cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Luftdaten Air Quality  (Read 2659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,902
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2018, 04:56:36 PM »
High RH is rare here but we have had a couple of fine rain or foggy days recently with the RH sitting in the very high 90's. I have not seen the extreme particulate values that previous posts have suggested. My sensor is a PM-5003 connected wirelessly to a linux PC. There is some elevation of particulate values but I would expect that with the concurrent stagnant air conditions here at the end of the valley which trap woodfire smoke and other pollution.


Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2018, 05:29:47 PM »
I think it is the SDS011 that is mainly affected. In answer to Mihec the BME280 is an alternative T/H (and pressure) sensor. On opensensemap a lot of the humidity readings are stuck at 99.90% which is what my previous DHT22 t/h sensor always showed.  If you use the T/H option I would recommend the BME sensor.
My site is at the far south western tip of the UK with very few pollution sources between me and the North Atlantic. With a west wind of about 10 knots currently  I would expect quite low particle counts but actually they are all over the place so I strongly suspect the present fine particle fog we have. You can see what I mean on the Luftdaten map site. If the wind is in the right quarter (and light)  I can pretty well tell when my neighbours light their woodburners. The SDS011 may not be the most accurate but is affordable and simple enough to allow a lot of users to participate so it is enough to show general pollution trends over a wide area.
Regards
Alan

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2018, 05:41:38 PM »
In the last half hour it has started raining and cleared to fog - reading now more normal - does rather confirm the fog affect. You can also see what I mean on my site www.greatbosullow.net
Alan

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,902
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #18 on: December 23, 2018, 06:01:48 PM »
That's very interesting, on my sensor I don't believe I have ever seen such a huge difference between PM 10 and the others  8O

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #19 on: December 23, 2018, 06:09:22 PM »
Strangely a couple stations in the far west of France and another UK station to the NW of me sometimes show high readings with a west wind - with the proximity to the Atlantic I wonder if the humidity can contain dissolved salt.
Alan

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,902
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #20 on: December 23, 2018, 06:20:18 PM »
I used to live on the pacific coast and the fog there certainly had salt content.

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 266
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 12.1.2
  • Safari 12.0
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2018, 09:46:43 AM »
After few days observation I think the fan is not rotating. Is there any diagnostics (apart from my ear) to tell if it’s working or not? I do measurement every 5 minutes for 30 seconds. Shall the fan rotate only during the 30s measurement time?

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2018, 12:41:38 PM »
I think the fan only runs when it is taking readings but I can't really check as my sensors are quite high up a wall.
And Brian - I would like to use the luftdaten temperature and humidity but the wmr300 produces the indoor values so I guess I need the override. Looking at airquality2.txt the values for TH are there with the sensor described as BME280 as attached.
Best wishes
for 2019
Alan

Offline Weerstation

  • Posts: 365
  • The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #23 on: December 29, 2018, 03:13:54 PM »
Copied from luftdaten FAQ.

Der von uns verwendete Sensor SDS011 hat laut Datenblatt eine Lebensdauer im Dauerbetrieb von ca. 8.000 Stunden. Unsere Firmware schaltet deshalb den Sensor nur für 20 Sekunden pro Messintervall von 150 Sekunden ein. Damit ist die theoretische Lebensdauer 7,5-mal so hoch. Praktisch sollte dies für ca. 4-5 Jahre Betrieb reichen.

Messintervall 150 Sekunden (2,5 Minuten)
 8.000 Stunden = 0,913 Jahre
 7,5 x 0,913 Jahre = 6,85 Jahre (theoretische Lebensdauer)

Messintervall 240 Sekunden (4 Minuten)
 12 x 0,913 Jahre = 11,96 Jahre (theoretische Lebensdauer)

**************************************************

It runs the fan for 20 seconds each time the sensor measures airquality which is 2 and a half minute.
Vantage Vue (Firmware 2.14 EU) - WeatherDisplay 10.37S build 89 - USB Weatherlink IP Data Logger

Windows 10 Home 64-bit - HP Pavilion G7 Intel Core I3 2.4 GHz 4 Gb

Offline Weerstation

  • Posts: 365
  • The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #24 on: December 29, 2018, 03:17:09 PM »
What firmware are you guys at.
I have set to update automatically.
I think I got a new one last week, had to pull the powerplug to get it going again.

Firmware-version: NRZ-2018-123B
Vantage Vue (Firmware 2.14 EU) - WeatherDisplay 10.37S build 89 - USB Weatherlink IP Data Logger

Windows 10 Home 64-bit - HP Pavilion G7 Intel Core I3 2.4 GHz 4 Gb

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2018, 07:00:54 PM »
Hi - Yes the firmware is the same NRZ-2018-123B. I have had occasional re-starts - not sure why but I've only had to pull the plug once and that was to get the sensor back on the network.
Alan

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,237
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #26 on: December 29, 2018, 08:58:32 PM »
Quote
And Brian - I would like to use the luftdaten temperature and humidity but the wmr300 produces the indoor values so I guess I need the override. Looking at airquality2.txt the values for TH are there with the sensor described as BME280 as attached.
Best wishes
for 2019
Alan

there should be a airquality3.txt file?
I will need to add override for wmr300 data

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 266
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 64.0
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #27 on: December 29, 2018, 10:46:54 PM »
Copied from luftdaten FAQ.

Der von uns verwendete Sensor SDS011 hat laut Datenblatt eine Lebensdauer im Dauerbetrieb von ca. 8.000 Stunden. Unsere Firmware schaltet deshalb den Sensor nur für 20 Sekunden pro Messintervall von 150 Sekunden ein. Damit ist die theoretische Lebensdauer 7,5-mal so hoch. Praktisch sollte dies für ca. 4-5 Jahre Betrieb reichen.

Messintervall 150 Sekunden (2,5 Minuten)
 8.000 Stunden = 0,913 Jahre
 7,5 x 0,913 Jahre = 6,85 Jahre (theoretische Lebensdauer)

Messintervall 240 Sekunden (4 Minuten)
 12 x 0,913 Jahre = 11,96 Jahre (theoretische Lebensdauer)

**************************************************

It runs the fan for 20 seconds each time the sensor measures airquality which is 2 and a half minute.

I don't have the Luftdaten sensor but just the SDS011 sensor and read the data with a RPi. Since I'm familiar with limited lifetime of the photodiode, I've set a long readout period. Now I've change to 10 seconds ("preheating") and 5 seconds for data recording and averaging. I do it every 165 seconds (3 min interval). I'll see how it goes.

Offline AlanB

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 117
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #28 on: December 30, 2018, 09:52:02 AM »
Thanks Brian
The only files I see in wdisplay are airqualityaqi.inf and airquality2.txt
Alan

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,237
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
    • Weather Display
Re: Luftdaten Air Quality
« Reply #29 on: December 30, 2018, 10:05:59 PM »
you would need to be using the latest
cronairquality.exe version
1.5
modified create/time on that file should be 26 Nov
yes?