cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: New to WXSIM  (Read 661 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3322.0
New to WXSIM
« on: January 21, 2018, 03:25:35 PM »
Hi all,

Id like to know if and for what time i can use the free versions of it.
Im living in the Netherlands and as far as i can see its only working for ATL+.
So is it useable in my area?
Im using WD and dont use a weather website.
Can i use WXSIM just with WD data to use in WXSIM?

Cheers😁
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 03:31:14 PM by Asperitas »

Offline broadstairs

  • Stuart
  • Posts: 7,010
  • Broadstairs, Kent, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 56.0.2
    • Broadstairs
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 03:45:36 PM »
For WXSim to work properly it needs to download files from the internet as well as using your WD data. Not having a website is not an issue but the PC running WXSim must be connected to the internet. It only really works on your area once Tom (the author) has customised it for your location, once this is done it will work for your area, it's not really a trial in the normal sense prior to the customisation but just shows you the kind of output and allows comparison with real forecasts for the ATL area.

I've been using it for some years now and find it very good.

Stuart

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der Kuil
  • Posts: 794
  • Leuven Belgium CEST
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.132
    • My private weatherstation
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 03:52:24 PM »
Hi all,

Id like to know if and for what time i can use the free versions of it.
Im living in the Netherlands and as far as i can see its only working for ATL+.
So is it useable in my area?
Im using WD and dont use a weather website.
Can i use WXSIM just with WD data to use in WXSIM?

Cheers😁
Yes you can use the paid version for any location. It will be customized  by the author to your location and weather-program.
You can use the .csv and two .txt files also without a website in EXCEL or a word-processing program.

If you have questions and want answers in Dutch you can ask them on the HWA forum where multiple WXSIM users are present
Wim
Vantage VUE with a WLIP used for https://weer.sluispark.be/
Vantage VP2 with a USB logger/Meteobridge for https://www.weerstation-herent.be/

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3322.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2018, 03:58:05 PM »
Thanks for the reply :D
So am i right i first have to buy it (not sure which version....) in order to see if and how its working with my station data and my area?
Where does WXSIM gets his online data from and how important is my stationdata in order to make a forecast?

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3322.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2018, 03:59:09 PM »
Sorry, i crossed your post Wim :D

Offline broadstairs

  • Stuart
  • Posts: 7,010
  • Broadstairs, Kent, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 56.0.2
    • Broadstairs
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2018, 04:03:30 PM »
It has a second program called wxsimate which downloads METAR, SYNOP, Buoy, GFS, RAOB and Ozone data from the net relative to your location and without this stuff it really cannot do much at all, the WD data is really fine tuning stuff. All this other data gives all sorts of meteorological data which it needs in order to do a proper forecast, most of this data is obtained from servers in the USA as places like our UK Met Office charge huge bucks for the same data but in the USA it is free  :roll:  :wink:  #-o

Stuart

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3322.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2018, 04:11:48 PM »
It seems that WXSIM Professional mode - Enhanced customization has the most posibilities/ is the most accurate?

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,605
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2018, 11:08:34 PM »
Thanks for your interest in WXSIM!  (I'm the author!)

It is indeed the sort of thing where you have to buy it to try it for your location.  ATL is there as a demo so you can try it for Atlanta (or a site in Australia that I also have as a demo).  This is not some deliberate business decision, it's rather the very nature of the program.  To get it to work for a speicifc location, I have to spend a few hours researching your climate, building data files, and testing and tweaking the data to optimize performance.

It does a number of things on its own, but also heavily uses both real time and model forecast data from the internet, and from your home weather station.  All that goes together into making the forecasts, and you have lots of options for how to use the various types of data.

One thing about the pricing options: you can start with the least expensive option and upgrade later, spending exactly the same money you would have if you'd bought everything up front.  However, if you've got a year or two of station data, and think there may be something unique about your local weather and climate (if it's different from some other local sites), it's often a good idea to let me do the "enhanced customization" initially.

Feel free to email me (or ask here) with more questions. eburger@aol.com

Tom

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3322.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2018, 06:19:14 PM »
Hi Tom,

Thank you very much for taking time to respond, much apreciated  :D
Ive just some more questions regarding the forecasting.

1 How often can/will the forecast be updated?
2 Whats the resolution regarding the forecast and for example the development or course of a (very local) thunderstorm within
    minutes/hour(s)? Will WXSIM "see" it in realtime (graph or data) and adjust the forecast for the next minutes/hours or is that too,
    lets say, micro...?

Cheers :D

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 162
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 65.0.3325.16
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2018, 12:37:11 PM »
Maybe you missed previous post Tom? :D

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,605
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 58.0
Re: New to WXSIM
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2018, 05:03:07 AM »
Sorry  just checking back!  I check email more promptly (every day) than I do the forum, so feel free to write me directly at eburger@aol.com.

WXSIM can run forecasts whenever you want, and up to every hour in auto run mode, though I personally just have it doing five forecasts a day.

The time resolution is just minutes regarding native calculations like solar radiation (a function of sun angle), response to precipitation onset, etc., but it's about 3 hours regarding weather changes (wind shifts, most cloud cover changes, etc.) becasue that's the resolution of the GFS data which it imports and largely relies upon for those variables.

Tom