cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weatherflow and Mac  (Read 511 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Weatherflow and Mac
« on: April 04, 2019, 01:25:29 AM »
cronweatherflow is showing no data...station is online according to the app...see https://smartweather.weatherflow.com/station/6695/grid

10.37Mac311 version in use...not sure what to select for comm port with this station...


Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2019, 01:37:47 AM »
you have not set a station ID
e.g 6695

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2019, 01:50:02 AM »
I cannot type in that box in cronweatherflow...is there someplace else to enter it?
« Last Edit: April 04, 2019, 02:09:52 AM by NorCal Dan »

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2019, 03:25:42 AM »
yes
in the weather station type setup in WD, where you select the weather flow station type
(do that when the cronweatherflow program is not running...then start that up or restart WD)

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2019, 03:36:38 PM »
The iMac is not picking it up for some reason.  See the attached in my previous message.  cronweatherflow will not pick up the station ID. 

FWIW, I tried it on my Win10 machine and it worked just fine so something about the IOS version...

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2019, 05:54:54 PM »
are you sure you followed my instructions carefully?

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2019, 09:04:59 PM »
in the weather station type setup in WD, where you select the weather flow station type
(do that when the cronweatherflow program is not running...then start that up or restart WD)

Yes, I quit cronweatherflow, re-entered the ID#, then hit enable.  cronweatherflow starts up with no ID#.


Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2019, 10:05:27 PM »
works OK here
just tested
try restarting WD

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2019, 12:56:38 AM »
Maybe a clue...when starting up WD it shows as attached.  cronweatherflow does start, but I closed it before taking this snap of the screen.  WD title bar says weatherflow, but it still seems to be defaulting to davis.  It's been a long time since I messed with IOS version of WD and I can't remember if there is an ini file or where WD stores this info...is it possible to manually edit the ini file in IOS?

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2019, 02:34:28 AM »
Caught this error...manually created the file but no help...


Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2019, 02:42:28 AM »
Looks like a permision error
With that settings file in that error

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2019, 03:16:38 PM »
Looks like a permision error
With that settings file in that error

Any suggestions on where to look for the problem?  I created the ini files and gave them 777 permissions as well as their parent directory but nothing helped...

Also, WD is getting info from someplace as the data counter is incrementing.  I thought I turned off all internet access and metar data so what WD is counting is unknown.  Do you have removal instructions for the IOS version of WD?  I've tried deleteing WD but everytime I re-install it WD is finding settings from earlier installs and I have no idea where these settings are stored.

Another question...I do not have the Weatherflow USB connected to my iMac.  WD appears to be able to access WF via wifi since WD finds the sensors ok when I hit the button to find sensor names.  Does WD require the WF to be physcially connected to the computer running WD?

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.86
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2019, 05:19:23 PM »
Ok, figured it out.  Once I removed WD completely and re-installed it now reads the Weatherflow data.  Have some issues with graphing solar and can't find the lightning settings to verify, and the "rain today" is not showing correct on the WD console.  Sucks they couldn't see their way to include and indoor thermometer with this station but I can live without that...

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2019, 06:17:20 PM »
Re solar
Make sure the switch is on in the solar setup
Re lightning
Try the latest update
I am away this weekend at a university reunion
But will test the solar and lightning when I get back

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,483
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow and Mac
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2019, 06:22:01 PM »
Oh and you can have indoor temp/ hum
Via a second air sensor
And then you set that sensor to be used for
Indoor in WD