cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?  (Read 896 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline steerage250

  • http://members.iinet.net.au/~isteer/weather/signaturebanner.gif
  • Posts: 204
  • Davis VP2
  • Perth, West Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Willetton Weather
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2018, 02:45:42 AM »
It does indeed work!  Thank you both.

I tried the demo, and it didn't work, then I installed the component suggested by niko and the demo worked.  I then copied the connect string into wdwebcamcapture - and it works too.

Great - I don't have to buy another camera after-all.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,239
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.117
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2018, 02:59:42 AM »
Hmmm, you did better than me, the demo worked, but not WD's webcamcapture. Note that the download I linked is only a demo.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,239
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.117
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2018, 03:08:22 AM »
Does it still work in WD if you uninstall the component (and restart WD)?

Offline steerage250

  • http://members.iinet.net.au/~isteer/weather/signaturebanner.gif
  • Posts: 204
  • Davis VP2
  • Perth, West Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Willetton Weather
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2018, 07:36:08 AM »
yes, wdwebcamcapture 10.28 (might not be the latest) seems to be working fine.

One question though: the "log file window" (or whatever you call it on the left side of the image in wdwebcamcapture) shows the text "copying temp file to bla", "Saving as temp file bla" repeating every second.  This seems unnecessary processing and disk activity - is this as expected ?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,183
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Weather Display
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2018, 09:10:18 AM »
you must have set the file save update rate as 1 second

Offline steerage250

  • http://members.iinet.net.au/~isteer/weather/signaturebanner.gif
  • Posts: 204
  • Davis VP2
  • Perth, West Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Willetton Weather
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2018, 09:45:30 AM »
It seems the minimum is once per minute - however restarting wdwebcamcapture has it saving every minute now.

However another problem has surfaced.  The DataStead RTSP filter that I installed from niko's link is an evaluation version that says it stops working after "a few minutes to a few hours".  I didn't notice it stopping, but it put an "evaluation version" text across the picture.  This text disappeared when I restarted wdwebcamcapture, so I've ticked the "restart regularly" box in wdwebcamcapture and I'll see if that restarts it often enough to keep the annoying text away.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,239
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.117
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2018, 03:14:24 PM »
Whoa, $950  8O

Offline steerage250

  • http://members.iinet.net.au/~isteer/weather/signaturebanner.gif
  • Posts: 204
  • Davis VP2
  • Perth, West Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Willetton Weather
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2018, 05:51:56 AM »
hmmm - the "restart regularly" isn't enough to keep the annoying messages away all the time.  I get a couple of periods/day, some that last an hour-or-more.  Still, there's no way this hobbyist is ever going to spend $950 to get a weather camera going (especially when the camera itself was only $60!)

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,239
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.117
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #23 on: April 26, 2018, 01:29:43 PM »
Maybe Brian can find an affordable rtsp stream component, or you could try the free solution I outlined above.

Offline steerage250

  • http://members.iinet.net.au/~isteer/weather/signaturebanner.gif
  • Posts: 204
  • Davis VP2
  • Perth, West Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Willetton Weather
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #24 on: April 26, 2018, 01:45:57 PM »
- but the solution you outlined won't get me the WD overlays ??

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,239
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 66.0.3359.117
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2018, 02:30:18 PM »
I think it does. It captures a frame from the rtsp stream and saves it as a .jpg. AFAIK WD's webcam function can use that .jpg as its image source.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,183
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.181
    • Weather Display
Re: Must an IP camera have a http connect string ?
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2018, 07:14:06 PM »
I will see if I can find a component

 

cumulus