cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Windy.com setup  (Read 659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2019, 09:05:54 PM »
Hi Brian, yes it worked but its not updating automatically. unless I run test a data send every hour nothing happens
here is the output of sendwindycomdata, 
"https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/?&winddir=157&ts=1555832400&windspeedmph=0&windgustmph=0&humidity=74&tempf=74.8&rainin=0.000&baromin=30.144&dewptf=66.0&uv=0.0
https://stations.windy.com/pws/update/?&winddir=157&ts=1555832400&windspeedmph=0&windgustmph=0&humidity=74&tempf=74.8&rainin=0.000&baromin=30.144&dewptf=66.0&uv=0.0"
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 09:49:58 PM by gumnut »
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,742
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2019, 09:22:07 PM »
ah
so the automatic running of the cron program is not happening?

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 653
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2019, 09:32:49 PM »
You might want to remove your private API key from the first post.
Mark

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,742
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2019, 09:48:49 PM »
I see the problem, I had used code from the Mac version, and the nameing of the cron program is different to linux
upoading a fix now

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2019, 09:51:50 PM »
Thanks Mark :)
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,742
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2019, 10:08:23 PM »
new update ready now
re having your api key showing..who in the world is actually going to want to use your api key to upload their weather data anyway though ? (as your lat/long and station name is tied to your api key)

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2019, 10:26:46 PM »
Thanks Brian I'll let you know how its going
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 653
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 9
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.90
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2019, 10:38:11 PM »
Re API key, I know it is unlikely, but I never cease to be amazed at some people's delight in screwing things up for others.
Mark

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #23 on: April 21, 2019, 10:49:55 PM »
Thanks Brian alls working OK  :D
Youre right Mark people do it just cause they can
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2019, 11:31:39 PM »
OK heres a question and sorry if I'm a pain
should cronwindy open a new window (which is happening) every time it sends data or should it refresh
also cannot close cronwindy window with the  close button  :? (have to use the Linux kill switch X)
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,742
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
    • Weather Display
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #25 on: April 21, 2019, 11:41:33 PM »
ah
it should close auto once sent
I will have a look
(I am trying to take a break though as it is easter monday here)

it should close OK..just checked the code...
do you see any error message?
what if you run it from a terminal window?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 11:43:14 PM by Weather Display »

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #26 on: April 22, 2019, 12:04:49 AM »
OK mate sorry to interrupt your Easter have a great day and enjoy yourself
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2019, 11:47:41 PM »
here is the output from a terminal window

(cronwindycom:23335): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_main_quit: assertion 'main_loops != NULL' failed
0
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,742
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2019, 06:58:17 PM »
Those are gtk graphic library errors
With the updated compiler
But should not cause a problem
Does the program exit after sending the data
That is the Q

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 95
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 60.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Windy.com setup
« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2019, 09:06:15 PM »
No its not exiting after the data is sent
It has to be closed manually, I have set it to send every hour so that there are not as many to close down when I have to
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR