cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Setting execution (?) permissions  (Read 271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AZ Kiwi

  • Posts: 838
  • Maricopa, Sonoran Desert, Arizona
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Maricopa, Arizona - Edge of the Sonoran Desert
Setting execution (?) permissions
« on: February 15, 2018, 12:06:51 PM »
I updated my XP-SP3 production and test system to B66 yesterday and I'm having a couple of issues.

I used the .zip file, extracted to c:/wdisplay and it worked fine, but now I am getting windows alert/permission boxes popping up asking me if I want to run this program etc.  A few questions --

- will failing to respond to one - I found one this morning waiting for response since last evening - cause WD to not continue its processing, as it was waiting over the midnight reset time frame, it did not reset the daily values for yesterday.  I think I can do the daily reset now, or soon, and then adjust yesterdays  and todays rainfall totals - correct?
- is there a way to remove this permission asking by changing any settings within XP - if so how please?
- is there a way to set all the cronxxxxxx jobs in Wdisplay to run as admin by default?

- will this be a 'normal' experience each time I update the WDisplay .exe's?

Anything else I should know?

Thanks

Ken
 
Station: http://weather.azkiwis.net
CWOP: http://findu.aprsfl.net/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=CW9664
No weather guru by a long shot, but smart enough to stay out of the desert sun...

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 930
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2018, 01:55:38 PM »
If updating a program from a .zip update then yes Windows will ask if it is ok to run the program. It is a very long time since I used XP but there should be a tick box saying something like "always ask before running this program" on the pop-up and unticking that before comfirming it is OK to run will stop it asking until the next time you update the program.

Only a full install will install programs properly so the pop-ups don't appear but I recall you can't do full installs on XP - only via the .zip update.

Yes, I had an experience a few years back where WD did stop processing when waiting for one of these pop-ups. It was for the email warning program that I had updated some time before. There were no alerts or records broken to trigger the program until a day after I went on holiday (Murphy's Law) and I only knew about it when people emailed me to say the weather data had stopped. I had stupidly forgotten to setup any form of remote access to my PC so it had to wait until my return nearly 2 weeks later. I clicked OK to confirm it was ok to run the program and WD resumed collecting data, but of course there were 12 days of data missing :(
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline AZ Kiwi

  • Posts: 838
  • Maricopa, Sonoran Desert, Arizona
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Maricopa, Arizona - Edge of the Sonoran Desert
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2018, 02:14:49 PM »
Ah, thanks Martyn...

So I have 2 options then. Upgrade a 1gb netbook to win7 or win 10 ($$$$) or

after an update zip go into WD and individually give each .exe the permission to run.  Figure that's probably going to involve starting each .exe and unticking the box.  A messy way, but about the only option I have I suppose.


Thx

Ken
Station: http://weather.azkiwis.net
CWOP: http://findu.aprsfl.net/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=CW9664
No weather guru by a long shot, but smart enough to stay out of the desert sun...

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,668
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2018, 02:33:41 PM »
If it's an exclusively WD box then you should have a third option (although I can't argue that moving on from XP isn't a good idea) which is to turn off User Account Control (UAC) which is the source of the warnings. 

Offline AZ Kiwi

  • Posts: 838
  • Maricopa, Sonoran Desert, Arizona
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Maricopa, Arizona - Edge of the Sonoran Desert
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2018, 03:19:55 PM »
Niko,
yes it is exclusively a weather box, but digging thru your link and my settings in control panel, it's not available in XP

Thanks Tho'

Ken
Station: http://weather.azkiwis.net
CWOP: http://findu.aprsfl.net/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=CW9664
No weather guru by a long shot, but smart enough to stay out of the desert sun...

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 930
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 58.0
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2018, 04:11:59 PM »
FWIW, I still get the "do you want to run this program" type popup even though I have set UAC to the mimimum "never notify" setting on this Win7 box.
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,668
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2018, 04:12:37 PM »
So much for google  :roll: Sorry  :oops:

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,668
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2018, 05:32:42 PM »
FWIW, I still get the "do you want to run this program" type popup even though I have set UAC to the mimimum "never notify" setting on this Win7 box.

Is that the popup with the always ask/allow box, or is it the one asking if you want to allow the program to make changes?

Offline Martyn

  • Davis VP2+ FARS/solar/UV
  • Posts: 930
  • Bristol, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.167
    • Horfield/Filton, Bristol, UK weather station
Re: Setting execution (?) permissions
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2018, 07:49:51 PM »
Is that the popup with the always ask/allow box, or is it the one asking if you want to allow the program to make changes?

AFAIK it is the "open file - security warning" type box. I believe there is a setting that can be changed that circumvents it, but I have never been inclined to do it. Also I don't update WD very often these days anyway.
Martyn,
Bristol, UK

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HorfieldWeather
FB: https://www.facebook.com/bristolweather
CWOP: CW2888
WU: IBRISTOL3