cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question  (Read 689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« on: February 09, 2019, 07:52:44 PM »
Hi All,

Not sure I'm putting this in the right place but here goes....
I noticed that my GRLevel3 images on my website were not updating and when I checked it looks like my software isn't able to download the radar data anymore. I'm guessing something changed, maybe gone https or something. I did a quick search and a few Googles but no luck and so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I just updated GRLevel3 software end of last year and didn't see a newer version.

Thanks

Derek

Offline sacreysouthern

  • Posts: 239
  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Benton, AR, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 07:58:59 PM »
There is a beta of GR3 2.80b1 on the GR3 Forum you can download to resolve this problem.
GR2AE, GR3, Davis VP2 Pro CWOP ID: D2073

Offline mldenison

  • Posts: 264
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • York, Pennsylvania USA Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 09:30:33 PM »
There's now a beta of GR3 2.80b2 on the GR3 Forum.  I installed it and it seems OK.

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2019, 09:03:48 AM »
Thanks for the replies everyone but I installed the latest beta and still no luck. Everything appears to load/run fine but down in the bottom right corner it just keeps showing in red "Next Update In Xsecs" then "Downloading" for like 2 seconds but never seems to connect to wherever it's trying to connect and nothing ever updates. I've not changed any settings in years other than trying to see if a different site made any difference, which it did not.

I'm currently stumped!!

Offline sacreysouthern

  • Posts: 239
  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Benton, AR, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2019, 01:46:57 PM »
I'm wondering if your antivirus, firewall and/or OS have updated and are now blocking access?
GR2AE, GR3, Davis VP2 Pro CWOP ID: D2073

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2019, 02:44:51 PM »
Might it be that the radar site where you are getting the images from is down (which radar site do you have setup in the GRLevel3 software)?

Have you tried getting the images from another radar site?
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2019, 02:55:40 PM »
I normally use KHTX or KFFC but I've tried a bunch of others, even some on the west coast but still get nothing. Also, firewall and AV are both disabled. Internet access is fine and WD uploads to my site are working fine. The last day everything worked was on 2/4/19. At first I just thought the radar was down but after a few days I looked into it and saw that nothing was being downloaded. I'm really stumped on what's going on.

I've thought about deleting everything and reloading but I have a sneaky feeling that isn't going to help. Plus I hate to have to redo things from scratch.

I do appreciate any and all advice!!

Offline sacreysouthern

  • Posts: 239
  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Benton, AR, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2019, 02:58:37 PM »
Hmmm......I was just about to suggest deleting and re-installing, but do understand your reluctance. Now that I think about it, wasn't there a Windows Update for Win10 about that time frame? I wonder if there was, it has screwed up something (what a surprise, right)?
GR2AE, GR3, Davis VP2 Pro CWOP ID: D2073

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2019, 05:18:38 PM »
Hi Sacreysouthern,

That's a good point on updates but it's an XP machine that runs both WD and Grlevel3 and no updates for years.

I'll give it a bit and if nothing comes up I'll probably try removing and reinstalling. Not working now so I can't really make it worse I guess.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2019, 05:27:47 PM »
Pure conjecture! Is it possible the source changed to SSL/https, or version thereof? AFAIK XP lacks full support for SSL so maybe that's why you Objector is having issues and others are not.

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2019, 10:51:34 AM »
Hi niko,

Thanks for the input. I'll do a fresh install and a quick configure on a W7 or W10 system this afternoon and see what happens. It makes sense as it's been almost 10 years without any issues and this just started out of nowhere without any changes on this end.

Offline Objector

  • Posts: 383
  • Dalton, Georgia, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 12.1.2
  • Safari 12.0
    • Dalton Georgia Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2019, 01:16:26 AM »
Well it looks like niko was/is right. I did an install on W7 and instant success. Didnít even have to use the newest beta version. The same version I had running on XP worked fine. I havenít had a chance to dig around to see if thereís a fix for XP but seriously doubt it as itís so old. Right now I have GR running on a W7 atom powered notebook. Anyone have any thoughts if this little deal could handle WD and Wxsim too?

Thanks to all for the help. Itís much appreciated!!

Derek

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2019, 02:54:01 AM »
Woohoo!

Which Atom? There's a wide range of capability, I'm running WD on an Atom D525.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2019, 03:01:51 PM by niko »

Offline mikeym

  • Posts: 1,289
  • Thornhurst, Pa USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 65.0
    • MikeyMs Thornhurst,PA Weather
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2019, 02:30:14 PM »
I've been running a Shuttle XS36V4 with the J1900 CPU and it handles WD, WxSim and associated programs with no problem. Also streaming NWS radio weather and a few other things.
VERY happy with it and it really cut my power consumption from the old IBM ThinkCenter I was previously running. 8 GB ram and 250GB Samsung SSD.

Cheers

 :D

MikeyM
http://mikeymsweather.com/

Another VERY Happy WD user
Shuttle XS36v4 8 GB RAM
Davis Vantage Pro 2 wireless w/ Davis solar sensor
Laser Snow Depth Sensor LR4/Fluke 414D working in WD thanks to Brian

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: GRLevel3 Data Source/Issue/Question
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2019, 03:03:30 PM »
Passmark CPU Performance Comparison (Ctrl F often works better than their search box).

 

cumulus