cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges (RESOLVED)  (Read 788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges (RESOLVED)
« on: July 17, 2018, 04:55:03 PM »
I'm experimenting with alternatives to Weather Display Live anent the day Flash gets killed off for good, and one thing I'm really going to miss is the opportunity to display an extra temp (and, preferably, the extra hum that goes with it). Had a quick search and came up with Brian's tour de force on adding an extra gauge here, but I wondered if it could be done more economically (in terms of real estate!) by adding another (customisable) radio button under both the temp and hum gauges: so you would have the choice of displaying Outside/Inside/Extra Temp and Hum.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 01:17:49 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 638
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2018, 10:06:14 PM »
That sounds a reasonable approach.

You need to get the data into the customclientraw file first, then look at how I implemented the dewpoint gauge and just replicate some of that code.

If you are putting more options on there, you may also want to take a look at my gauges page where I have changed the radio buttons to drop down selectors
Mark

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2018, 04:37:54 PM »
Thanks, Mark.

As I really have no interest whatsoever in displaying inside temp/hum to all and sundry I then thought I could cheat by setting, e.g., "intemp":%extratemp1%, "inhum":%extrahum1%, etc., in customclientrawlocal.txt and then renaming the "Inside" radio buttons.

But I notice that there is no "intempTL"or "intempTH" to give max-min on the pop-ups (although "inhumTL" and "inhumTH" are present), and it's not exactly clear to me from WD's tagslist what tags I would use anyway!

Back to the drawing board. . .

P.S. No offence, but you have to click twice on a drop down menu to make a selection instead of just once on a button. . .
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 638
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2018, 04:42:46 PM »
But I notice that there is no "intempTL"or "intempTH" to give max-min on the pop-ups (although "inhumTL" and "inhumTH" are present), and it's not exactly clear to me from WD's tagslist what tags I would use anyway!
Yes, lots of software doesn't provide that info.

P.S. No offence, but you have to click twice on a drop down menu to make a selection instead of just once on a button. . .
Yep, but it's more compact, and scans better once set I think.
Mark

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2018, 09:38:20 PM »
Yes, lots of software doesn't provide that info.

So some software provides inhumTL, TinhumTL, inhumTH and TinhumTH but doesn't provide intempTL, TintempTL, intempTH and TintempTH? WD has tags for all these. . .

But WD doesn't seem to have tags for the corresponding extratemp/hum values that I was looking for!
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 638
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2018, 01:04:28 PM »
Looking at it, it is probably more likely somebody asked me at add indoor humidity min/max on day when I was feeling generous. I have conditional code around those values to suppress them for s/ware that doesn't provide the data.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 01:36:10 PM by mcrossley »
Mark

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2018, 01:20:00 PM »
Found some WD tags that would work. . . don't suppose you're feeling generous today, are you?  :wink:
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 638
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2018, 01:38:35 PM »
Post the variable values and I'll put it on the ToDo list - which is currently pretty short ;)
Mark

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2018, 02:31:43 PM »
Thanks, Mark!

To be clear, if you could implement Inside Temp min/max to match the existing Inside Humidity min/max I reckon I could then substitute extratemp/extrahum WD tags for intemp and inhum in customclientrawlocal (and rename the radio buttons) for my own extra sensor without upsetting anyone who likes looking at indoor values!

Others may be interested in this idea, others may want all three (or more) temps, but all I'd be asking you to do is to complete (or round off) your existing set-up to show Outside and Inside min/max temp/hum.

WD tags for these variables ("intemp" is already there) would be:

"intempTL":"%minindoortemp%"
"TintempTL":"%minindoortempt%"
"intempTH":"%maxindoortemp%"
"TintempTH":"%maxindoortempt%"

There doesn't seem to be a tag for "intemptrend" to be consistent with "temptrend":"%tempchangehour%, but I don't think a trend is necessary anyway?


« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 03:51:46 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2018, 02:15:21 PM »
Post the variable values and I'll put it on the ToDo list - which is currently pretty short ;)

Great stuff, version 2.7.1 works beautifully! Thanks, Mark.

P.S. the cheque's in the post. . .  :)
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Extra temp/hum in SteelSeries Gauges
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2018, 11:37:51 AM »
As I really have no interest whatsoever in displaying inside temp/hum I then thought I could cheat by setting, e.g., "intemp":%extratemp1%, "inhum":%extrahum1%, etc., in customclientrawlocal.txt and then renaming the "Inside" radio buttons.

Brian got the WMR extra sensor tags working and I managed to rename buttons, gauge titles and pop-up info (and a few other things).

Thanks, Brian, for tags and thanks again, Mark, for max-min Inside Temps!
It's meant to be fun. . .

 

cumulus