cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: IP camera image quality question  (Read 6174 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,294
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.75
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #30 on: December 02, 2016, 03:57:17 AM »
http://www.showmemyip.com/


or you blanked it out in the shields up query...
« Last Edit: December 02, 2016, 03:59:55 AM by NorCal Dan »

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #31 on: December 02, 2016, 04:02:11 AM »
Yeah, I thought about that after I blocked it out.  I don't know why I did that, I'm among friends here.  LOL

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,294
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.75
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #32 on: December 02, 2016, 04:12:38 AM »
Keep in mind that the directions I've given you are to allow people to connect directly to your webcam.  AFAIK all the Amcrest cams run an internal webserver.  If your using WD to serve the live feed then the setup would be different.  Instead of pointing the router requests to your webcam you would instead point them to your WD computer.  I am not familiar with using this method to serve up live video.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,803
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #33 on: December 02, 2016, 04:16:29 AM »
I've tried a few things and I can't find anything to connect to on 4102 or 3193. Are you sure you have the port forwarded correctly in your router? I guess you must have done it OK with 80 'cause the website works  :?

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #34 on: December 02, 2016, 04:21:01 AM »
Try port 3732.

Keep in mind that the directions I've given you are to allow people to connect directly to your webcam.  AFAIK all the Amcrest cams run an internal webserver.  If your using WD to serve the live feed then the setup would be different.  Instead of pointing the router requests to your webcam you would instead point them to your WD computer.  I am not familiar with using this method to serve up live video.

So, if you're not familiar with this method, what method should I be using?  In the "Connections" tab of the Amcrest setup console, it can handle TCP, UDP, HTTP, RTSP and HTTPS, and on the Multicast tab it can do Main Streams on port 36666, and Sub-Streams on 36667.

What's the best method for doing this and how should I set it up?

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,294
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.75
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #35 on: December 02, 2016, 04:25:02 AM »
I'm not familiar with using WD to serve the stream.  :wink:

The only method I've used is to allow visitors to connect directly to my webcam so that's the directions I gave you. 

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #36 on: December 02, 2016, 04:27:21 AM »
If I enter the Multicast Stream URL into the browser window, I get this bar across the top of a web page... much different than any other page that errors occur on.  It doesn't say it can't find it, it says it's "Unable to connect".  Try this URL:

http://239.255.42.42:36666/

I opened 36666 on the router.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,803
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #37 on: December 02, 2016, 04:33:39 AM »
That's a special use IP, it will only work within your network.

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #38 on: December 02, 2016, 06:11:35 AM »
Guys, I got it!!!!

The problem was on my router both the Service (Internal) and External port were both set to 3732.  I set the Internal port to 80, and it started streaming like it should!

So excited!!!

http://portcoquitlamweather.ca/livecam.php

Let me know if you can see it.

Cheers,
Dan

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,803
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #39 on: December 02, 2016, 02:55:16 PM »
I see it  :D  but only for a few seconds and then it goes away.

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #40 on: December 02, 2016, 04:37:51 PM »
I see it  :D  but only for a few seconds and then it goes away.

I think that has to do with the quality settings being set too high and it can't keep up.  I have to do some tweaking to get it just right.  Just reload the page if you want to keep viewing.  It's not consistent.

Thanks for testing!

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,803
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 54.0.2840.99
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #41 on: December 02, 2016, 04:57:53 PM »
For some reason fullscreen seems to work better than the webpage image...

Bashy

  • Guest
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #42 on: December 09, 2016, 02:07:44 PM »
Dead in chrome :/

Offline dan43

  • Posts: 449
  • Oregon Scientific WMR300
  • Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Port Coquitlam Weather
Re: IP camera image quality question
« Reply #43 on: December 16, 2016, 04:42:38 PM »
I think I've found a good mix of quality and bandwidth options to produce a continuously streaming webcam image from my camera.  It's not 100% perfect, but it does the job and doesn't time out after a few seconds.

If this can help anyone else out using an Amcrest webcam, by all means feel free to use these settings.