cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Post data to wunderground from terminal  (Read 1713 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 10.1.2
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2017, 07:06:23 AM »
You are genious. Thanks! I suppose it uploads to WU as well?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2017, 07:36:04 AM »
it does
make sure you have ticked that you have the purple air sensor under setup, advanced/misc
and make sure you have the latest update

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2017, 08:24:08 PM »
I've been sending the PM2.5 data to WU for a week but I can't see it in their records. WD (under WU setup) shows that it does send the AqPM2.5 tag so I suppose this should be OK?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2017, 08:36:43 PM »
yeah, same problem here
so what was all this about wunderground in partnership with purple air etc but they do not actually show the air quality data you send them as per their own api?

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.3.5
  • Safari 9.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2017, 08:47:35 PM »
Agree. If I find time, I'll set up another station ID tomorrow and send only PM2.5 and Ozone to it. Let's see then.

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2017, 08:13:17 PM »
if you can create a file called airquality2.txt, where WD is installed, and have in it format like
"PM2_5Value":"2.5"
then WD will pick up that value

I could also make WD look for a ozone value in that file
e.g use format
"OZONEValue":"2.5"

Just to follow up on this; I've looked at the data log today and I see that WD is not taking the file content reliably. I get lots of zero (0) readings even if file content is different (it is a floating point value, e.g. 5.6789). I compared WD's day log with raw plot (with gnuplot) to confirm my raw data is OK.
It's not urgent but I thought to ask you here. I've checked for file permissions and should be OK.

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12.6
  • Safari 11.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2017, 04:18:20 PM »
Any opinion to the thing I'm observing?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2017, 06:28:48 PM »
the latest update (.zip) WD will not not use a value if picked up as zero (hopefully)

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 56.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2017, 05:36:29 AM »
Hmm... I did use the latest (Oct.9) build but there are still 0 readings even if the actual airquality2.txt contains a value greater than 0. I've been monitoring for a couple of days.
With Purple Air, it is probably more reliable? I'm trying to avoid the cost of the Purple Air and just use this cheap dust sensor :-)

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2017, 05:52:49 AM »
if you could email me the file used when WD picks up a zero reading?

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 150
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 56.0
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2017, 09:15:33 PM »
I think I have resolved the issue. Arduino was sending the 20-second average data to a RPi. Here, the data was further averaged by 3 samples (=1 min in total) and then written to an airquality2.txt file. It was a floating point number with no restriction in the decimal places. When there were only 2 ( I think), WD picked the number OK and calculated the AQI. When there were more than 2 decimal places, it took 0. I changed my script to limit the decimal places to 2 and now it works OK.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,687
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Post data to wunderground from terminal
« Reply #26 on: November 03, 2017, 06:05:44 PM »
that will be it

 

cumulus