cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Davis Envoy question  (Read 5797 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,899
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #15 on: February 10, 2017, 08:47:47 PM »
7.2C is 45F, so I think it's an F measured temp converted to C, and the display difference is just a display design choice.

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #16 on: February 10, 2017, 08:58:30 PM »
Oki, I will keep an eye on it, but if for example if it says something like 0.1C that will not = a rounded F then
I will report back :)
« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 07:22:50 AM by Bashy »

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #17 on: February 10, 2017, 09:05:26 PM »
Oh, there is one other thing, I am sure I read somewhere that the stainless steel temp was rounded to 0 but the one I have isn't, may have made that up mind, will have look online in the morning :
« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 07:23:07 AM by Bashy »

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2017, 05:04:44 AM »
Hi Niko, this morning the soil temp was 0.2C now if my mate google is correct then that is 32.36F
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 05:14:58 AM by Bashy »

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2017, 11:56:34 AM »
Hi folks, from what i gather, the Console is to the nearest 1C and both envoys to the nearest 0.1C or 1C,
but nothing said about the history and alarms for the 8x, thats the only difference i can find in the specs

Here's the specs, i wrote it exact

The console  (Outside temp/hum ISS)
Current data: 0.1F or 1F or 0.1C or 1C (User selectable) Nominal
C is converted from F rounded to the nearest 1C

The Envoy (inside temp or probe)
Current data: 0.1F or 1F or 0.1C or 1C Nominal
Celcius  is converted from Fahrenheit and rounded to the nearest 0.1 or 1C
Extra bit that follows is
(Historical Graph Data and Alarms: 1F or 1C Celcius is converted from
Fahrenheit and rounded to the nearest 1C)

The Envoy 8x (inside temp or probe)
Current data: 0.1F or 1F or 0.1C or 1C Nominal
Celcius  is converted from Fahrenheit and rounded to the nearest 0.1 or 1C

So it looks like both Envoys can produce the data at 0.1C
3 things im struggling with though and would like clarifying if you can please;

1, In the  specs, the console says to the nearest 1C for the outside temp (ISS), yet its not, its does 0.1C obviously lol
2, You guys say the Envoy only does 1C but thats not what it says above in the specs
3, I cannot find any  information that says what the Envoy and or 8x resolutions they can produce rom the external sensors
4, Why is my soil temp at 0.1C on the console yet not in WD? is that a limitation of what data can be sent to WD?

Please do not take my posts the wrong way, i would just like to know how my equipment is going to work is all, thanks :)

Offline prodata

  • Posts: 777
  • Cambridge, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
    • Automatic Weather Stations
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2017, 12:28:13 PM »
If you'll allow me to dip in quickly:

Standard consoles and Envoys (not 8X which is a different animal altogether) behave identically. You must distinguish between temps from primary inside/outside sensors and supplementary (eg leaf/soil) sensors.

All in/out temps are processed by the console as 0.1F temps and converted to C for display if that's the user's units setting.

All supplementary temps are processed as 1F temps.

NB Recent wireless Envoy units (but not older ones) have a socket which allows an external probe to be attached and to override the built-in inside temp. This particular probe will therefore behave as if it were the inside temp reading (ie with 0.1F resolution) and not as a supplementary temp.
John Dann
www.weatherstations.co.uk - UK Davis specialists
VP Knowledgebase Curator - see http://goo.gl/4p1gYQ

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2017, 01:16:56 PM »
Hi John, thanks for the info, using it for the external probe for inside temp could be a good option
for me as my weather pc is in the conservatory and the door is open all day long unless i have to
go out, so you can imagine what the indoor temps is like  :lol:

I have also found out that the soil temp is reading at 0.0, thats what VPLive is telling me so i am baffled as to
why WD only grabs it at 0, unless the output data from the console is only producing it at 0, that will explain
that, question is John, whilst you are here, does the Envoy output the soil temp at 0.0?

Wait, that cant be right, the data is being sent as 0.0 because VPLive picked it up at that lol mm interesting....
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 01:40:02 PM by Bashy »

Offline prodata

  • Posts: 777
  • Cambridge, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
    • Automatic Weather Stations
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2017, 01:56:15 PM »
What always needs to be remembered with Davis kit is that it's US-designed and therefore all readings are held internally in US units, eg F for temps. This is also true for all readings held in the loggers. What 3rd party software like WD might do with the data after it's been downloaded is of course another matter and will depend on the individual program.

But what happens to console temps for supplementary temps is this: The values are held as integer F, which is roughly 0.5C. If integer F were simply rounded to the nearest C then there would obviously be a serious loss of precision. So the conversion is done from integer F to C values with 1dp. Assuming that your console is set to show temps in C and to 1dp then you'll obviously see the values to 1dp but with a staircase of 0.5-0.6C between consecutive values.

Does that help? (Sorry, I think Niko has already been over this ground, but maybe I'm just saying the same thing with different words?)
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 02:04:24 PM by prodata »
John Dann
www.weatherstations.co.uk - UK Davis specialists
VP Knowledgebase Curator - see http://goo.gl/4p1gYQ

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #23 on: February 11, 2017, 02:14:47 PM »
Thats ok, half the time with stuff like this i need to be spoon fed as it can take a while or simplifying for it to sink in.

I think i get it, basically its in F and the console converts it, will have to ask Brian as to why WD will only do it to 0

thanks John and Niko  :)

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,216
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #24 on: February 11, 2017, 06:54:51 PM »
there is a custom tag to show vp soil temp to 1 dec place
(ie 0.5 c resolution)

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #25 on: February 11, 2017, 07:07:13 PM »
Ah brill, i only noticed the normal ones, will have a look, thanks Brian :)

« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 07:15:03 PM by Bashy »

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #26 on: February 11, 2017, 07:18:49 PM »
Ah poo, does that apply to the night cloud settings too Brian?

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,216
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2017, 10:55:21 PM »
not sure what you mean?
not sure what soil temp 1 decimal place has to do with night cloud setting exactly?
maybe you mean by using the soil sensor as an extra temp sensor the night time cloud ?
(if so then it would help to make that clear)
the value used will be to 0.5c resolution

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #28 on: February 13, 2017, 07:01:13 AM »
Sorry, you are aware i am using soil temp for night cloud, we are/were trying to get soil temp one working instead of 2?
I didnt think to think you may have forgot.

Would it be possible to have a .1 option please, although .5 is better than 1 its still too big of a margin for the night cloud
my difference is 0.0 for overcast and 1.7 for clear using the soil temp prob

yet using settings 0.0 overcast and 1.0 difference, this  produces the clear sky icon/condition

Only been asking about it and the soil resolution because its been hard to set up the night cloud settings
« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 07:18:49 AM by Bashy »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,216
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Davis Envoy question
« Reply #29 on: February 14, 2017, 05:15:46 PM »
Quote
I didnt think to think you may have forgot.
but there are alot of people I am working with
and its hard to know who is doing what with what etc all the time
you see, I am not a mind reader
people need to supply as much information as possible in their posts


 

cumulus