cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: working IP cam, not working in WD  (Read 1494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #30 on: November 19, 2017, 03:14:05 AM »
OK, lets just see if you can connect with the camera at all. You should just be able to put the IP address in your browser and that should connect to your camera and get you to the login screen.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,636
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #31 on: November 19, 2017, 04:15:23 AM »
is the 192.168.09
correct
as the refuse to connect means that is not correct?

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #32 on: November 19, 2017, 04:21:26 AM »
OK, lets just see if you can connect with the camera at all. You should just be able to put the IP address in your browser and that should connect to your camera and get you to the login screen.

Well, been using the camera for three years, uploading to WU, I can see live vid on my pc with the Foscan IP Cam Client; sure I can connect to the camera. Just not by putting the IP address in a browser window.  I'm not sure what login screen you are referring to.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #33 on: November 19, 2017, 04:35:53 AM »
is the 192.168.09
correct
as the refuse to connect means that is not correct?

I get the camera IP address from the Foscam IPCam Client software, as shown in the screenshot foscam status 2.JPG in Reply #18 of this thread.  I've turned off firewall, antivirus; I don't know what the refuse to connect means - that's the $64,000,000 question.

Would there be an alternative method to determine the camera's IP address besides the Foscam IPCam Client software?


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,636
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #34 on: November 19, 2017, 04:37:59 AM »
it might show in your router config screen, connected clients

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #35 on: November 19, 2017, 05:03:52 AM »
Well, been using the camera for three years, uploading to WU, I can see live vid on my pc with the Foscan IP Cam Client; sure I can connect to the camera. Just not by putting the IP address in a browser window.  I'm not sure what login screen you are referring to.

Did you use http://192.168.09:88 or https://192.168.09:443

According to the manual for your camera it says it needs the port number after the IP address. The manual is located at http://foscam.us/downloads/User%20Manual_FI9804P.pdf


If you can connect to your camera you will get the login screen that is on your camera where you can put in your username and password. The reason for doing it this way is find out if you can connect to your camera via an IP address. Once you know you can connect that way you can than try to figure out what commands are needed after the IP address to access the video stream or static jpg image.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #36 on: November 19, 2017, 05:22:07 AM »
it might show in your router config screen, connected clients

I see 12 clients on my router, three have no host name.  when I paste one of those IP addresses into a browser window, it shows my A/V receiver, the other two just show the "This site can't be reached" message.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #37 on: November 19, 2017, 05:43:33 AM »
Did you use http://192.168.09:88 or https://192.168.09:443

According to the manual for your camera it says it needs the port number after the IP address. The manual is located at http://foscam.us/downloads/User%20Manual_FI9804P.pdf


If you can connect to your camera you will get the login screen that is on your camera where you can put in your username and password. The reason for doing it this way is find out if you can connect to your camera via an IP address. Once you know you can connect that way you can than try to figure out what commands are needed after the IP address to access the video stream or static jpg image.

I've been trying :88, since that is the port I see in the url of the Foscam IPCam Client software that shows streaming video from the camera.

Thanks for the user manual.  It is version 1.1, whereas the user manual on the cd that came with the camera when I bought it about three years ago is version 1.0.

When the Foscam IPCam Client software opens in Firefox, I enter my username and password in the login screen.  Since it connects using the Foscam IPCam Client software, why does it not connect with the same IP address in a browser window?  I guess that's what I'm trying to figure out, eh?

Continuing thanks.

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 13
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3261.0
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #38 on: November 19, 2017, 06:11:06 AM »
...you could try a factory reset?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,636
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #39 on: November 19, 2017, 06:44:17 AM »
they should be called fossy cam ,lol

hopefully someone has this working can chime in?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2017, 06:46:34 AM by Weather Display »

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #40 on: November 19, 2017, 07:24:24 AM »
...you could try a factory reset?

Currently enjoying the last few weeks of seeing this camera's view on my wx station page on WU, before they dump webcams on Dec 15 https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KIDBOISE93#history

After that maybe factory reset, maybe new cam.  Really hoping for WD to work.

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 13
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3261.0
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #41 on: November 19, 2017, 08:39:37 AM »
Did you use the foscam ip camera tool?

I got my foscam ip camera working (ffmpeg h264) with the following url:

rtsp://username:password@here the whatsmyip adress.88/videoMain
Use this adress in VLC player...
rtsp://admin:123@192.168.1.11:88/videoMain
rtsp:// @192.168.1.11:88/videoMain
rtsp://:123@192.168.1.11:88/videoMain
rtsp://admin@192.168.1.11:88/videoMain
Open the VLC, and go to MediaOpen Network Stream option, then enter the URL into VLC.

(From memory,  the actual login specs are written on the camera...)


Canít access IP camera in internet
There are some reasons:
1 ActiveX controller is not installed correctly
2 The port which camera used is blocked by Firewall or Anti-virus software. Please change another portnumber and try again.
3 Port forwarding is not successful.Check these settings and make sure they are correct
« Last Edit: November 19, 2017, 08:56:47 AM by Asperitas »

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #42 on: November 19, 2017, 06:35:21 PM »

I got my foscam ip camera working (ffmpeg h264) with the following url:

rtsp://username:password@here the whatsmyip adress.88/videoMain


when I type that string in a browser window it launches a search engine.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,636
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #43 on: November 19, 2017, 06:44:02 PM »
did you replace the whatsmyip etc with your ip address from that web site?
and replace the user/pass with your actual use/pass?

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #44 on: November 19, 2017, 06:57:31 PM »
did you replace the whatsmyip etc with your ip address from that web site?
and replace the user/pass with your actual use/pass?

I did.  Also changed the period before the port with a colon; figured it was a typo. Used my pc IP, starting with 159, not the camera IP. In Chrome it launched a search engine, in Firefox it generated a message that Firefox doesn't know how to open this address because the protocol (rtsp) isn't associated with any program.  Maybe there is a browser setting I need to change.