cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality  (Read 11694 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline donj51

  • Posts: 6
  • Garner, Iowa USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #165 on: December 07, 2017, 09:10:18 PM »
Can you direct me to find the PurpleAir sensor ID and the file where the new tags for the PurpleAir is?

Here is my sensor: https://www.purpleair.com/map?&zoom=15&lat=43.0993496&lng=-93.61029459999997&clustersize=30&orderby=L&latr=0.028045270954208945&lngr=0.08166790008544922

Attached is my airquality.txt:

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,331
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #166 on: December 07, 2017, 09:52:31 PM »
Garner, Iowa "ID":4874

Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,782
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #167 on: December 07, 2017, 10:59:09 PM »
New tags for testtags.txt are:

Code: [Select]
//Air Quality
//==========
$purpleair2_5 = '%purpleair2_5%'; //Value of 2.5 micron particle measure from purple air sensor (see in WD under setup, advanced/misc)
$purpleair1_0 = '%purpleair1_0%'; //Value of 1.0 micron particle measure from purple air sensor
$purpleair10_0 = '%purpleair10_0%'; //Value of 10.0 micron particle measure from purple air sensor
$purpleairaqi = '%purpleairaqi%'; //AQI (air quality index) value from purple air sensor
$purpleairaqidescription = '%purpleairaqidescription%  '; //AQI description (e.g Good, moderate)
$purpleair60minmean10_0 = '%60minmeanpurpleair10_0%'; //Last 60 minutes average PM 10.0 value
$purpleair60minmean2_5 = '%60minmeanpurpleair2_5%'; //Last 60 minutes average PM 2.5 value
$purpleair24hourmean10_0 = '%24hourmeanpurpleair10_0%'; //Last 24 hours average PM 10.0 value
$purpleair24hourmean2_5 = '%24hourmeanpurpleair2_5%'; //Last 24 hours average PM 2.5 value
$purpleair60minmin10_0 = '%60minminpurpleair10_0%'; //Min value in last 60 minutes PM 10.0 value
$purpleair24hourmin10_0 = '%24hourminpurpleair10_0%'; //Min value in last 24 hours PM 10.0 value
$purpleair60minmin2_5 = '%60minminpurpleair2_5%'; //Min value in last 60 minutes PM 2.5 value
$purpleair24hourmin2_5 = '%24hourminpurpleair2_5%'; //Min value in last 24 hours PM 2.5 value
$purpleair60minmax10_0 = '%60minmaxpurpleair10_0%'; //Max value in last 60 minutes PM 10.0 value
$purpleair24hourmax10_0 = '%24hourmaxpurpleair10_0%'; //Max value in last 24 hours PM 10.0 value
$purpleair60minmax2_5 = '%60minmaxpurpleair2_5%'; //Max value in last 60 minutes PM 2.5 value
$purpleair24hourmax2_5 = '%24hourmaxpurpleair2_5%'; //Max value in last 24 hours PM 2.5 value
New graphic of aqichart.gif (graph) and aqi.gif (gauge) also available.
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 180
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #168 on: December 08, 2017, 05:37:25 PM »
Just curious...   :oops:

I know that Weather Display produces those two data files: 'airquality.txt' and 'airquality2.txt'.

Since March, when I purchased my Purple Air sensor (and before the facility was added/included into Weather Display), I have been extracting the data from my sensor using a PHP script that downloads (directly from the sensor) and processes the information.

