cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)  (Read 13288 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,230
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.119
    • Weather Display
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #420 on: March 05, 2019, 09:07:35 AM »
I got that conditions and darksky fixed
the Dutch forecast was default in the drop down on initial setup..but I had not noticed that..I selected English  :wink:

Offline Harry

  • Posts: 754
  • Union City, CA USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Union City, CA Weather
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #421 on: March 05, 2019, 10:57:58 AM »
METAR CHANGES  for pwsWD

As other users already discovered, the layout changed again.
  • The airport-name is not available anymore / for now??.
  • The date/time field layout changed from:
    old:   01-03-2019 @ 07:20Z"
    new: 2019-03-05T05:55:00.000Z
I attach a zip with the two changed scripts for the pwsWD users.

The updates for the beta will be posted in the other topic.

Wim

Working okay here now.  Thanks, Wim.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 678
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #422 on: March 05, 2019, 03:29:39 PM »
  • The airport-name is not available anymore / for now??.
  • The date/time field layout changed from:
    old:   01-03-2019 @ 07:20Z"
    new: 2019-03-05T05:55:00.000Z

I e-mailed CheckWX support, and they say:

"In the decoded METAR the 'name' is now referenced as 'station.name' as 'name' was ambiguous.
All datetimes are now in proper ISODate format as other users complained they were not consistent."

It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 74
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.119
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #423 on: March 06, 2019, 07:23:43 AM »
The cronjob has two tasks.
  • Loading all external files
  • Generating one line in the daily CSV and the SQL table
I think you are running the cron-job far to fast. Once every 5 minutes is OK.
For the external files, such as forecasts,  METAR a.s.o. the cache time is (far) more than 5 minutes.   
The cron-job has to check every file for its last  file-modified-time and load the file when it is above 80% of the allowed age.

The graphs .csv files for today (result.csv) will accept 1 minute values, but the graphs itself has not that much room to display all those values.

And every day all those values in your sql-table are discarded also and replaced with a single line in your monthly/yearly .csv file which will be only used  to display those graphs.

There is no advantage in accessing an external hosted web-server every minute 24/7 for the graphs-weather-data.
And some web-hosting companies may think that it looks like a DDOS attack and block the IP-address.

Wim
I have reduced to every 5 minutes.

I see from  crontab log file (I'm piping the output to a separate log file) that w34_cron_addtoyear.php is throwing error message: "Couldn not write headers to chartsmysql/2019_03.csv"
The strange thing is that data is written to file (2019_03.csv is attached).
Scheduled crontab jobs running w34_cron_empty.php and w34_cron_stationcron.php with the same user does work
http://weather.meisal.com

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,432
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.121
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #424 on: March 11, 2019, 02:42:16 AM »
Happening with both prod and beta versions...always sucks having to rely on someone else for data and they make changes...

Offline Harry

  • Posts: 754
  • Union City, CA USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 65.0
    • Union City, CA Weather
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #425 on: March 11, 2019, 03:45:43 AM »
Happening with both prod and beta versions...always sucks having to rely on someone else for data and they make changes...

Mine just comes up blank.  http://ucweather.org/pwsWD/

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 678
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #426 on: March 11, 2019, 10:16:13 AM »
Mine just comes up blank.

https://earthquake-report.com/ gives Error 503, no server is available to service this request

Update: it's working again this evening!
« Last Edit: March 11, 2019, 05:32:15 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline jzinckgra

  • Posts: 148
  • Maine, U.S.A
    • Personal weather site
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #427 on: March 13, 2019, 12:18:54 AM »
Is there a reason my template is not auto refreshing like it used to? I've got it displayed on a fire tablet.
http://weather911.net/pwsWD/index.php


Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,023
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.121
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #428 on: March 13, 2019, 02:38:46 PM »
Is there a reason my template is not auto refreshing like it used to? I've got it displayed on a fire tablet.
http://weather911.net/pwsWD/index.php
. . . shortened . . .
It works OK and refreshes OK in Chrome on my Mac.
As I have no access to a "fire tablet"I can not furthere test that.
Wim

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 678
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #429 on: March 25, 2019, 08:07:17 PM »
Working okay here now.  Thanks, Wim.

But not picking up the metar station name?
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 74
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.121
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #430 on: Today at 08:33:17 AM »
How can I change the update frequency when reading data from Cumulus type realtime.txt?
Currently it seems to be updating about once every minute.
Data are updated every 3-4s in realtime.txt.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 1,023
  • Leuven Belgium CET
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 12.0.1
  • Safari 12.0
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: weather34 for WeatherDisplay (clientraw and WDapi)
« Reply #431 on: Today at 04:54:14 PM »
How can I change the update frequency when reading data from Cumulus type realtime.txt?
Currently it seems to be updating about once every minute.
Data are updated every 3-4s in realtime.txt.
I put it  in on the todo list.
For now I Will be home on wendnesday night (CET) and first task is to finalize the April release.

Be aware that there are multiple independent reads of realtime data every minute, depending on the data-type.
F.I. Wind is requested faster as temp.
And your web server should be able to cope with all these requests.

I propose a factor, 1 = default speed, 2 = twice as fast, a.s.o.
Wim