cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?  (Read 3015 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Personal weather site
How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« on: January 23, 2019, 01:17:24 PM »
I have my own website and have been uploading to it from WD for years (www.weather911.net), but am interested in using the weather34 template, but have no experience beyond basic web design. I use host gator as the server. Would this be over my head to try and get this setup using WD? Thanks.

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 316
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 03:05:04 PM »
Have a look at the documentation found on the 'HomeWeatherStation Template - WD Version' and if you need additional information or have questions, check the 'weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)' thread in the Weather-Watch forums.  :wink:
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2019, 09:09:15 PM »
Have a look at the documentation found on the 'HomeWeatherStation Template - WD Version' and if you need additional information or have questions, check the 'weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)' thread in the Weather-Watch forums.  :wink:
Thanks. I uploaded and extracted files to my root dir, but I'm getting a 500 internal server error when I try the test link. www.mysite.net/pwsWD/

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,041
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2019, 09:35:52 PM »
Is "mysite.net" really your domain name?

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 10:26:28 PM »
Is "mysite.net" really your domain name?
No. www.weather911.net

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2019, 07:59:24 AM »
Thanks. I uploaded and extracted files to my root dir, but I'm getting a 500 internal server error when I try the test link. www.mysite.net/pwsWD/

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
===> Maybe
there is a special setting at your provider, as using the test-program, the first script runs OK
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php
When using "inspect"  you will see that all but one php script is allowed to run. All others get a 500 error
Again when testing such an individual script it runs OK
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php?test=clock_small.php
All single scripts work as they should
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/w34_easyweathersetup.php

It seems that only scripts which do not include other PHP scripts work
EXAMPLE http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/easyweathersetup.php  has the name of the previous script and the only thing is does is load the new version, but it fails also.
Code: [Select]
<?php 
include 'w34_easyweathersetup.php';
Running the included script directly works fine http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/w34_easyweathersetup.php 

===> Maybe
you uploaded the scripts and they got the wrong permissions.
All scripts should have execute permissions to thew Apache user itself.

===> QUESTIONS
But whatever the cause, I can not solve it as it seems not to be an error or setting in the scripts
Do you know:
what version of PHP you are using? I attach a smal script, it displays all info about your PHP version
if your website is run with Apache or IIS
and  the provider where your website is hosted?

Wim
« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 12:59:34 PM by wvdkuil »

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2019, 05:44:49 PM »
===> Maybe
there is a special setting at your provider, as using the test-program, the first script runs OK
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php
When using "inspect"  you will see that all but one php script is allowed to run. All others get a 500 error
Again when testing such an individual script it runs OK
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php?test=clock_small.php
All single scripts work as they should
http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/w34_easyweathersetup.php

It seems that only scripts which do not include other PHP scripts work
EXAMPLE http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/easyweathersetup.php  has the name of the previous script and the only thing is does is load the new version, but it fails also.
Code: [Select]
<?php 
include 'w34_easyweathersetup.php';
Running the included script directly works fine http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/w34_easyweathersetup.php 

===> Maybe
you uploaded the scripts and they got the wrong permissions.
All scripts should have execute permissions to thew Apache user itself.

===> QUESTIONS
But whatever the cause, I can not solve it as it seems not to be an error or setting in the scripts
Do you know:
what version of PHP you are using? I attach a smal script, it displays all info about your PHP version
if your website is run with Apache or IIS
and  the provider where your website is hosted?

Wim

What ver PHP should I be using? My site is hosted by hostgator. thanks.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2019, 06:31:50 PM »
What ver PHP should I be using? My site is hosted by hostgator. thanks.
At least 5.6, better 7.1 or higher.
Wim

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2019, 10:12:11 AM »
At least 5.6, better 7.1 or higher.
Wim
I tested a few times and it could be a permission problem as I can generate the same 500 error when setting scripts as not-executable.
Every script which when run in the browser fails with a 500 error , runs correctly when loaded using a test-program.
EXAMPLE: http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/easyweathersetup.php   fails with a 500 error
The script ttp://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php   works and loads
And when that working script loads the same example script : http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php?test=easyweathersetup.php  it also works OK.

