cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: wd 64bit linux autostart  (Read 762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Weather YYC
wd 64bit linux autostart
« on: March 05, 2018, 03:12:16 AM »
Hi, I am new to linux and am trying to setup WD on a linux box. I have it running, but I would like it to run when I boot. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

Offline francisguaitrapa

  • Posts: 12
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 58.0
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2018, 12:43:14 PM »
The easiest way is using Cron.

Code: [Select]
:$ crontab -e -u root
And then add a line:
Code: [Select]
@reboot /home/user/consolewd/consolewd

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2018, 03:46:20 AM »
no joy on that one.

BTW. I am using the GUI version (if that makes a difference)

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2018, 06:34:08 PM »
you would need to change to the name of that program instead

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2018, 02:53:54 AM »
Sorry, Not working.

I'm a linux newbie but if I run weatherdisplay like this
sudo ./weatherdisplay
then password
should I have to enter that in the cron some how?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2018, 03:17:50 AM »
what password are you refering to?

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2018, 03:32:29 AM »
logon password.
everytime I use sudo it asks me to enter a password

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2018, 03:49:40 AM »
that will be a way to get around that (google is your friend)

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 26.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2018, 06:36:13 PM »
I have this partly solved.
It starts but will not read the data from station. I need to start it with sudo to get it to start logging data

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2018, 09:51:24 PM »
there should be a way to get it to start as sudo auto
maybe via a batch script

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2018, 02:31:21 AM »
for now I am just to new to linux to try something like that.
I will have to learn more before I try

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2018, 06:55:01 PM »
google has lots of linux stuff
as people ask questions
if you pitch the question right to google you should get an answer :)

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 369
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 26.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: wd 64bit linux autostart
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2018, 09:30:27 PM »
Yes, there are hundreds of articles  on this. I just have to find the one that works.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,089
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.186
    • Weather Display