cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Segmentation fault  (Read 1241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 215
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2018, 12:01:32 PM »
I suggest you try Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.  That is working fine for me with the 9th February build and WD runs happily with the default Unity desktop.

I also have a VNC server installed which uses the XFCE desktop.  WD crashes if I try to change any settings under XFCE, but Brian has written a WD Client which allows remote viewing of the main screen using XFCE.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,468
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
    • Weather Display
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2018, 06:06:26 PM »
Quote
No way... I tried in /home/Documents/wdisplay,
I did mean for you to run it from there
you can install and run it from any where
but that is where WD tries to save its data and settings files
what shows in the file
location.txt

Offline jmviper

  • Posts: 60
  • Murcia, SPAIN
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.119
    • MeteoArchena
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2018, 11:58:36 PM »
I did mean for you to run it from there
you can install and run it from any where
but that is where WD tries to save its data and settings files
what shows in the file
location.txt

That's the clue... it contains /root/Documents/wdisplay/ and I've changed that path but when WD starts it changed to the default path again so I've created /root/Documents/wdisplay directory and it worked

Thanks for the help and I hope this will help another newbie in Linux like me  :wink:

 
  Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
 www.meteoarchena.es

Offline jmviper

  • Posts: 60
  • Murcia, SPAIN
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.119
    • MeteoArchena
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2018, 12:20:31 AM »
I suggest you try Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.  That is working fine for me with the 9th February build and WD runs happily with the default Unity desktop.

I also have a VNC server installed which uses the XFCE desktop.  WD crashes if I try to change any settings under XFCE, but Brian has written a WD Client which allows remote viewing of the main screen using XFCE.

Thank you for your suggestion but it was sounding strange to me that WD was not working neither latest Ubuntu 17.10 nor Debian 9 Stretch. Finally it was a location issue with ini files.

Greetings from Spain
 
  Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
 www.meteoarchena.es

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 69
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2018, 12:31:48 AM »
Hi
I had the same problem but found that if you just double clicked the 'weatherdisplay' icon it starts OK.
I had it running an old ws2307 that only gave me indoor and outdoor temps and humidity.
hope this helps
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 69
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2018, 02:14:25 AM »
Hi
BTW I am running Debian 9 at the moment and have just loaded WH1080 on it  and is OK ....looks like it wont run as root, a good idea?
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,468
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
    • Weather Display
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2018, 03:14:13 AM »
as long as the /home/Documents/wdisplay/
folder and the settings files have the right privaledges it should be OK

Offline gumnut

  • Posts: 69
  • Wattamondara NSW Australia
    • blatchyj
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Wattamondara weather
Re: Segmentation fault
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2018, 06:54:03 AM »
just checked and it seems OK
Debian Stretch  AMD x64
Firefox ESR

 

cumulus