cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weather Display goes flat line  (Read 5364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 59.0.3071.115
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #45 on: August 12, 2017, 01:33:22 PM »
Thanks!  I will try it with a powered USB hub and see what happens.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 261
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #46 on: August 16, 2017, 09:53:33 AM »
Flat-lined impressively last night, but WD didn't stop logging or graphing.

When it recovers itself like this I have no chance of recovering the lost data.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 02:22:50 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 261
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #47 on: August 17, 2017, 02:27:34 PM »
This time I noticed the flat-lining before WD recovered, and was able to alter the start time in the history reader when I restarted WD.

Log shows flat-line values from 2009-2146 and then starts again at 2009 with correct history values.

P.S. this flat-line was entirely my own fault!
« Last Edit: August 18, 2017, 01:15:39 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #48 on: September 02, 2017, 01:09:32 PM »
My Weather Display is flat lining again.  It is random.  It seems to come back on its own most of the time.  Other times I shut down the program and restart it along with removing the USB cable and reattaching it.  I noticed the last time it did the Weather Display "Data Received" kept counting data received with a flashing green light.  I have tried different USB cable, moving to a powered USB hub and moving the Oregon Scientific WMR200 display unit.  I have set the USB ports so they will not go to sleep.  I have attached a picture of the latest Weather Display display.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I am on the Weather Underground as station KOHPATAS3.



Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #49 on: September 02, 2017, 06:36:43 PM »
what shows in the separate wmr200 decode program when there is no new data updates (i.e the data is the same all the time)
also the version you have is nearly a year old

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.79
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #50 on: September 02, 2017, 08:12:35 PM »
The data on the WMR200 hardware display updates with the current data if that is what you are asking.  I don't know what you mean about the wmr200 decode program.  I have been fighting this for a long time.  Shall I update to the latest version of WD?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #51 on: September 02, 2017, 08:16:49 PM »
the wmr200 decode program is a separate running program in the system tray
yes I would at least be using the latest version

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #52 on: September 02, 2017, 10:10:12 PM »
I just updated to your latest version.  I will see what happens.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #53 on: September 02, 2017, 11:23:36 PM »
the key is I need to know what shows in the separate running wmr200 program if and when the problem happens again

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.79
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #54 on: September 03, 2017, 02:43:02 AM »
I will let you know Brian.  Thanks for your help!!

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 261
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #55 on: September 18, 2017, 09:58:48 PM »
I'm still flat-lining on a random basis. New computer, dedicated to WD 24/7 (10.37S55), direct USB connection. Today WMR200 decoder just shows "Resetting registry", event log is empty, last few days of debug info attached. All the data was saved on the console logger and downloaded to WMR200history.txt

1. Your March mod to stop logging/graphing on flat-lining doesn't work.

2. If I convert WMR200history.txt to data, how do I add it to logs and send it to WUnderground?

3. I'm embarrassed to be part of WUnderground reporting, they used to get more data when I turned the old machine off every night and they got all the history data in the morning.

P.S. Why does debug file show "resetting overnight minimum temp" at 2100 when I have it set to reset at midnight?

It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #56 on: September 18, 2017, 11:05:00 PM »
Quote
P.S. Why does debug file show "resetting overnight minimum temp" at 2100 when I have it set to reset at midnight?
that is actually refereing to the 9am daily min temp
I will remove that from the log

i do not know why you still have usb problem
when I am not seeing others with this exact same problem

Offline rick790

  • Posts: 20
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.79
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #57 on: September 19, 2017, 03:48:54 AM »
I don't want to jinx my station but since I updated the Weather Display to the latest version I have had no issues of flat lining.  Is this just a coincidence or was there something that was updated that fixed the problem???  Who knows.  I am happy it is working fine now.


Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 261
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #58 on: September 27, 2017, 10:56:47 AM »
i do not know why you still have usb problem
when I am not seeing others with this exact same problem

Did it again at 0530 this morning. . . but might not be a USB problem, plenty of other people report flat-lining.

Anyway, it would be good if WD stopped logging/graphing when it flat-lines. Maybe also stop uploading clientraw and reporting to WUnderground, too? That way WU would get the missing history data on restart.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Weather Display goes flat line
« Reply #59 on: September 28, 2017, 04:06:34 AM »
not sure I would agree with your statements
which particular user?

I have already put in place for you code to check for flat line so that WD stops logging
are you sure you are using a recent version

 

cumulus