cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data  (Read 566 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« on: May 13, 2018, 03:20:08 AM »
This afternoon I had to restart my computer.  When I ran WD after restart, the data did not get read.  The WD display does not show any data, only the graphs up to when I restarted.  I tried the wdisplay.ini from the databackup folder, but no luck.  What can I do?
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.139
    • Weather Display
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 03:27:33 AM »
maybe check what windows has assigned the number for the com port
and make sure that is still set correct in WD (the com port number)
also see what shows under view, debug info

also what is the barometer reading on the console
you can set WD to debug mode:
setup, advanced/misc, tick to log the raw data
then some extra info should show under view, debug info

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2018, 03:58:09 AM »
I still cannot find what port Windows 10 is using for WD.  WD says it is using port 3.  Barometer reading on console is 29.69".  I set WD to debug mode as you asked.  The debug file says that WD has connected to COM 1.  I don't understand.  What do I do next?
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2018, 04:02:31 AM »
Also, I set WD to com1 then exited WD and restarted.  It had changed back to com3.
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.139
    • Weather Display
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2018, 04:17:14 AM »
its not likely to be com 1
what shows in windows device manager, ports

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2018, 12:31:50 PM »
I'm totally lost.  Cannot get WD to show any data.  The graphs look normal up to when I restarted my computer yesterday but all the values at the right of the WD screen are blank.  I've used the backup wdisplay.ini file from the databackup folder in the zip file.

Please help.
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2018, 12:45:50 PM »
This is the wdisplay.ini file from yesterday that didn't work.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2018, 06:30:26 PM by daughn »
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.139
    • Weather Display
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2018, 06:24:11 PM »
you should not be putting your settings files on a public forum

also you say please help
 but I am
but you need to answer my questions so I can help you
what shows in windows device manager , ports?

is there any error in WD under view, program event log?

also .zip and email me the setting file wdisplayftp.reg, from the databackup folder

« Last Edit: May 13, 2018, 06:26:23 PM by Weather Display »

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2018, 06:46:45 PM »
I hope I have everything you asked for.  The program event log - is this the debug info? The log event file was blank as was the program event log.

See attachments.  Thanks!
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2018, 06:50:19 PM »
Attached is the WD screen as of yesterday's last update, although the time keeps advancing.
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline hcorrin

  • Posts: 1,200
  • Ballaugh Isle of Man GB
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Ballaugh Weather
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2018, 07:58:09 PM »
Right click icon on left of task bar and in the list click search and type device manager then click device manager and once open check what port number is assigned.
The number has either been change by windows or is in explanation mark mode i.e. problem with driver has WD is not seeing the com port any more and is giving the error in the log you posted

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2018, 08:31:33 PM »
Tried that and it searched for a Silicon Labs driver but then said there was a problem installing the driver and now that driver does not show in Device Driver.
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2018, 08:42:55 PM »
I looked on the Silicon Labs site and found 2 exe files, one CP210xVCPInstaller_x64 and one ending in in another last 3 characters (I didn't catch the characters).  Could this be my problem, the CP210x driver?  It won't install.
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,426
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.139
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2018, 08:49:37 PM »
You do have a USB weatherlink - right?

If so I would get the Download for Windows 7/8/8.1/10 (v6.7.5) from https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers that one has worked well for other users recently.

Offline daughn

  • Posts: 411
  • Madison, Alabama, USA 34:43:08N, 86:46:30W - Elev: 755 ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.170
Re: Restarted and Cannot Get WD to Read Data
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2018, 08:51:42 PM »
Here is what happened when I tried to install the driver.  Another thought, maybe the problem was caused by the restart of the computer just before the problem occurred. I was restarting because of a Windows 10 update.  Possible?

See below for what happened when I tried to install the driver.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2018, 09:06:38 PM by daughn »
Daughn
Using Davis Vantage Pro2
CWOP:  CW3063
WeatherUnderground:  KALMADIS101