cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: WD in Client Mode  (Read 752 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
WD in Client Mode
« on: June 22, 2018, 03:45:08 PM »
I have been using WD in Client mode for some time, using the Clientraw text file or otherwise. However, whenever the Client computer is restarted, WD restarts ok but the Extreme Conditions values reset themselves from the time of the restart.  Is there any reason for this, as Rainfall values and the graphs are unaffected. I am using WD 10.37S61 on Windows 10.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2018, 04:49:19 PM »
My client computer, using clientraw.txt, is turned off for about 9 hours every night and everything is reset from the time of restart. If there has been rain overnight it is all shown as "Last Hour" (for an hour!), and there are discontinuities in the graphs where the overnight data is missing. Don't see how it could be otherwise. . .
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 07:12:18 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,916
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2018, 07:31:42 PM »
I could make it where it uses the daily hi/lo data that is in the clientraw.txt file to set the max/min temperature on start up of the client version

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2018, 07:37:16 PM »
Thanks Brian, that would be great if you could do that,

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,916
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2018, 07:44:16 PM »
re the graph data, you can set the client version to be read only for the data files/logfiles and then set the data and logfiles location as the server version, so that it uses the graph data from the server version

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2018, 07:40:30 AM »
Hi Brian,
There is no issue with the graph data, see original post above, its only the extreme data values from the clientraw file that needs to be fixed. Thanks.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,916
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2018, 03:34:53 AM »
that was in reference to bitsostring
use the latest .zip update re the max/min temp and time

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2018, 07:56:50 AM »
Thanks Brian, much appreciated.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2018, 10:40:08 AM »
re the graph data, you can set the client version to be read only for the data files/logfiles and then set the data and logfiles location as the server version, so that it uses the graph data from the server version

Thanks, Brian. Max/min temp and time mod sounds good, too!

Edit: but doesn't look as if it's working. . . Min temp still resets to restart time, and max temp appears to be displaying max humidex?
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 06:30:50 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2018, 06:54:08 PM »
Yes, my findings too, only the time of max temp is now working correctly.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2018, 07:17:33 PM »
Isn't that only because time of max temp was later than restart time?
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,916
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2018, 07:21:27 PM »
download again the latest .zip update

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,916
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.87
    • Weather Display
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2018, 07:33:57 PM »
just realised that the update was not available
is now though
(too early on a cold winters day monday morning here)

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 430
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2018, 09:41:05 PM »
just realised that the update was not available
is now though
(too early on a cold winters day monday morning here)

That's better! Thanks, Brian. Is it possible to do the same for max average/gust windspeed?

P.S. We're having what passes for a heatwave in Scotland at the moment: 21.3C today, maybe 24C later this week!
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 10:10:52 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline westhillman

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: WD in Client Mode
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2018, 07:47:17 AM »
Hi Brian,
More issues have now arisen with the Extreme Conditions Max and Min temps. They are now not resetting at midnight, so I have still got yesterdays values showing !   

 

cumulus