cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Wunderground is.....  (Read 272 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BillVan

  • Posts: 12
  • Texas
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
Wunderground is.....
« on: April 11, 2019, 12:43:55 AM »
Like everybody else that uses WU, I too have been wondering why live updates (RapidFire) has been removed. Is there anything else we can do or is this the end?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,484
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2019, 12:55:17 AM »
the original WU data site is still currently available via
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?id=  [ADD YOUR ID HERE]  #history
e.g mine
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?id=IFRANKLI1#history

but it has issues too..for me the temperature reading is too high..weird

Offline BillVan

  • Posts: 12
  • Texas
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2019, 12:14:57 PM »
Thanks for the link! We'll see how long they leave that running but it's much better than refreshing the page every time I want an update.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,484
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2019, 08:32:47 PM »
WU has made some major improvements now , whew

Offline BillVan

  • Posts: 12
  • Texas
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2019, 09:09:50 PM »
I guess my all my emails complaining caused them to reconsider :D

I just went to my station on the new dashboard and noticed that the data is now almost real time! That  is a huge improvement! Good news for all!

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 733
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2019, 09:14:32 PM »
Still get a silly inHg barometer reading shown when I select C (and thus hPa).

And I don't know where they get 2 d.p. for hPa when I only report hPa in whole digits. . .
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 09:16:15 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline BillVan

  • Posts: 12
  • Texas
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2019, 09:19:33 PM »
That's strange.... mine is reading correctly.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,484
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2019, 09:27:14 PM »
are sure you needle on the barometer gauge is reading correctly?
i think someones vector maths is not applied correctly yet

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 960
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2019, 09:32:01 PM »
And I don't know where they get 2 d.p. for hPa when I only report hPa in whole digits. . .
Probably due to conversion from inches of mercury (which is what is sent via the rapidfire program).

New dashboard looking better but I don't like the temperature as a whole number resulting in "steps" on the graph.

Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,484
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2019, 09:35:36 PM »
they are working on the decimal place for temperature
a couple of week away by the looks
the problem is that raw data, the new api data, only has the temperature to 1 whole F
so that needs to be made to 1 decimal place first

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 733
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2019, 09:39:30 PM »
Probably due to conversion from inches of mercury (which is what is sent via the rapidfire program).

Has to be something like that, but I don't use rapidfire. OS WMR200 reports whole mb to WD, and I don't know what WD uploads.

Quote
New dashboard looking better but I don't like the temperature as a whole number resulting in "steps" on the graph.

Nor do I. . . and the map can't be made to show C, either.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 960
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2019, 09:44:44 PM »
Has to be something like that, but I don't use rapidfire. OS WMR200 reports whole mb to WD, and I don't know what WD uploads.

It will be US units - you should see what is being sent at the very bottom of the Weather Underground window when opened from control panel when using timed interval uploads.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 09:50:54 PM by Martyn »
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 960
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 66.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2019, 09:49:59 PM »
are sure you needle on the barometer gauge is reading correctly?
i think someones vector maths is not applied correctly yet

Mine isn't correct either. Something they need to tweak.
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,484
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2019, 09:57:29 PM »
the wundermap  is now showing C for me when it was not before

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 733
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: Wunderground is.....
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2019, 09:57:50 PM »
It will be US units - you should see what is being sent at the very bottom of the Weather Underground window when opened from control panel when using timed interval uploads.

Yes, that's it. WMR200 sends default hPa to WD, WD converts to inHg, and WU converts back to hPa.
It's meant to be fun. . .

 

cumulus