cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weather Display has reset itself  (Read 882 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Weather Display has reset itself
« on: January 21, 2019, 12:18:01 PM »
Help.

My PC restarts itself every night.

For some reason, WD has reset itself - or most of it.

Screen size, colours, all time records - most settings have been restored to default and it asks for a language to be set on start-up.

Nothing has changed my end.

Any idea why this has happened and how I get everything back?

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 960
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 01:42:57 PM »
Hi,

wdisplay.ini needs to be recovered - see  the FAQ at https://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,55755.0.html
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 02:58:46 PM »
Got it and all done - thanks.

Any idea why it happened?

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 960
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 07:02:32 PM »
Hi,
Do you get WD to restart the PC or is the PC is set to do it itself?
If the latter and your PC aborts WD then settings and data files can get corrupted if they are being used (written to) at the time.
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2019, 10:11:59 PM »
That will be it - the PC does it by itself.

Not bad though - it hasn't corrupted in over 9 years!

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2019, 05:56:49 PM »
I've had to rebuild the data files to make data display correctly.

This has mostly worked but my daily report data has been stripped here and no longer shows all of January: http://217.199.187.197/otronics.co.uk/Weather/January2019.htm (it was showing the month so far).

How do I rebuild this page?

Also, how come some other reports are showing 2019 data for days that haven't happened yet (see attached)? How do I correct this?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,478
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2019, 06:08:30 PM »
if your logfile is OK
then you should be able to convert the logfile to data file
and that should correct the reports

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2019, 06:14:45 PM »
I gave that a go earlier and it corrected some graphs.

Can you provide a step-by-step guide of what I should do so I can double-check please.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,478
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2019, 06:37:36 PM »
check the actual log file is OK
first
12019lg.txt
then go action, convert WD logfiles to data files
select that file
then click on convert

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,000
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2019, 09:54:36 PM »
Also, you can try click on the "Recreate the last 31 days graph data" button after the process Brian explained above.  :wink:

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,478
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.99
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2019, 11:24:55 PM »
Hey there budgie, long time no hear :)

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,000
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 64.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2019, 12:01:52 AM »
Been lurking, Brian, just haven't had much time to input on here. Too busy with work these days.  #-o
I hope you're all keeping well down there and that the Summer hasn't been too hot & dry? 

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,478
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2019, 02:07:19 AM »
summer has been a real mixture here
Australia has been breaking heat records left right and center though

Offline otronics

  • Posts: 141
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2019, 03:17:39 PM »
Thanks both.

Almost there - the Daily Report has been fixed.

The two images attached though are still showing odd results - days in 2019 that have yet to happen and no data for other days that have.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,478
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display has reset itself
« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2019, 06:13:28 PM »
if the logfile is OK
then that should be all corrected
have you checked the logfile?
.zip and email me that