If you do not have time to check the permissions and set them correctly, you could  email me (not  a message on the forum) your ftpserver/userid/password and I can check.

Because I am as curious as you probably are, why it is not working 100%, why some scripts fail and others not.

Wim

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2019, 05:55:36 PM »
I tested a few times and it could be a permission problem as I can generate the same 500 error when setting scripts as not-executable.
Every script which when run in the browser fails with a 500 error , runs correctly when loaded using a test-program.
EXAMPLE: http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/easyweathersetup.php   fails with a 500 error
The script ttp://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php   works and loads
And when that working script loads the same example script : http://www.weather911.net/pwsWD/_test.php?test=easyweathersetup.php  it also works OK.

If you do not have time to check the permissions and set them correctly, you could  email me (not  a message on the forum) your ftpserver/userid/password and I can check.

Because I am as curious as you probably are, why it is not working 100%, why some scripts fail and others not.

Wim
I checked the permissions. Read and Execute for User, Group and World are enabled. Write is only enabled for User. I went ahead and enabled Group and World for Write and it still doesn't work. When I open the pwsWD folder and see all the scripts, they have different permissions (see pic). Some of your links above that did work for you are not working now. Ver 5.6 is running
« Last Edit: January 25, 2019, 06:13:15 PM by jzinckgra »

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2019, 06:09:59 PM »
I checked the permissions. Read and Execute for User, Group and World are enabled. Write is only enabled for User. I went ahead and enabled Group and World for Write and it still doesn't work
Well, at least something is 100%.
Now all the scripts end in a 500 error. Even the scripts which worked previously.

So definitely there is some permission problem, I hope you will find it. Maybe contacting your provider will help?

Wim


Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2019, 06:15:06 PM »
Well, at least something is 100%.
Now all the scripts end in a 500 error. Even the scripts which worked previously.

So definitely there is some permission problem, I hope you will find it. Maybe contacting your provider will help?

Wim
Wim,
See my post above yours with pic. Should Execute be enabled for all scripts? The pwsWD main folder has all permissions, but inside the folder, individual scripts are all different for permissions.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2019, 06:44:07 PM »
Wim,
See my post above yours with pic. Should Execute be enabled for all scripts? The pwsWD main folder has all permissions, but inside the folder, individual scripts are all different for permissions.
Normally all scripts have 644 with "apache".
The folders (and the contents)  to which the scrips write data have 755: ./jsondata  ./ chartsmysql/  ./chartswudata/
But your server is using "nginx" and maybe  that is different. I have no idea.
Maybe simple trial and error.
Remove the write group and write world form the pwsWD/ folder, it  should be 755 at most.
Check the  ./jsondata  ./ chartsmysql/  ./chartswudata/ folders also.

Set index.php and _test.php back to 644
Then test them if they work.

Wim


Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 150
  • Maine, U.S.A
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Personal weather site
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2019, 08:16:30 PM »
Normally all scripts have 644 with "apache".
The folders (and the contents)  to which the scrips write data have 755: ./jsondata  ./ chartsmysql/  ./chartswudata/
But your server is using "nginx" and maybe  that is different. I have no idea.
Maybe simple trial and error.
Remove the write group and write world form the pwsWD/ folder, it  should be 755 at most.
Check the  ./jsondata  ./ chartsmysql/  ./chartswudata/ folders also.

Set index.php and _test.php back to 644
Then test them if they work.

Wim
The above fixed the issue. It seems to work now, but it says my php ver is "Info: Your current PHP version is : 5.4.45" under the easysetup screen. I know you said it should be 5.6 or higher, but is this a problem. It's odd because hostgator says the ver is 5.6.30. thanks.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,191
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 12.0.1
  • Safari 12.0
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: How hard is to setup and use weather34 template?
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2019, 08:54:02 PM »
The above fixed the issue. It seems to work now, but it says my php ver is "Info: Your current PHP version is : 5.4.45" under the easysetup screen. I know you said it should be 5.6 or higher, but is this a problem. It's odd because hostgator says the ver is 5.6.30. thanks.
When you unzip the info.php from a few messages back, you can run it on you site and it will display the real PHP information.
Wim