cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: WD in Client Mode  (Read 819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,298
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2018, 08:46:06 AM »
this will happen if the time is not the same for the client and server pc's

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 482
  • Oregon WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2018, 09:26:19 AM »
this will happen if the time is not the same for the client and server pc's

Doesn't matter about time difference, it just doesn't reset at midnight. (Trouble is, I can't remember what it did before the latest mod.)

Turned client off at 0010 this morning and noticed that min temp was showing garbage, but was too tired to take a screen shot. (I'll do one tonight.)

Started client at 0935 this morning and wind and max temp are OK but min temp is wrong (it was 12.8C early this morning) and time is not populated (see attached).

Edit: just had to go to Action/Reset Extremes and "press" "Reset daily minimum temperature" to sort it. . . didn't have to enter the value/time.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 10:22:46 AM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,298
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2018, 06:36:13 PM »
i am not sure exactly what is going wrong here, sorry

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 49
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2018, 09:35:34 PM »
Just a thought here, Brian, if the Client WD is now reading the Max/Min values from the Clientraw.txt file should it not automatically pick up the new max/min values from the Server as midnight passes?   Is it possible that the Client version has a conflict with the need to reset at midnight whilst at the same time receiving data ?   
I am personally trying to get round the problem by setting the Client WD to restart after midnight.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,298
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2018, 09:59:58 PM »
I am sure I will sort it out in time and with your guy patience and some more coffee

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 482
  • Oregon WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2018, 11:10:40 PM »
I am sure I will sort it out in time and with your guy patience and some more coffee

I'm sure you will, too!

In the meantime, here are two screenshots, either side of midnight. No "garbage" for min temp tonight, but I don't know what happened to the Max Gust Today.

Shutting down client for the night now. I'll see what happens at startup tomorrow.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 11:13:47 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,298
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #21 on: June 26, 2018, 11:17:28 PM »
try a new .zip update, ready now

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 482
  • Oregon WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2018, 08:50:39 AM »
Will do; but first I should report that startup went OK this morning at 0935. A single random number appeared first for min temp, like yesterday, but the correct temp/time appeared quickly. Max temp correctly shown 5 minutes before startup.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 482
  • Oregon WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #23 on: June 27, 2018, 11:10:00 PM »
try a new .zip update, ready now

OK, so temps now resetting OK.

Max Gust Last Hour also reset, but Max Gust and Max Average windspeeds reset to zero while times shown are for yesterday. (Of course, that's exactly what's shown on the server.)

« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 11:13:39 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

 

cumulus