cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: working IP cam, not working in WD  (Read 1776 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
working IP cam, not working in WD
« on: November 17, 2017, 04:21:39 AM »
Foscam FI9804P working for several years, can see it live through Foscam's IPCam Client.

Using Web Cam Capture vers 10.05, I input correct url with port, input authentication, receive repeated "[ERROR] failed to connect to IP Camera. IP Camera is down or the IPCamera URL is wrong."

Thanks for suggestions.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2017, 07:02:17 AM »
what you are actually entering as the url?

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2017, 12:45:09 PM »
Here is a list of commands needed for Foscam cameras. Find your camera and use that as the URL.

https://www.ispyconnect.com/man.aspx?n=Foscam

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2017, 04:50:32 PM »
what you are actually entering as the url?

I'm entering the IP address as shown in the session status window of the Foscam web app I use to see the live video feed, 192.xxx.x.x, with and without a port number in format :xx

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2017, 05:13:22 PM »
I'm entering the IP address as shown in the session status window of the Foscam web app I use to see the live video feed, 192.xxx.x.x, with and without a port number in format :xx

Also with and without http:// in front.  Same error msgs.

Also, in Network Streaming tab, Network Streaming disabled radio button was selected by default.  I just switched that to direct network streaming button, but still getting the [ERROR] failed to start preview message.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2017, 06:01:04 PM »
if you could post  a screen shot, that would be good

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2017, 06:29:24 PM »
Screenshot attached.  For screenshot, I removed my username and password. Have tried with and without preceding http:// and with and without port number at the end of the url.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2017, 06:40:29 PM »
you need the cgi-bin etc part added on after the IP address

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,256
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2017, 07:06:17 PM »
Try

http://[IP Address}/videostream.cgi?user=[USERNAME]&pwd=[PASSWORD]

Do not put anything in the username and password sections

or try

http://[IP Address]/videostream.cgi

with the username and password filled in.

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2017, 07:24:52 PM »
Thanks Hankster, neither of those work.

The camera is streaming fine through the Foscam web app; maybe one of the network settings there?


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2017, 07:37:34 PM »
if you could post a screen shot of what you have entered now...
note that since its a local IP, no one from outside can do anything (re hiding username etc)
(unless you have used port forwarding)

Offline cinnabar

  • Posts: 28
  • Ambient WS-1001
  • Idaho, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2017, 07:56:10 PM »
IP Cam Setup2.jpg, attached to my Thanks hankster message above. I tried both his suggestions as well as several others from the Foscam page he linked to earlier.

Or IP Cam Setup3.jpg attached to this msg.

Thanks.


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2017, 08:01:16 PM »
you will need to replace the username and password with your actual ones
also see if you can get the needed URL to work in a browser window first

Offline Asperitas

  • Posts: 14
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 7.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3261.0
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2017, 08:05:45 PM »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,690
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: working IP cam, not working in WD
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2017, 08:13:21 PM »
that does give your local IP