cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet  (Read 702 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline carolinarider

  • Posts: 13
  • Newberry, SC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.2
  • Safari 12.0.2
Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« on: December 29, 2018, 03:49:00 PM »
I found this website doing a search to resolve a rainfall problem with my Vantage Pro 2 weather station.  I have since been reading the posts and since I use “wunderground.com" for weather information and since I like playing with computers and stuff and since I saw lots of information about connecting the station to the web, I thought I’d give it a try.

So,  from what I have read, there seems to be an easy way to make this happen.  What I would like to know is if the following is a rational approach.

Vantage Pro 2 is in bookcase with AC power.

Add a WeatherLinkIP™ Data Logger for Vantage Stations (Product number - 6555).  This puts the data from my weather station on the web when I connect it to my ethernet hub.

Purchase the Meteohub Software and install it in my Raspberry PI (which is gathering dust right  now).  Connect the Raspberry PI to a power source and the internet and follow the Metehub software instructions for operation and inclusion in web data.

Questions:

The connection between the weather station and the data logger appears to be seamless, just plug and play.  Does the information become available on the Weatherlink website after I register the device?  I assume this means I have to use my PC to access the website and do the setup but after that its automatic.

The same would seem to be true with the Meteohub software.  I have to do some setup with the Pi and attached keyboard and mouse and video display to complete the Meteohub software.  Is there anything else that needs to be done after that?

It would seem I will need to wired network connections for this setup, one for the Pi and one for the logger correct?

After I finish this, what is the configurations stability like?  Does it require any routine maintenance? 

If power is lost will the Meteohub software restart as it was configured?  In other words, a loss of power will only stop the system from working and restoration will not require intervention on my part (just planning ahead). 

I was using this website as a reference.

http://sluitertijd.org/zeist-hogedennen/Setup%20of%20an%20Internet%20enabled%20Davis%20Vantage%20Pro2%20weather%20station%20using%20a%20Raspberry%20Pi.pdf

Or I could use the WifiLogger I just saw some information on.  That seems a faster way and less wires.   umm  Decisions.

Thanks in advance for any help. 
« Last Edit: December 29, 2018, 03:55:34 PM by carolinarider »

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,430
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 06:01:58 PM »
I use the WeatherLink data logger to output the data to my computer running Weather Display software.  Once there the data can be exported to any number of external sites.  Weather Display is my choice of software, I am not familiar with Meteohub so can't help there.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 06:34:21 PM »
Third party solutions have more possibilities than the WeatherLinkIP™ and are generally less expensive. The new wifi logger, and the Meteohub Nano, are worth to look at for a direct to internet option. Like Dan I'm still using my original serial weatherlink to a PC and have no direct experience of the others but times have changed and if I was starting today I would probably work on a no-PC set up.

Offline carolinarider

  • Posts: 13
  • Newberry, SC
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.2
  • Safari 12.0.2
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2018, 06:54:51 PM »
Thanks,

I am looking at the WifiLogger and the Meteohub Nano.  Will post if I purchase and install.  Just doing some research now.


Offline Brientim

  • Posts: 43
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2018, 09:36:15 PM »
I have the WeatherLinkIP and Meteobridge and if I was looking for a replacement I would select the WifiLogger over the alternatives currently available.

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2018, 02:32:37 PM »
I have the WeatherLinkIP and Meteobridge and if I was looking for a replacement I would select the WifiLogger over the alternatives currently available.
Indeed. I have been using the 'WiFiLogger' with my Vantage Pro2 console (can also be used with the Vantage Vue console).

The 'WiFiLogger' can send data directly to the following online services (without the need of additional software and/or hardware):
  • WeatherLink (at 1 minute interval)
  • Weather Underground (at 1 minute interval)
  • Weather Underground RapidFire (at 3 seconds interval)
  • Personal Weather Station (at 1 minute interval)
  • Weather Cloud (at 10 minutes interval)
  • AWEKAS (at 5 minutes interval)
  • Met Office WOW (at 5 minutes interval)
  • Weather Elements (at 1 minute interval)
  • Citizen Weather Observer Program (at 1 minute interval)
Note: The intervals specified above represent the minimum time between uploads as provided by the 'WiFiLogger').

As its name implies, the 'WiFiLogger' is a data logger (such as the Davis Instruments WeatherLink Serial Data Logger, WeatherLink USB Data Logger or WeatherLinkIP Data Logger). The 'WiFiLogger' fits directly inside a Vantage Pro2 or a Vantage Vue console.

The main advantage of the the 'WiFiLogger' is that, unlike the Davis Instruments Data Loggers, it communicates directly with the WiFi network - meaning the console does not need a (serial/USB/network) cable to send its data. Weather Display can be easily setup to capture the data from the WiFi network while the 'WiFiLogger' send its data to the online services.

The 'WiFiLogger' has proven to be very reliable.
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2018, 03:06:35 PM »
@R_o_B: Can it also send data directly to a personal webserver?

