cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing  (Read 1396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« on: October 23, 2018, 04:52:03 PM »
Any idea why my cloud height gauge is not showing?  I have set showCloudGauge  to true.

Tom

Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,945
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 62.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 05:16:22 PM »
It seems to be working now.. is this still an issue?
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 1,047
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2018, 05:26:24 PM »
It seems to be working now.. is this still an issue?

I can't see it. . .

Any idea why my cloud height gauge is not showing?  I have set showCloudGauge  to true.


It may be set true in gauges.js but is it specified (by row and position in row) in gauges-ss.htm?

It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 06:00:57 PM »
As I understand it the position of the gauge is determined by the order in the gauges-ss-basic* file.  I believe the script uses the gauges-ss-basic-inc.php file not the htm file.  If I run the gauges-ss-basic.htm the cloud height dial is drawn.

Tom

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 06:07:32 PM »
It seems to be working now.. is this still an issue?

It still does not work on my system.

Tom

Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,945
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 62.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2018, 06:32:58 PM »
I see the cloud-height graphic on your home page.  Are you talking about a different page on your site?  If so, please specify which page is not showing the expected cloud-height display.
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 1,047
  • Oregon Scientific WMR200
  • Edinburgh, U.K.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
    • Home Weather Station
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 06:49:38 PM »
I see the cloud-height graphic on your home page.  Are you talking about a different page on your site?  If so, please specify which page is not showing the expected cloud-height display.

SteelSeries (Live Gauges) page. . . at least, that's what I'm assuming!

As I understand it the position of the gauge is determined by the order in the gauges-ss-basic* file.  I believe the script uses the gauges-ss-basic-inc.php file not the htm file.  If I run the gauges-ss-basic.htm the cloud height dial is drawn.

I've only ever used gauges-ss.htm (edited from gauges-ssT.htm and renamed to gauges.htm for my web page) and gauges.js, and everything works as expected. But then mine is just a stand-alone page, not included in a template. . .
« Last Edit: October 23, 2018, 08:31:11 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,945
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 62.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2018, 07:24:31 PM »
If it is (as you assume) the http://www.kq5s.com/wd/wxssgauges.php that is not showing a cloud height gauge, then using view-source:http://www.kq5s.com/wd/gauges/gauges-ss-basic-incnew.php instead of view-source:http://www.kq5s.com/wd/gauges/gauges-ss-basic-inc.php would have the
Code: [Select]
    <div id="tip_11" class="gauge">
      <canvas id="canvas_cloud" class="gaugeSizeStd"></canvas>
    </div>
needed to 'host' a cloud height gauge for display.
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2018, 08:53:01 PM »
If it is (as you assume) the http://www.kq5s.com/wd/wxssgauges.php that is not showing a cloud height gauge, then using view-source:http://www.kq5s.com/wd/gauges/gauges-ss-basic-incnew.php instead of view-source:http://www.kq5s.com/wd/gauges/gauges-ss-basic-inc.php would have the
Code: [Select]
    <div id="tip_11" class="gauge">
      <canvas id="canvas_cloud" class="gaugeSizeStd"></canvas>
    </div>
needed to 'host' a cloud height gauge for display.

I remember now.  The gauges-ss-basic-incnew.php, which was gauges-ss-basic-inc.php, did not give me any gauges so I used the old gauges-ss-basic-inc.php.  I uploaded the newest version of the scripts to a new directory and then renamed it to gauges.  I did this to hopefully ensure I had a clean new install.  When the new install would not work I copied the gauges-ss-basic-inc.php from the old directory and the gauges worked.

I renamed the gauges-ss-basic-incnew.php to gauges-ss-basic-inc.php and if you look at the page you will see the gauges are not loading.

Suggestions?

Tom

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 658
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2018, 09:33:44 PM »
Mark

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2018, 10:02:42 PM »
The script is looking for...
http://www.kq5s.com/wd/gauges/customclientraw.txt

But the file is actually here...
http://www.kq5s.com/wd/customclientraw.txt

I can't seem to get the path correct.  Here is what I am using"

 realTimeUrlWD      : './customclientraw.txt',

This path works fine with the old gauges-ss-basic-inc.php  but apparently not with the 2.7.2 version since the dials are not showing.  I would think the dials would show but would have not data?

tom


Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,945
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 62.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2018, 10:10:41 PM »
Your wxssgauges.php is failing to load scripts/language.min.js (gets a 404-Not Found), so JavaScript stops executing when it encounters
Code: [Select]
<script type="text/javascript">
   changeLang(LANG.EN);  // change SteelSeries language
</script>
on the page with an 'undefined' for the function changeLang() (which is defined in scripts/language.min.js) so none of your gauges display.
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2018, 10:39:21 PM »
Your wxssgauges.php is failing to load scripts/language.min.js (gets a 404-Not Found), so JavaScript stops executing when it encounters
Code: [Select]
<script type="text/javascript">
   changeLang(LANG.EN);  // change SteelSeries language
</script>
on the page with an 'undefined' for the function changeLang() (which is defined in scripts/language.min.js) so none of your gauges display.

The file is there.  The wxssgauges.php works fine with the old gauges-ss-basic-inc.php.  Everything is the same except for the gauges-ss-basic-inc.php file.

Tom

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.1
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2018, 11:26:17 PM »
Got it.  I changed the location of the various scripts at the bottom of the gauges-ss-basic-inc.php.  Mark's help was what did he when he mentioned the file could not be found in the script.  Still not sure why it worked with the old gauges-ss-basic-inc.php.

I changed the tl to TL in gauges.js and now the indoor temp (garage in my case) popup shows correctly with C or F.

Many thanks for the help Mark.

Tom

Offline nineback

  • Posts: 171
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 70.0.3538.67
    • Tom's Weather Albertville, AL
Re: Cloud Height Gauge Not Showing
« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2018, 12:44:43 PM »

Still not sure why it worked with the old gauges-ss-basic-inc.php.


I think I understand why the old one worked and not the new one.  The old one used a variable to point to the scripts' location.

Code: [Select]
<script src="<?php echo $ssgDir?>scripts/language.min.js"></script>
  <script src="<?php echo $ssgDir?>scripts/gauges.js"></script>

The new version has the location hard coded.

Code: [Select]
   <script src="scripts/language.min.js"></script>
  <script src="scripts/gauges.js"></script>

Tom
« Last Edit: October 24, 2018, 12:47:29 PM by nineback »