cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up [Resolved]  (Read 758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DeputyDawg

  • Posts: 970
  • Atlanta, GA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 12.0.2
    • Paul's Weather in Atlanta
WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up [Resolved]
« on: December 26, 2018, 07:39:44 PM »
So on my test mac I finally got to updating to High Sierra.

Made a full copy of my display folder and moved it over.  Downloaded the latest release of WD.

When I launched I got a pop up (attached) stating "weatherdisplay is not optimized for your mac"   I can click OK or Learn more

Clicked OK and WD appeared to work perfectly!!!

I exited WD and re-launched - did NOT see that error

So am I safe to use WD?     Or could the error be that i'm using an OLD mac HW.  My main iMac is late 2013.

Thanks
« Last Edit: December 29, 2018, 04:33:26 PM by DeputyDawg »

Offline rigger3

  • Posts: 41
    • dseannixon
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Safari 12.0.2
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2018, 01:05:04 AM »
Yes you are. Apple is notifying people about 64bit. All apps in the next release of macOS will need to be 64bit applications.

I am using a Mac mini from 2011. Most computer in use today are all 64bit proccessors.

« Last Edit: December 28, 2018, 01:07:08 AM by rigger3 »
Mac mini
MacOS 10.13.6
Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i5
Memory 8 GB RAM
Davis VP 2 6163

Offline DeputyDawg

  • Posts: 970
  • Atlanta, GA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 12.0.2
    • Paul's Weather in Atlanta
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2018, 01:26:53 AM »
So unless WD gets re-written to 64 bit then I must stay on High Sierra?

My iMac is late 2013 so assuming it is 64bit - or am I mistaken?

From about this mac system:

Hardware Overview:

  Model Name:   iMac
  Model Identifier:   iMac14,2
  Processor Name:   Intel Core i7  <-- should be 64bit
  Processor Speed:   3.5 GHz
  Number of Processors:   1
  Total Number of Cores:   4
  L2 Cache (per Core):   256 KB
  L3 Cache:   8 MB
  Memory:   16 GB
  Boot ROM Version:   IM142.0130.B00
  SMC Version (system):   2.15f7
  Serial Number (system):   D25N6068F8JC
  Hardware UUID:   3D14F701-C6FD-56DB-9F35-E847249AF713

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,520
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2018, 01:55:06 AM »
Go to the Apple Menu and select "About this Mac". If you have a Core Duo processor, you have a 32-bit CPU.

Otherwise (Core 2 Duo, Xeon, i3, i5, i7, anything else), you have a 64-bit CPU.

Offline DeputyDawg

  • Posts: 970
  • Atlanta, GA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 12.0.2
    • Paul's Weather in Atlanta
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2018, 02:17:30 AM »
STUPID ME....

When I did the about this mac earlier, I was on my NEWER one which is the I7 (late 2013 model)

The one I updated to High Sierra and tested WD that gave the popup was my older iMac:   3.1 GHz Intel Core I5  (Mid-2011 model)

But both would appear to be 64bit.   So both should work on High Sierra (I only updated my older 2011 model for now).

So moving forward as Rigger mentioned Apps will all have to be 64 bit on the newer OS (Mojave and future).

@ Brian any plans on this?

Thanks all

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,045
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2018, 02:44:04 AM »

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,898
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2018, 03:38:13 AM »
I am just waiting for the compiler to be updated to 64 bit
the next release its supposed to be

Offline DeputyDawg

  • Posts: 970
  • Atlanta, GA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 12.0.2
    • Paul's Weather in Atlanta
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2018, 11:28:50 AM »
Thanks Everyone !!!!!!

Offline rick044

  • Posts: 74
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.13.6
  • Safari 12.0.3
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up [Resolved]
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2019, 08:19:29 AM »
I know this topic says resolved but I had the not optimised message appear and now no matter what I do I cannot get WD to start on my mac running High Sierra. It starts then disappears. Error log:
 /Applications/weatherdisplay.app/Contents/MacOS/weatherdisplay
Exception EEncodingError in module weatherdisplay at 000665FF.
No mapping for the Unicode character exists in the target multi-byte code page.
FastMM has detected a GetMem call after FastMM was uninstalled.Runtime error 203 at 0001F746

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,898
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.1.1
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.157
    • Weather Display
Re: WD on High Sierra - Not Optimized message pops up [Resolved]
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2019, 07:22:53 PM »
I replied to your email about this
I am away until tomorrow on a conference
But email me your settings files

 

cumulus