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2019, 03:27:07 AM »
@R_o_B: Can it also send data directly to a personal webserver?
Niko, what do you mean exactly by a 'personal webserver'? Do you mean an online external private web site? Or do you mean an internal device (inside your home) such as a Synology Network Attached Storage (NAS) DiskStation (or something similar)?

The 'WiFiLogger' send its data wirelessly directly to the (home/internal) network router (and not to a specific device such as a computer and/or a DiskStation). If the 'webserver' has access to the network, then the 'webserver' has access to the data from the 'WiFiLogger'.

I have a Synology NAS DiskStation that is connected to my home/internal network router (the same home/internal network to which the 'WiFiLogger' is wirelessly connected) - the NAS can access the data from the 'WiFiLogger' by simply looking at the assigned IP address and the port number of the 'WiFiLogger'.

The data from the 'WiFiLogger' can also be sent to an FTP and/or MQTT server - two files are then produced by the 'WiFiLogger': 'realtime.txt' and 'wflexp.json'. Obviously, the 'webserver' will need code to extract the data from either of those files.

Unfortunately, I have not tried the FTP/MQTT server option as I had no need for it.  :(

If interested in finding more about the FTP/MQTT server option, please, let me know - give me a few days and I could try setting the FTP/MQTT server option and check/test the results...  :wink:

R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2019, 03:54:11 AM »
The data from the 'WiFiLogger' can also be sent to an FTP and/or MQTT server - two files are then produced by the 'WiFiLogger': 'realtime.txt' and 'wflexp.json'. Obviously, the 'webserver' will need code to extract the data from either of those files.

Thanks, that's the function I was thinking of. Upload data by either FTP or HTTP to a server so that it could be used as source data for web page(s), with or without loading to a database. This really does seem to be a well thought out device  :)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2019, 03:55:43 AM by niko »

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2019, 09:36:11 AM »
This really does seem to be a well thought out device  :)
Indeed, not only well designed but also well supported.

Wojciech, the designer and producer of the 'WiFiLogger' is actively supporting his 'creation' - the other day (on December 25), I asked him if a few 'appearance/cosmetic' modifications to the main display screen of the 'WiFiLogger' could eventually be made and, two day later (on December 27), I was able to download and install a new file with the suggested modifications added/made to the main display screen.  8O
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2019, 03:53:58 PM »
Yeah, we can agree on that, as i posted back in June "IMHO it's pretty damn impressive that the guy went from first post to working units delivered in only a couple of months  =D> "  - and it's only gotten better since then.

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2019, 04:00:03 AM »
Niko, as I implied in previous messages, Wojciech is an incredible developper, with an excellent product, open to suggestions and with prompt replies to all questions (even if english is not his first language).  8)
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline pricey

  • Posts: 182
  • Llanelli Wales United Kingdom
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 12.1.1
  • Safari 12.0
    • Llanelli Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2019, 03:09:35 PM »
Hi all.
Have been looking at this WiFi logger today. Is it easy to set up with Wd?
Does the logger communicate with the computer where Wd software is installed or with the router and Wd talks to it?

Thanks
Steve

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2019, 05:50:03 PM »
Is it easy to set up with Wd?
No Steve, one needs an engineering degree!  :wink:

Just kidding...  :)

Does the logger communicate with the computer where Wd software is installed or with the router and Wd talks to it?
Steve, the 'WiFiLogger' (as its name implies) communicates wirelessly with a house router - the 'WiFiLogger' does not communicate directly with any software.

The ability for Weather Display to communicate with a router has been designed into the software.

So, once the 'WiFiLogger' has been installed inside either a Vantage Pro2 or a Vantage Vue console, some settings need to be made.

Note: The preliminary (first) settings must be made with a WiFi capable device, such as a phone or a tablet. Once those preliminary settings are done, any other settings can be made/changed via a browser.

In order to ensure the full reliability of the 'WiFiLogger', I would suggest that the 'WiFiLogger' be assigned a fixed/permanent IP address within the home router - this way, if the house router needs to re-boot/re-start (such as after a firmware update or a power interruption), the 'WiFiLogger' will be assigned the same IP address.
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 255
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Putting my Vantage Pro 2 on the Internet
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2019, 06:43:30 PM »
Niko, for the past two days, my 'WiFiLogger has been FTP exporting/uploading two files to my home/office server (once a minute).

One of the file of the text format and is called 'realtime.txt' (contains near-real time data and is using the Cumulus format).

The other file is of the JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) format and is called 'wflexp.json' (contains full console data in JSON format - unfortunately, the units of measurement are all fixed Imperial, Fahrenheit, inches, miles-per-hour,  inches of mercury). There seems to be 416 values into that JSON data file.

I am re-reading all the messages posted in the forum thread 'WiFiLogger - Connect your Davis console directly to the Internet via WiFi' on the 'WXForum.net' site and might have more information later on (wow, so much stuff and information)!  :roll:
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

 

cumulus