cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: New weather station compatible?  (Read 878 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
    • Gudmundsbyn
New weather station compatible?
« on: December 05, 2018, 11:13:42 AM »
Hi!

Looking to buy a replacement weather station. Itīs a store branded OEM product so just wanted to check if any of you recognize it and can verify itīs compatible with WD, it definitely has a USB conenction :)





manual: http://images.clasohlson.com/medias/sys_master/9595891515422.pdf

Thnx in advance /jensb

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2018, 05:58:27 PM »
it looks like it might be a Funk WH400 clone (which WD does support)
but no gaurantee

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2018, 07:45:14 PM »
That is reassurance enough to make me try it :) i can always return it if it is a complete failure

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.96
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2019, 12:53:46 PM »
What station would I choose in WD setup?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2019, 06:28:37 PM »
WH400
make sure you have a recent version

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.96
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2019, 07:18:29 PM »
Okie dokie! Will try, thnx :)


Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.109
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2019, 09:45:55 AM »
Hmmm I find a WH4000 that requires the Weathersmart software to be running, but I canīt find a WH400?

And the software included is called "Weather Home" :/


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2019, 06:12:08 PM »
when you say you cant find a WH400, where/how do you mean exactly?

it could be that its a WH1081 type station (try that in WD)

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,171
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.109
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2019, 06:49:12 PM »
when you say you cant find a WH400, where/how do you mean exactly?

I also couldn't find WH400 in the station type selections, only the WH4000 + Weathersmart software option.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2019, 07:03:27 PM »
that should say WH4000
and yes WD needs the software that comes with the station to run
(someone might have a copy of that or simply its now called a different name)
its crazy how many different rebranding of hardware there is out there
makes it difficult

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.109
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2019, 05:42:15 AM »
Tried with WH4000, does not work sadly.

But I have located the data file the WeatherHome software creates, and itīs readable in Microsoft Access.

Any chance you could take a look at this WeatherHome.mdb and see if reading it could be added to WD?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2019, 09:52:20 PM »
possible
email me that file
how often is it updated?

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 252
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 72.0.3626.109
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2019, 03:17:05 PM »
Shortest interval is every 16 sec.

Have emailed you the DB, subject New Weather Station import?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,209
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: New weather station compatible?
« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2019, 05:42:06 PM »
just for Grins , try selecting the Irox station type in WD?

 

cumulus