cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage  (Read 461 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« on: October 12, 2017, 01:42:29 AM »
Brian,

I upgraded my display to a 4K.  Big Headache.  After 2 hours of working I have a usable display, but I can find no way to make the contents of the wind gauges smaller.

Can you please give me some guidance?

Thanks


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 12:53:36 PM »
Brian,

Is there anything you can do to help me reduce the size of the numbers in the wind gauge?

Thanks

Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2017, 10:22:34 PM »
I would have to add that ability

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2017, 11:43:25 PM »
Brian -

if I change the resolution back to basic 1920 X 1080, and reset the screen size to start over, the numbers are still big, so I thought is might be a stuck registry setting....

Thank you


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2017, 12:35:00 AM »
as a test you could try an install to a different location and create a file there called 2wd.txt and so WD starts up like new..and see what it looks like there

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2017, 02:15:09 AM »
Will do that tomorrow and let you know the results.


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,801
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.62
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2017, 02:52:45 AM »
Be sure to have the 2wd.txt file there before you let WD start  :wink:

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2017, 01:57:54 PM »
OK, did a rename of Wdisplay folder and also renamed registry key, installed a full WD 57, and Brian, you are correct - I got the same result.  See attachment.  Am now back to original files.

Guess I will have to live with this till an additional font tweak is added.

Thanks


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2017, 07:52:19 PM »
with that 2nd install, WD should start up with no internet settings etc
was that the case?
it should also start up looking normal
not like what you are seeing, I would have thought
but maybe you have set windows to use large fonts?

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2017, 10:15:44 PM »
I did a clean install on 2 machines - both had the same results.  On my WD machine on Win 10 the scaling is set to 125%.  On the other - my user machine, the scaling is set to 150% - both on twin LG 4K flat panel displays.  The size of the numbers in the dials were the same on both machines.  All other fonts and numbers are fine with setting WD screen size to 150% of normal via the setup menus - set screen size to % of normal.


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2017, 10:33:39 PM »
what is the scaling size /where are you setting that?

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2017, 02:07:15 AM »
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - right mouse on desktop/display settings/ and then here( see attachment)

Craig
« Last Edit: October 23, 2017, 02:13:09 AM by TheBreeze »
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2017, 02:21:06 AM »
right oh
I will work on being able to set the font size or at least scaling of the windspeed numbers etc  and let you know

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2017, 03:29:27 AM »
added the ability to adjust the number size on the main screen wind gauges now to the latest .zip update
(see that new ability in the colour setup, main screen, extra settings)

Offline TheBreeze

  • Craig
  • Posts: 841
  • On Lake Ontario, Rochester, N.Y. - Davis VP2 Plus
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • WDL
Re: Resize of Numbers in Wind Guage
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2017, 01:26:59 PM »
Brian - the fix worked like a charm!

Thank you.


Craig
Lake Ontario Weather  www.cdcpcconsulting.com/Webster_Weather
AMD FX 6300 6 Core with 8 GB Mem, 320Gb Raptor SATA Raid,  NVidia GT 240 PCIe Video, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit dedicated Weather Machine
Running WD 10.37S58 WDL 6.09