cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2  (Read 275 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Paul03

  • Posts: 149
  • Topton, NC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Topton, NC weather
Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« on: February 09, 2019, 04:31:24 PM »
 It's been running great for over 10 years but suddenly it stopped overnight.
Originally the com port 4 said not working.  I killed all power to the Davis, removed and reinstalled the data logger and now it says Com 4 working properly but still no data going to WD. Both data boxes are red.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 06:35:06 PM by Paul03 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.99
    • Weather Display
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 07:56:38 PM »
What shows in WD under view, debug info
And under view, program event log

Offline Paul03

  • Posts: 149
  • Topton, NC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Topton, NC weather
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 10:04:59 PM »
Here's a screen shot.

Offline Paul03

  • Posts: 149
  • Topton, NC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Topton, NC weather
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2019, 10:07:17 PM »
I did try another computer and after getting the drivers it worked OK.  I reloaded the drivers and it's not working on the WD computer



Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.99
    • Weather Display
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2019, 01:57:09 AM »
Do u happen to have set to use
The Apr's altimeter  barometer reading
In the cwop setup
If so, unset that

Offline Paul03

  • Posts: 149
  • Topton, NC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Topton, NC weather
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2019, 05:06:36 PM »
I have to say it must be the computer. It has only two USB ports and I tried both.  Although the com port says the device is working correctly, there is still some type of problem.  I had a backup copy of WD from December and copied it to the problem computer. No data received. So I copied to a different computer and started getting good data right upon starting. 

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2019, 06:30:20 PM »
do you have remote access to the pc?
e.g team viewer?
try installing WD to a new folder location
then create a file there called 2wd.txt
then start up WD there
it should start up like brand new...so then setup the needed settings
as a test

Offline Paul03

  • Posts: 149
  • Topton, NC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Topton, NC weather
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2019, 07:12:08 PM »
I tried that and it does bring up the original screen.  Mine is grey but the reboot after adding that did bring it up black with the green letters.  I set the port, baud, etc. as before (baud matches what the com port is set for). Still no response.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Suddenly stopped receiving from Davis Pro2
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2019, 07:26:17 PM »
what shows in windows, device manager, ports?