What I am wondering is if the two data files produced by Weather Display (those mentioned above) are automatically uploaded and how often - it would really be interesting if the two data files were automatically produced and automatically uploaded at the same location and at the same frequency as the 'clientraw.txt' near-real-time data file.
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,486
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #169 on: December 08, 2017, 05:47:01 PM »
uploaded to your web site?
they aren't
but you could
via the general ftp upload

Offline saratogaWX

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,782
  • Ken True
  • Saratoga, CA, USA 37:16:28N, 122:01:23W - Elev: 374ft.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
    • Saratoga Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #170 on: December 08, 2017, 06:31:05 PM »
Under Setup, Advanced, PurpleAir TAB you can tick "Upload graph and dial images to web every 10 minutes".  Works for me :)

The testtags.php additions are processed and uploaded at 5 minutes.
Ken True
Saratoga Weather
CWOP: CW1792
WeatherUnderground: KCASARAT1
Free weather website PHP scripts and WD website AJAX templates

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,486
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #171 on: December 08, 2017, 06:53:03 PM »
yup, you can get WD to create and upload the graph and gauge
but to get it to upload the 'airquality.txt' and 'airquality2.txt' you could do that via the general ftp

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 180
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #172 on: December 08, 2017, 07:23:23 PM »
Thank you Ken and Brian.

I do not care very much for the graph nor the dial images...

I have setup Weather Display to upload both 'airquality.txt' and 'airquality2.txt' using the general FTP upload - it is unfortunate that those two files cannot be part of the near-real-time uploads such as 'clientraw.txt' without the need of an additional separate FTP upload.
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 84,486
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #173 on: December 08, 2017, 07:26:07 PM »
instead
its fortunate WD has the flexibility to allow you to upload them

Offline ALITTLEweird1

  • Mark
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,123
  • North Bend, WA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • North Bend Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #174 on: January 11, 2018, 03:32:41 AM »
There's 12 pages to this thread, but I only have a couple questions.

I'm now considering buying one of these sensors. Before I do, I just want to make sure that it works fully with WD, and does it show live data, or does it update every 10 mins or so? I think I've also seen a graph that can be produced, but could be wrong.

Thanks
"Nature can do without man, but man cannot do without nature."

Davis VP2 + VP2 Solar + VP2 UV + Lightning Detector + Logitech Webcam

Offline mihec

  • Posts: 204
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 57.0
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #175 on: January 11, 2018, 08:23:28 AM »
You can check a graph here ( http://www.vremetolmin.si ) somewhere in the middle (the "AQI"). I don't have the actual sensor but am producing the data from my home-made one. It is a 1-minute update I think.

Offline Harry

  • Posts: 648
  • Union City, CA USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Union City, CA Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #176 on: January 23, 2018, 01:07:55 AM »
I have added support now to this update of WD
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

see under setup,advanced/misc

custom tag is
%purpleair%
or the 2.5 micron particle measure value

I finally got around to upgrading to the latest version of WD and wanted to set up my PurpleAir sensor but, I am having trouble finding the setup for it under "setup,advanced misc."

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,331
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 63.0.3239.132
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #177 on: January 23, 2018, 01:37:55 AM »
I see it in the full version 10.37S63. Set up, advanced misc, purpleair has its own tab.

Offline Harry

  • Posts: 648
  • Union City, CA USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Union City, CA Weather
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #178 on: January 23, 2018, 02:36:57 AM »
I see it in the full version 10.37S63. Set up, advanced misc, purpleair has its own tab.

Ahhh, found it.  With this poor old 17" monitor set at 800x600, it fell off the screen. Thanks, Niko.

Offline Labbs

  • Posts: 365
  • GŲteborg, Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 58.0.3029.110
    • Lokalt Všder
Re: Weather Undergroundís Next Frontier: Air Quality
« Reply #179 on: January 30, 2018, 05:37:17 PM »
Hi,

My sensor works but WD is not able to retrive its data since this morning. Looking at the airquality2.txt file it starts with:
Code: [Select]
{"mapVersion":60,"mapVersionString":"A fix for script error that popped up recently. Smaller download for map updates. Map still slow when zoomed out but we are working on that!","results":. Do not know if it used to do that. When I test my PA setup everything seems fine and the tags gets updated but then it is a flat line in the graph.

Not sure but the only thing changed is that I updated WD from 10.37S b62 to 10.37S b64 around the same time.