cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Memory requirements for 64bit gui  (Read 1053 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 67
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.2.1
  • Safari 11.0
Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« on: December 26, 2017, 03:14:10 AM »
Is there a memory requiremebt for the new 64bit gui version?   I am running ubuntu 16,04 with 4g of ram. This pc is dedicated to my weather station so weather display is the only thing i run on it. My problem is that after about 3 days my CWOP uploads stop and the gui becomes unresponsive to mouse clicks, though it still appears to collect data.

I have been monitoring performance with the linux top command. It appears weather display slowly uses all the memory .  The first three screen shots show the memory use increasing over a period of days.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017, 03:49:16 AM »
I have been working on that issue
are you using the latest version available?

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 67
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.2.1
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2017, 03:53:18 AM »
Im running build 292. I think iam a version or two behind.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2017, 03:53:46 AM »
use the latest and then let me know

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 67
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.2.1
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2017, 03:55:25 AM »
Ok. Will download that and let it run a few days. Thanks.

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 215
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2017, 07:12:00 AM »
I am running Build 295 on Ubuntu 16.04 with 16GB of RAM.  After about 64 hours running, WD for Linux b295 consumes all of the memory on my system and then starts into the swap file.  I am about to send the details to Brian.

My workaround currently is a daily reboot at 3am using a Cron task.  If you're unfamiliar with how to do that, let me know and I'll post the details.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2017, 07:21:22 AM »
so its still has a memory leak
so back to the drawing board

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 67
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.108
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2017, 12:52:50 PM »
Grantk, could you post the details on your daily reboot.  Sounds like the easiest workaround for now.  Thanks.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2017, 01:22:41 AM »
OK, what I have discovered is
when you move the mouse over the graphs on the main screen
that produces a memory leak

that fact has been sending me on wild goose chases!

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 67
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.2.1
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2017, 01:29:44 AM »
I just tried it and you are correct. You can watch the memory use jump up quickly as the mouse is moved over the graph. However, i would add that even if you dont do snything with the mouse the memory use still goes up albeit much more slowly.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2017, 01:36:46 AM »
the memory jump with the mouse over the graphs problem does not occur on the mac version (just tested that)
and yet the same code is used, so there is a problem I think with the linux compiler somwhere

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 215
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2017, 01:39:14 AM »
OK, what I have discovered is
when you move the mouse over the graphs on the main screen
that produces a memory leak

that fact has been sending me on wild goose chases!
Yes, I have noticed that after I open some menu options and then close them, the memory usage remains higher than it was before I did that.

However, as BrianF7408 says above, the memory leak is still there even if I don't do anything.  99% of the time, WD is running headless with TV switched off and no mouse enabled.  And yet it still consumes memory at the rate of about 145MB per hour, as per the figures I sent you.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
    • Weather Display
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2017, 01:41:30 AM »
which I think is a bug with the linux compiler (which is still being developed by the author) and how it handles graphics etc

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 215
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2017, 01:44:16 AM »
Grantk, could you post the details on your daily reboot.  Sounds like the easiest workaround for now.  Thanks.
Here you go:

1) Edit the Crontab file using: sudo crontab -e

2) Put this command at the end of the file to reboot the system at 3am every day:  0 3 * * * /sbin/reboot

3) Save the file and a message 'crontab: installing new crontab' should appear.

4) Restart cron with: sudo /etc/init.d/cron restart

That's it.  When 3am next rolls around, your system will reboot and restore the memory usage to about 900MB, give or take a little.

I take it you've worked out how to start WD automatically after reboot?

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 215
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.84
Re: Memory requirements for 64bit gui
« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2017, 01:45:45 AM »
which I think is a bug with the linux compiler (which is still being developed by the author) and how it handles graphics etc
Looks like there's nothing more you can do to fix it for now.  Many thanks for all your efforts on this :)