cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Ambient Weather WS-2902A or Ecowitt HP3500B  (Read 283 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lgRich

  • Posts: 67
  • QC, Canada, 46.0304N, 73.0406W
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • LogiGestion - Météo locale en direct
Ambient Weather WS-2902A or Ecowitt HP3500B
« on: January 03, 2019, 12:46:34 PM »
Hi,

I need to replace my 13 years hold Honeywell TE923W and after making a lot of search, I have narrowed my choice to the WS-2902A.

The Amazon customers review is very positive…
https://www.amazon.com/Ambient-Weather-WiFi-Station/dp/B01N5TEHLI

The price in $ CDN is in my budget
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Ambient-Weather-WS-2902A-10-in-1-Wi-Fi-Professional-Weather-Station-with-with/232960943010?hash=item363d8de3a2:g:C9UAAOSwjq9bvmA6:rk:1:pf:0

Also I have found this comment about the WiFi connectivity
https://ambientweather.net/help/what-is-the-difference-between-the-ws-2902-and-ws-2902a/

The WS-2902A adds direct console Internet connectivity to the WS-2902. This makes it easier to connect to a dual band router.
The WS-2902 uses the mobile app AmbientTool to connect to your router. This app communicates to your console through the router.
The WS-2902 uses the mobile app awnet to connect to your router. This app provides direct connection to the console

My only need is to use-it with Weather Display an WDL (local).

So my question is about the compatibility with Weather Display  ???
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 04:35:03 PM by lgRich »
Sorry for my English! (French Canadian).
Honeywell: TE923W, 2 extra sensor.
WebCam: Dahua PTZ DH-SD3282D-GN

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2019, 07:10:22 PM »
WD uses the data from the Ambient server (API)
so you need to have the station setup to send data to the Ambient server

the update rate I think is not as fast as it used to be? (now fastest is 1 minute?)
someone needs to find out...

Offline lgRich

  • Posts: 67
  • QC, Canada, 46.0304N, 73.0406W
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • LogiGestion - Météo locale en direct
Re: Ecowitt HP3500B
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2019, 11:03:59 PM »
WD uses the data from the Ambient server (API)
so you need to have the station setup to send data to the Ambient server

the update rate I think is not as fast as it used to be? (now fastest is 1 minute?)
someone needs to find out...
Thanks Brian for your reply, So this is not very useful…

It-is possible to use this other model with WD ?

Ecowitt HP3500B

https://www.amazon.ca/ECOWITT-HP3500B-Weather-Station-Software/dp/B079NTF6QS

This model  include USB port for PC connectivity

http://www.ecowitt.com/upfile/201808/HP3500B%20manual%20Updated%20Version%2020180815.pdf

8.1.1 Connect the display console to the PC
The console must be connected to the PC using the USB cable. After connecting the USB cable to the console port and then the PC, launch the EaseWeather2 program from your “Start” menu
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 04:37:27 PM by lgRich »
Sorry for my English! (French Canadian).
Honeywell: TE923W, 2 extra sensor.
WebCam: Dahua PTZ DH-SD3282D-GN

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2019, 11:31:27 PM »

Offline lgRich

  • Posts: 67
  • QC, Canada, 46.0304N, 73.0406W
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • LogiGestion - Météo locale en direct
Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2019, 06:57:45 PM »
its possible it might work
more info here
http://kona2.alc.upv.es/Estacio_Meteorologica/aercusWDsetup.htm

The “IP Observer Receiver” don’t work on my SBS 2008 (Windows Server Standard SP2  64 bits) but it work on my Windows 7 64 bits PC, so I can move my WD to this computer…

I have some concern before going further :

The fact to moving my hardware from T923W to HP3500B will be affect my 13 years data, WD, WDL or my web site ?

Do I need to reinstall and reconfigure all this ?

Thanks again for your help.
Sorry for my English! (French Canadian).
Honeywell: TE923W, 2 extra sensor.
WebCam: Dahua PTZ DH-SD3282D-GN

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,948
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2019, 07:00:38 PM »
it should not affect your data
you just change the station type in WD and then restart WD
try to get the barometer to match up with what you had in the data though maybe

Offline lgRich

  • Posts: 67
  • QC, Canada, 46.0304N, 73.0406W
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • LogiGestion - Météo locale en direct
Re: Ambient Weather WS-2902A replace by Ecowitt HP3500B
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2019, 09:12:47 PM »
it should not affect your data
you just change the station type in WD and then restart WD
try to get the barometer to match up with what you had in the data though maybe

OK, I just ordered the HP3500B from Amazon and I give you a follow-up next week…
Sorry for my English! (French Canadian).
Honeywell: TE923W, 2 extra sensor.
WebCam: Dahua PTZ DH-SD3282D-GN

Offline lgRich

  • Posts: 67
  • QC, Canada, 46.0304N, 73.0406W
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • LogiGestion - Météo locale en direct
Re: Ecowitt HP3500B
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2019, 12:44:14 AM »
Hi Brian,

I just receive my new HP3500B but I can’t figure how to set-up it…

So can you provide-me a step by step or a link to configure it with WD.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 04:38:24 PM by lgRich »
Sorry for my English! (French Canadian).
Honeywell: TE923W, 2 extra sensor.
WebCam: Dahua PTZ DH-SD3282D-GN

 

cumulus