cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weatherflow station with consolewd  (Read 680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Weatherflow station with consolewd
« on: January 03, 2019, 08:48:12 AM »
I'm not sure if this was discussed before - I'd like to do a test with my RPi and consolewd to log data from my WF station. consolewd does have support for WF (station type=72) but I can't find the setting for station ID. I tried to run but consolewd did not log the data from my WF. They're in same wifi network.
Is there anything I'm missing? Other question: if consolewd can access the WF locally, can it do also remotely (e.g. like a Win WD version)?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2019, 07:01:21 PM »
it uses the UDP data
it works OK Here
its not setup to use the cloud data (i.e station not on same wifi router)

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2019, 07:32:18 AM »
I must have something set wrong then. This is an example console output (left it running overnight, keeps repeating):
Code: [Select]
WeatherFlow Data OK
Current data 08:29:02: Temperature= 13.0 Windspeed =0.0 Gustspeed =0.0 Direction =0 Humidity=0 Barometer=1013.0 Daily Rain=0.0  Rain Rate 0.0mm/min

cronweatherflow and consolewd processes are running. /logfiles directory is empty.
Station type is set to 72. I confirm I can ping the WF hub from my RPi. Do you have any other suggestion?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2019, 09:07:40 AM »
what shows if you run cronweatherflow manually in a terminal window

what is the barometer reading showing up for your weather flow station?
the problem might be that is out of range

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2019, 09:24:44 AM »
The current barometer is about 1029 mb (compensated). My altitude is about 200 m so the real reading would be around 1000 mb.

The cronweatherflowconsole output is:
Code: [Select]
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"device_status","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","timestamp":1546593768,"uptime":10003566,"voltage":3.12,"firmware_revision":43,"rssi":-77,"hub_rssi":-69,"sensor_status":0,"debug":0}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"obs_sky","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","obs":[[1546593768,22381,1.55,0.000000,0.00,0.85,1.61,153,3.12,1,186,null,0,3]],"firmware_revision":43}
{"serial_number":"HB-00002313","type":"hub_status","firmware_revision":"103","uptime":1836988,"rssi":-31,"timestamp":1546593769,"reset_flags":"PIN,SFT","seq":183676,"fs":"1,0","radio_stats":[5,4],"mqtt_stats":[379]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546593770,1.65,151]}

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2019, 09:33:04 AM »
something is wrong with your barometer reading
the raw reading in the data is
22381
(second data value in the osb_sky obs data

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2019, 09:57:32 AM »
I see... I thought the barometer data is provided by obs_air ? There it reads 1006.6 (raw value).
Anyway, not a big issue, I only thought to use the RPi to have my data logged at home.
Thanks.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2019, 05:55:12 PM »
yes that is more like it
but you did not show that in the raw data

if you could show more of the raw data that would be good (i.e so I can see your current temperature etc)

it should be working, especially as it says WeatherFlow Data OK
but then its showing only default data

I will test here again in case something has changed
is this the raspberry pi 3 version?
worked OK here..but I have temperature above normal (there might be a problem with negative temperature handling in my code)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2019, 06:06:53 PM by Weather Display »

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2019, 08:54:17 PM »
Yeah, my console output was not good, I just took few lines. Here it is a very fresh, with negative (below freezing) temperature. I took care to get both, obs_air and obs_sky. I think the sky data doesn't come in 3-second interval.

Code: [Select]
[email protected]:~/consolewdfiles32 $ ./cronweatherflowconsole
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634889,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634891,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634895,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"HB-00002313","type":"hub_status","firmware_revision":"103","uptime":1878114,"rssi":-31,"timestamp":1546634895,"reset_flags":"PIN,SFT","seq":187788,"fs":"1,0","radio_stats":[5,4],"mqtt_stats":[391]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634897,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634901,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634903,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"HB-00002313","type":"hub_status","firmware_revision":"103","uptime":1878124,"rssi":-31,"timestamp":1546634905,"reset_flags":"PIN,SFT","seq":187789,"fs":"1,0","radio_stats":[5,4],"mqtt_stats":[391]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634906,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634910,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"AR-00004197","type":"device_status","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","timestamp":1546634910,"uptime":10048178,"voltage":3.43,"firmware_revision":20,"rssi":-55,"hub_rssi":0,"sensor_status":4,"debug":0}
{"serial_number":"AR-00004197","type":"obs_air","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","obs":[[1546634910,1004.90,-1.22,75,0,0,3.43,1]],"firmware_revision":20}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634913,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"HB-00002313","type":"hub_status","firmware_revision":"103","uptime":1878134,"rssi":-31,"timestamp":1546634915,"reset_flags":"PIN,SFT","seq":187790,"fs":"1,0","radio_stats":[5,4],"mqtt_stats":[391]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634915,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"device_status","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","timestamp":1546634917,"uptime":10044726,"voltage":3.14,"firmware_revision":43,"rssi":-74,"hub_rssi":-67,"sensor_status":0,"debug":0}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"obs_sky","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","obs":[[1546634917,0,0.00,0.000000,0.00,0.00,0.00,0,3.14,1,0,null,0,3]],"firmware_revision":43}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634919,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634921,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634925,0.00,0]}
{"serial_number":"HB-00002313","type":"hub_status","firmware_revision":"103","uptime":1878144,"rssi":-31,"timestamp":1546634925,"reset_flags":"PIN,SFT","seq":187791,"fs":"1,0","radio_stats":[5,4],"mqtt_stats":[391]}
{"serial_number":"SK-00006737","type":"rapid_wind","hub_sn":"HB-00002313","ob":[1546634927,0.00,0]}

I have a very old Raspberry Pi, it is 2B something.
Code: [Select]
[email protected]:~/consolewdfiles32 $ uname -a
Linux raspberrypi 4.14.79+ #1159 Sun Nov 4 17:28:08 GMT 2018 armv6l GNU/Linux
[email protected]:~/consolewdfiles32 $ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
model name : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 7 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 697.95
Features : half thumb fastmult vfp edsp java tls
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 7
CPU variant : 0x0
CPU part : 0xb76
CPU revision : 7

Hardware : BCM2835
Revision : 000f
Serial : 0000000039e0477d

Just don't spend too much time on this as it's not urgent for me.
If I eventually use the consolewd more seriously, what are the analytics options (vs WinGUI version) - like min/max/avg values, etc.?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2019, 08:58:45 PM »
I might not be working with negative temperatures very well
let me make a test to see if I can pretend I have negative temperature and see if it works

I do need to spend time on this in case someone else needs it

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2019, 09:07:11 PM »
putting in your raw data into the raw data file worked here
you might have set a temperature offset in the config.txt file maybe that is putting the value out of range or similar
email me your config.txt file

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2019, 09:19:33 PM »
Sent over email.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,434
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2019, 09:32:16 PM »
it works OK here with your settings file (and your data)
are you using the latest version?
17.6

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 283
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Weatherflow station with consolewd
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2019, 09:47:22 PM »
It says 17.5. Let me try the latest available from your website.

Edit: Downloaded version 17.6 and let it run for a minute or so. After some time of default values (e.g. temperature 13 degC, etc.), it started collecting real data from my station!

Very good. It was obviously my fault for not downloading the latest version available :-)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2019, 09:59:58 PM by mihec »