cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Run-time error 5  (Read 2332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zalmor

  • Posts: 581
  • Erin, NY
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 59.0
    • Zalmors' corner of the Web
Run-time error 5
« on: March 14, 2018, 07:34:26 PM »
Been getting a run-time error 5 every day now for the past 3-5 days now when running in auto mode.  Haven't been able to pick any new RAOB data I think might be the problem:

http://www.eoas.fsu.edu/rawdata/radiosonde/20180314/2018031412.rdisnd

WXSIMATE shows a (-1) when it tries to download for the above line.  Anyone else getting this?  Tried it manually with a browser and the following page shows:

https://www.eoas.fsu.edu/about-us/internal-resources/weatherdata/

Any suggestions?
Michael A

Windows 10 Pro, Pentium Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K 4.00GHz 24GB RAM, Quickcam Pro 4000, and APC

Offline JEB_Tucson

  • Posts: 58
  • Tucson, AZ, USA
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2018, 04:10:51 PM »
Hello Michael

In WXSIMATE, change the RAOB link from the fsu.edu site to the ucar.edu site. The fsu.edu sites for SYNOP and RAOB are not working.

James
DW4536

Offline Zalmor

  • Posts: 581
  • Erin, NY
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
    • Zalmors' corner of the Web
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2018, 06:30:48 PM »
Hello Michael

In WXSIMATE, change the RAOB link from the fsu.edu site to the ucar.edu site. The fsu.edu sites for SYNOP and RAOB are not working.

James
DW4536

Will give that a try for the next automated run.

On another note I tried just 'http://www.eoas.fsu.edu/' by itself and it changes to 'https://www.eoas.fsu.edu/'.
Maybe this .edu site has changed everything to a 'https:' secure connection recently throwing the automated downloads off now.

Mike A

Michael A

Windows 10 Pro, Pentium Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K 4.00GHz 24GB RAM, Quickcam Pro 4000, and APC

Offline Zalmor

  • Posts: 581
  • Erin, NY
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 59.0
    • Zalmors' corner of the Web
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2018, 12:10:01 PM »
Hello Michael

In WXSIMATE, change the RAOB link from the fsu.edu site to the ucar.edu site. The fsu.edu sites for SYNOP and RAOB are not working.

James
DW4536

Nope, still errors out.
Will check the WD logs this weekend, might be a possible double entry or something bugging it out.
Michael A

Windows 10 Pro, Pentium Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K 4.00GHz 24GB RAM, Quickcam Pro 4000, and APC

Offline JEB_Tucson

  • Posts: 58
  • Tucson, AZ, USA
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2018, 04:44:22 PM »
Hello Michael

As you said, your error may be due to something else. Check file, raob.lst, for actual data. With the fsu.edu link I get html data in the file not RAOB data, but do not get error 5.

You may be right about a new authentication requirement. I had e-mailed Tom a few days ago to let him know about the issue.

Thanks
James


Offline Zalmor

  • Posts: 581
  • Erin, NY
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
    • Zalmors' corner of the Web
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2018, 05:44:11 PM »
Hello Michael

As you said, your error may be due to something else. Check file, raob.lst, for actual data. With the fsu.edu link I get html data in the file not RAOB data, but do not get error 5.
You may be right about a new authentication requirement. I had e-mailed Tom a few days ago to let him know about the issue.

Thanks
James
Was using the mouse scroll and the ucar site didn't show up in WXSIMATE.
Using the up/down scroll arrows on that field shows the ucar is now showing  #-o , manual download shows data vice the html code I had before.
Next auto run in and hour or so, fingers crossed.

Recent Auto run completed without any error for a change this time..   :D Thanks
« Last Edit: March 16, 2018, 06:19:13 PM by Zalmor »
Michael A

Windows 10 Pro, Pentium Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K 4.00GHz 24GB RAM, Quickcam Pro 4000, and APC

Offline DrRob

  • Posts: 29
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.59
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2018, 02:32:48 PM »
Hi All.

FSU have added security and now require registration .
from an email from them,

"  For access to the weather data we now require a registration form…please see attached. The one item that we must have is a static IP address to whitelist through the firewall. Once the form has been completed and returned I will forward you the new URL for access to the weather data. "



Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,252
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 67.0.3396.99
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2018, 03:33:59 PM »
The one item that we must have is a static IP address to whitelist through the firewall.

That is going to be difficult for a lot of people  :(

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,701
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 61.0
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2018, 02:06:05 AM »
Ooh, didn't know this.  I think we still have other sources for everything.  I'll check on this.

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,701
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 61.0
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2018, 02:27:13 AM »
Yep, FSU's data now has this registration requirement.  I think the data usage here is legit and they'd probably grant it (that's really just a guess), but I haven't tried contacting them yet.  I'll try to learn more.

Meanwhile, other sources still work, and there's still at least one option for everything.  I'm posting a screen shot of some settings that I can confirm work.  NOTE: most users, especially outside the U.S. do not need all these data types.  I just filled it all out for purposes of checking availability.

