cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Luftdaten Air Quality  (Read 255 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Luftdaten Air Quality
« on: December 03, 2018, 12:13:41 PM »
Hi All
I thought a new thread for Luftdaten users might be handy to discuss experiences.
I have found mine over states PM10 in misty weather (I believe it is a characteristic). I am trying a possible solution. As it happens I used a 8mm tube which I heated and stretched to reduce the diameter for the sensor inlet. The tube is big enough to insert a strip of hard polystyrene (recycling number 6) which is supposed to be hygroscopic - attracting surface water. The idea is to condense mist particles which hopefully will then drip out. We will see.
Regards
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2018, 07:36:56 PM »
Hi
I see the Sunwharf (Suggestions) has the AQI showing on his website graph - I'd like to do the same but could not find the gif.
Regards
Alan

Offline Weerstation

  • Posts: 351
  • The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10
  • Safari 8.0
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2018, 12:57:34 AM »
Webfiles folder
Aqi.gif
Aqichart.gif
Vantage Vue (Firmware 2.14 EU) - WeatherDisplay 10.37S build 81 - USB Weatherlink IP Data Logger

Windows 10 Home 64-bit - HP Pavilion G7 Intel Core I3 2.4 GHz 4 Gb

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2018, 08:37:20 AM »
Thanks - I have those. Sunwharf has the aqi on the main screen graph so it is interesting to be able to see the wind direction just above.
Regards
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2018, 08:58:06 AM »
I realise now he has uploaded the whole main screen - that's what I can't find as a gif
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2018, 09:24:55 AM »
Found the switch in webfiles/webpage set up
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2018, 08:28:42 PM »
Hi All
Looking around the Luftdaten map it seems many of the humidity figures are almost always 99.90%.
I wonder if the DHT22 is not getting a chance to register a reading when the sensor is only activated intermittently,
Does anyone have experience of the BME280 sensor.
Regards
Alan

Offline Weerstation

  • Posts: 351
  • The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2018, 06:07:03 AM »
You think it might be that.
Mine is at 99.9% for some time now too.
It did work after the install.
I think it is broken.
I am reading posts the dht22 sensor is of a very poor quality.
Some people have replaced the sensor 2 to 3 times already.
They like to install the bme280 sensor also, just like you.
The SHT31 sensor seems to be of a better quality but isn't supported by luftdaten.
Just reading this stuff, I have no experience.
I have 2 new dht22 sensors lying here.
I will replace the sensor soon and see if it's actually broken.
Vantage Vue (Firmware 2.14 EU) - WeatherDisplay 10.37S build 81 - USB Weatherlink IP Data Logger

Windows 10 Home 64-bit - HP Pavilion G7 Intel Core I3 2.4 GHz 4 Gb

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2018, 09:59:48 AM »
Hi
I read somewhere that the Luftdaten team are hoping to add a correction for the known issue of the SDS011 sensor giving poor readings in high RH. That is not going to work if the humidity is reported wrongly. I have tried using the contact form to report the problem but I don't get a reply. I don't speak German so find it hard to find any useful information.  The temperature is reported accurately so I also wonder if the pipe enclosure is not properly ventilated and retains a high RH - that might explain why your system did work for a time. At this time of year we have few days with very low RH to dry things out.
Regards
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 66
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.110
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #9 on: Today at 09:21:54 AM »
Hi
I have now changed the temp/humidity sensor for a BME280 and the humidity looks much more sensible.
Brian - is there any way of deleting erroneous luftdaten readings. While testing the new sensor I got some very high readings (I really should give up my cigars).
Regards
Alan

 

cumulus