cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: working IP cam, not working in WD  (Read 1800 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2017, 08:15:57 PM »
you will need to replace the username and password with your actual ones

yes, did insert actual username and password, as well as hankster's suggestions.

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 14
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3261.0
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2017, 08:16:58 PM »
that does give your local IP

Yes i know, but i got my foscam ip cam working in "blue iris" software with my local ip.
Its worth a try i thought, thats why i responded.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2017, 08:21:05 PM »
doesn't I meant to say.i.e its not your 192.168 type IP address
its just the IP address that your router assigns for incoming connections

@cinnabar, first thing is to get it working in a browser window, the url, with the cgi click etc

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #18 on: November 18, 2017, 09:06:16 PM »
you will need to replace the username and password with your actual ones
also see if you can get the needed URL to work in a browser window first

Please see the attached two screenshots from the Foscam IPCam Client that I use in an old version of Firefox.  One is of live video from this camera, showing 192.168.0.3:88 and the other is from the Status tab, showing the camera's IP address as 192.168.0.9.

I think I have tried all possible permutations with the cgi etc stuff by now in the Webcam Capture IP Setup and in a Chrome browser tab, but nothing has worked yet.

 






Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2017, 09:10:47 PM »
but that screen shot of your firefox browser only shows the IP cam client url
and not a url that is your local ip + cgi click+ username/pass etc (as per the link that hankster put up)
you need to try and get that type of url working in a browser window

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2017, 09:28:35 PM »
but that screen shot of your firefox browser only shows the IP cam client url
and not a url that is your local ip + cgi click+ username/pass etc (as per the link that hankster put up)
you need to try and get that type of url working in a browser window

yep, I think I get that, the screenshot showing url of 192.168.0.3:88 is specific to that FOSCAM program called IPCam Client.  The IP address of the camera itself is 192.168.0.9, and that's the one I need to use in Web Cam Capture vers 10.05 and a browser window.

When you say "local ip..." you are referring to the camera IP, correct? I'll keep trying.  Turned off windows firewall but that didn't do it either.


Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2017, 09:37:22 PM »
a url that is your local ip + cgi click+ username/pass etc (as per the link that hankster put up)
you need to try and get that type of url working in a browser window

Unless you see something I typed incorrectly in the attached screenshots, I'm not sure what next to try.


(But I did finally receive a PurpleAir sensor today, I think I will go install it now!)

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2017, 10:12:04 PM »
that first screen shot is how you need to be setting it
but I think you are supposed to not have the [ and ] around the username/passwords

Offline hcorrin

  • Posts: 1,180
  • Ballaugh Isle of Man GB
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Ballaugh Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2017, 10:40:31 PM »
based on hanksters link and the model you posted in first post
for a jpg try http;//ip address/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=[USERNAME]&pwd=[PASSWORD]

for video stream try http://ip address/videostream.asf?user=[USERNAME]&pwd=[PASSWORD]&resolution=64&rate=0

and as Brian said remove [] from username and password
« Last Edit: November 18, 2017, 10:49:05 PM by hcorrin »

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2017, 10:46:40 PM »
Yes, remove the [ & ]

You can just put that URL in your browser to see if the stream comes up.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2017, 10:48:17 PM by hankster »

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2017, 11:29:42 PM »
Thanks everyone for your time.  Still not working after removing the brackets around username and password, screenshot attached.


but, Boise.purpleair.com   :)


Heading downtown for a pint........

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,697
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2017, 11:39:17 PM »
you should be using this format
http://ip address/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=[USERNAME]&pwd=[PASSWORD]

i.e the cgi-bin format
(remove the [] and set your user/pass and set your ip address etc)

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #27 on: November 19, 2017, 12:31:41 AM »
What might also try is to put :88 after the IP address.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #28 on: November 19, 2017, 02:21:20 AM »
you should be using this format
http://ip address/cgi-bin/CGIProxy.fcgi?cmd=snapPicture2&usr=[USERNAME]&pwd=[PASSWORD]

i.e the cgi-bin format
(remove the [] and set your user/pass and set your ip address etc)

Thanks, but nope.  See two screenshots attached.  Gotta be something simple that I'm doing wrong.   :hathat25:

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #29 on: November 19, 2017, 03:01:01 AM »
Try the URLs I gave with the :88 in it.

 

cumulus