cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing  (Read 485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« on: September 03, 2018, 04:42:08 PM »
Greetings.
We are using WeatherDisplay ver 10.37s Build 81.
Cronweatherflow version 3.8

When I try and read the sensors names, I see the error in Cronweatherflow of 'Can not open local file for writing'.
Same error appears every time the cron tries to read the station data.
I have the check box, 'use direct udp from hub' checked.

I was sure to put in the station ID from the app before I clicked 'Enable'.
The main Weatherdisplay app is showing green for 'Data Received' and Data Quality, but none of the data points are updating.

Weather display is installed on Windows 10 PC and installed in c:/wdisplay

What local file needs to be created? How can I give it write access?

Thanks for your time.

Cheers.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 04:54:38 PM by thebaldgeek »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 06:22:31 PM »
try deleting the
weatherflow.txt and weatherflow0.txt and weatherflow1.txt  and weatherflow2.txt files
from the WD web files folder (i.e where you have that set (default is c:\wdisplay\webfiles\ ) in WD (control panel, webfiles/web page setup)

the issue might be a windows 10 permission problem
are you running as admin?

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 06:43:06 PM »
Thanks for your help.
Those file locations are correct as per the control panel, but the files do not exist.
Yes, running WeatherDisplay as admin.
I tried creating those files and it no difference, getting the same error.
All those files remain at zero bytes.

I notice that other files are being written Ok to that webfiles directory.

EDIT, just tried running cronweatherflow as administrator and that made no difference.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 06:53:10 PM by thebaldgeek »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 06:58:54 PM »
check in the window registry
using regedit.exe
search for wdisplayftp.ini
then find
[New webfiles location]
location=

what is that set as?

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 07:33:56 PM »
Thanks Brian,

It was pointed to an old file location.
Should I edit the registry or is there some place in the control panel I should change that path?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2018, 08:00:18 PM »
try actually re selecting the web files location in WD
and then restart the cron program
or edit the registry direct
then restart the cron program

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2018, 08:07:42 PM »
Hi Brian,

We repointed the control panel at the c:/wdisplay/webfiles, but it did not update the registry, so we edited that and restarted both pograms and we have some progress.....

The cron program now states 'ok' in the small box on the left.
I have my sensor names in the 'Get Names' dialog box, but there is no data in the cron and the main weather display is not updating.
The names of the sensors is correct, so I know its pointed to my weatherflow station.

I see weatherflownames.txt is updating and weatherflow0.txt is now updating.
When I open/view the files contents both have lots of data names, but no data values in them.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2018, 08:30:41 PM »
getting or setting sensor names is only really needed if you have more than one station/sensors
is any data showing in the cron program now?

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2018, 08:45:25 PM »
There is no data in the cron program.
Just an 'ok' in the box on the left. This updates with another 'ok' pretty often.
The box on the right has the sensors names.
I have the wind/rain sensor and the outdoor temperature sensor.
The space in the middle of those two boxes is just showing a series of ---
I have the station ID and the check box UDP is checked. (it makes no difference if I uncheck it).

Have attached a screen shot of the cron program.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2018, 08:48:26 PM »
in the screen shot you have posted you do not have ticked to use UDP
tick that
then restart

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2018, 08:54:52 PM »
Hi Brian,

Yes, I have tried it ticked and not ticked, restarts between both.
It does not make any difference to the data in the cron program or the main weatherdisplay program.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2018, 10:27:04 PM »
the issue with the UDP data could be a router issue (there was someone else who reported they had to set a bind setting in their router settings for the weatherflow hub)

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2018, 10:57:31 PM »
I have got data a couple of times using your station ID and not using UDP data
(but its intermitant)
one thing make sure to not set as private data only, your weather flow data

Offline thebaldgeek

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2018, 11:12:26 PM »
Thanks for your help Brian.
Not sure what else either of us can do.
I have the station set to Public (always has been), but not sharing with WU (Was going to do that through WD).
I am getting data reliably from the WeatherFlow hub via UDP and Node-RED, so feel confident that the router is working as it should.
(I have about 80 devices on my network, so am very comfortable with Windows, Linux and IoT devices).

I find it odd that cronweatherflow finds the station devices and all the sensor names, but not the data?

The debug from the control panel in WD does not show any errors.
Let me know if there is any other debug information I can get.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,040
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: Cronweatherflow can not open local file for writing
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2018, 02:11:05 AM »
I have found and fixed it
use this update
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/cronweatherflow.zip
vers 3.9
working here (with UDP not set)
i.e unzip/extract to where you have WD installed (exit the current running cronweatherflow program)

it seems you had a sequence of ID I had not come across before
(if works with not using UDP, then we can work on using with UDP set next (might be a similar issue))
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 02:19:11 AM by Weather Display »

 

cumulus