cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?  (Read 329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 30
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« on: November 15, 2018, 06:23:30 PM »
I want to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt.
Is this possible?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 06:56:56 PM »
can I ask why?

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,666
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2018, 07:01:07 PM »
Can't you just ignore it in your application?

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 30
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2018, 09:25:16 PM »
the problem is, some people might set that by mistake if it was a setting and then wonder why things do not work
but I could make it work via a setting you set manually in the ini file (i.e more obscure)

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,666
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2018, 09:34:14 PM »
Could set a max indoor temp limit of zero in the limit settings, but then the data wouldn't be in WD.

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 30
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2018, 09:35:21 PM »
the problem is, some people might set that by mistake if it was a setting and then wonder why things do not work
but I could make it work via a setting you set manually in the ini file (i.e more obscure)

Thank you Brian!
That would work for me.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2018, 10:26:06 PM »
use this version
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

and set in the wdisplay.ini file, before starting up this versipn (and after exiting WD)
[indoortempclientraw]
option=no

and then the indoor temperature and indoor humidity will be set to zero values in the clientraw.txt file

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,666
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2018, 10:44:01 PM »
Will that flow through to clientrawextra.txt ?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2018, 10:55:01 PM »
no, i have not done anything with that (the graph data)

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,666
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2018, 11:27:58 PM »
Same issue I would have thought, just as easy to snoop on that file as the clientraw :dontknow:

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 30
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2018, 08:21:57 AM »
use this version
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

and set in the wdisplay.ini file, before starting up this versipn (and after exiting WD)
[indoortempclientraw]
option=no

and then the indoor temperature and indoor humidity will be set to zero values in the clientraw.txt file
I will test this, but one question - do you plan to persist the setting or will it be reset each time WD closes?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2018, 05:03:46 PM »
why would I not have it persist?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.77
    • Weather Display
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2018, 08:19:18 PM »
I have done another update, where the data in the clientrawaextra.txt will also get set to zeros

Offline GW400

  • Posts: 30
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.102
Re: Is it possible to remove indoor temperature from clientraw.txt?
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2018, 08:36:33 PM »
Brian,
Adding
[indoortempclientraw]
option=no

to wdisplay.ini is verified to set indoor temperature readings in clientraw.txt and clientrawextra.txt to 0.0

Thank you very much!

Will this change be merged into standard future WD builds?