there is something else going on with your setup I suspect

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2019, 10:51:20 PM »
Hello again.

I have tried to disable and removing different options that I suspected was giving me trouble with the AQI trending, but still no luck.
When I read about  air quality index in Wikipedia, there are about ten different countries that might be using different methods for the index.


Which formula is used here in WD? Which inputs are used for AQI, except particulate matter? How to calculate this manually?

In US, these inputs seem to be used: ground-level ozone, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and nitrogen dioxide.

Is there any WD users that have  success With the AQI trending using Luftdaten sensor?

Regards

ts20

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,989
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.157
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2019, 11:23:19 PM »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2019, 05:19:43 AM »
the latest update should fix this

Offline ts20

  • Posts: 86
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2019, 08:26:09 PM »
Hello,

Seems much better now with Weather Display install file  v 10.37S Build 96 Version on 18 May 2019 - 01:30:22.

But still some dips during the last 24 h.

Regards ts20
« Last Edit: May 19, 2019, 08:31:53 PM by ts20 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,757
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
    • Weather Display
Re: AQI- unstable with a lot of dips
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2019, 08:33:18 PM »
i have found a better way of getting the data (using json library)
so if you could email me the airquality.txt and airquality2.txt files, I will test that way