Offline Mearns

  • Posts: 191
  • Glenbervie, N.E. Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.9
    • Glenbervie Weather
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2018, 03:56:27 PM »
Tom - I've changed the data sources in WXSIMATE (still on 6.3) to match your entries in your screenshot but with the exception of the Target URL.  Do I need to copy that url but put in my own site coordinates - at the moment it has automatically put in what you see in my screenshot.  I'm a bit confused! :scratch:

EDIT: Ah, it all sorted out when the forecast ran at 1800 and all is now okay!\:D/
« Last Edit: July 28, 2018, 05:50:10 PM by Mearns »
Tony
Wireless Davis VP2 USB
WD 10.37S Build 99 on Windows 10 64bit
www.glenbervie-weather.org

Offline DrRob

  • Posts: 29
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 69.0.3497.100
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2018, 12:34:00 AM »
Hi all.

I had no issue in getting registration done.
Basically overnight.
I have the urls and file structure for you Tom.


Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,701
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 62.0
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2018, 09:20:42 PM »
Great!  Do you know if they changed anything about the file structure?  Anyway, please send me those new URL's.

Thanks!

Tom

Offline DrRob

  • Posts: 29
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 69.0.3497.100
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2018, 09:24:37 PM »
The new url is http(s)://rawdata.eoas.fsu.edu
The files structure is
[DIR]admin/   2018-09-19 17:11   -   
[DIR]   aircraft/   2018-09-18 20:00   -   
[DIR]   climate/   2018-09-01 04:55   -   
[DIR]   dropsonde/   2018-09-18 20:35   -   
[DIR]   metar/   2018-09-18 19:32   -   
[DIR]   pibal/   2018-09-18 18:54   -   
[DIR]   radiosonde/   2018-09-18 18:47   -   
[DIR]   syn/   2018-09-18 14:19   -   
[DIR]   ussyn/   2018-09-18 20:06   -   
[DIR]   usua/   2018-09-18 19:08   -   

Syn / (partial)

[DIR]   20180926/   2018-09-26 18:38   -   
[DIR]   20180927/   2018-09-27 18:37   -   
[DIR]   20180928/   2018-09-28 18:37   -   
[DIR]   20180929/   2018-09-28 22:37   -   

20180928/  (one of two)
[   ]   2018092800.syn   2018-09-28 21:31   1.3M   
[   ]   2018092801.syn   2018-09-28 21:00   455K   
[   ]   2018092802.syn   2018-09-28 22:00   468K   
[   ]   2018092803.syn   2018-09-28 15:40   1.1M   
[   ]   2018092804.syn   2018-09-28 18:10   436K   
[   ]   2018092805.syn   2018-09-28 15:30   473K   
[   ]   2018092806.syn   2018-09-28 15:30   1.4M   
[   ]   2018092807.syn   2018-09-28 15:30   444K   
[   ]   2018092808.syn   2018-09-28 18:10   469K   
[   ]   2018092809.syn   2018-09-28 17:41   1.0M   
[   ]   2018092810.syn   2018-09-28 15:30   438K   
[   ]   2018092811.syn   2018-09-28 16:20   476K   
[   ]   2018092812.syn   2018-09-28 21:00   1.4M   
[   ]   2018092813.syn   2018-09-28 16:00   442K   
[   ]   2018092814.syn   2018-09-28 18:35   474K   
[   ]   2018092815.syn   2018-09-28 21:30   1.0M   
[   ]   2018092816.syn   2018-09-28 18:50   440K   
[   ]   2018092817.syn   2018-09-28 18:50   471K   
[   ]   2018092818.syn   2018-09-28 23:16   1.3M   
[   ]   2018092819.syn   2018-09-28 19:50   454K   
[   ]   2018092820.syn   2018-09-28 21:30   484K   
[   ]   2018092821.syn   2018-09-28 23:18   962K   
[   ]   2018092822.syn   2018-09-28 22:55   429K   
[   ]   2018092823.syn   2018-09-28 23:20   488K   


20180929/  (two of two)
[   ]   2018092900.syn   2018-09-28 23:24   1.3M   
[   ]   2018092901.syn   2018-09-28 23:23   447K   
[   ]   2018092902.syn   2018-09-28 23:23   453K   
[   ]   2018092903.syn   2018-09-28 23:24   455K   

« Last Edit: September 29, 2018, 03:25:43 AM by DrRob »

Offline DrRob

  • Posts: 29
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 69.0.3497.100
Re: Run-time error 5
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2018, 03:32:26 AM »
Just a note on http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/

When this ls selected, an error is forced.

"error: The underlying connection was closed: Could not establish
secure channel for ssl/tls. In addition to various communication or
site availability issues, one possible caus of this error is the 'Computer on Daylight Savings Time' check box is not accurate."

We don't do daylight savings, and if a browser is used to go to http://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/
it gets directed to https://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/

Data is available when the full url at 13:31 local (gmt+10)

https://weather.cod.edu/digatmos/syn/18092900.syn

works fine,