cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: WXSim and Meteobridge  (Read 2228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stewart45

  • Blue
  • Posts: 745
  • Things are never as bad as you think they are
  • Cleveland UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 48.0
    • Newlands weather Station
WXSim and Meteobridge
« on: August 11, 2016, 04:23:51 PM »
Think I already know what the answer to this but here goes, is there anyway of using Meteobridge data collected from a DavisVP2 to use as local data input to WXsim

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,682
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • Firefox 48.0
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 10:43:41 PM »
Seems I may have been asked this before, and I don't know the answer offhand, so apparently I need to get more educated about Meteobridge!  The essential question is whether Meteobridge stores a data file anywhere on your computer, or even on the web.  WXSIMATE needs a file to read, either from your local disk or from the internet.  The file needs to be, or at least look like (i.e. same format) log files from Weather Display, Cumulus, VWS, or WeatherLink.

Please feel free to fill me in, as I have not ever used Meteobridge! :(

Tom

Offline stewart45

  • Blue
  • Posts: 745
  • Things are never as bad as you think they are
  • Cleveland UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 48.0
    • Newlands weather Station
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 09:24:11 AM »
Thanks for the reply Tom, not too technically minded when it comes to the finer points of meteobridge here is a link to one of their wiki pages that might throw some light, attached the two files that are uploaded by meteobridge to my website http://www.skeltonweather.uk
http://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Add-On_Services

Offline Tom Ehrensperger

  • Posts: 2,682
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • Firefox 48.0
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2016, 12:00:15 AM »
Hmmm - neither of these seems to have all the hourly (or minute by minute) data.  Does the full data set get stored somewhere online?

Tom

Offline stewart45

  • Blue
  • Posts: 745
  • Things are never as bad as you think they are
  • Cleveland UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 48.0
    • Newlands weather Station
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2016, 11:03:40 AM »
unfortunatly not, probably need to go down the meteohub route for that option

Offline ettanin

  • Posts: 4
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.14.3
  • Chrome 71.0.3578.98
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2019, 05:14:47 AM »
At least the pro and nano-sd versions can export data in csv
https://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Templates/en

Tom, what values do you exactly need. We could probably come up with a template and ask the meteobridge developers to include it.

Here's an example:
$# date, time, temperature{C}, humidity{%}, dew point{C}, sealevel pressure{hPa}, avg wind speed{m/s}, gust speed{m/s}, winddir, rainfall{mm},UV index, solar radiation {Wm2}
[YYYY]-[MM]-[DD],[hh]:[mm],[th0temp-avg.1:],[th0hum-avg.0:],[th0dew-avg.1:],[thb0seapress-avg.1:],[wind0avgwind-avg.1:],[wind0wind-max.1:],[wind0dir-avg.0:],[rain0total-sum.1:],[uv0index-avg.1:],[sol0rad-avg.1:]

that would generate:

2019-02-02,11:09,2.8,96,2.2,998.4,0.4,0.9,221,0.0,0.0,100.0
2019-02-02,11:10,2.8,96,2.2,998.4,0.4,0.9,220,0.0,0.0,107.0
2019-02-02,11:11,2.8,96,2.2,998.4,0.4,1.3,217,0.2,0.0,117.5
2019-02-02,11:12,2.8,96,2.2,998.3,0.4,0.4,217,0.0,0.5,125.0
2019-02-02,11:13,2.8,96,2.2,998.2,0.4,1.8,221,0.0,0.5,127.0

Offline hrvistaweather

  • Posts: 295
  • Tasmania
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 73.0.3683.103
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2019, 12:42:04 AM »
Hi Sorry this is an old tread.
Just wondering if any wxsim users ended up using Meteobridge Pro to feed data to wxsimate ?
Kind regards,
Tony

Offline hrvistaweather

  • Posts: 295
  • Tasmania
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2019, 09:43:02 PM »
Hi Tom,
I've been engaging with other Meteobridge Pro users and keep getting the same question that has been unanswered in other posts.
That is if all (Meteobridge Pro) users of WxSim use the same Template values for processing, (Admin for Meteobridge Pro) say they can create a default Template for WxSim in the Default Templates folder. This can be ftp'd to windows pc any folder location or even ftp'd to online web server.

Rather than try and duplicate say Weather Display or Cumulus type data logs, the question keeps coming up and that is, What do you want data wise and in what format, that way a standard template can be created.
Below : where same question was asked a while back, though not answered.

https://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,63373.msg543161.html?PHPSESSID=cullqasbkeopr21b722k7a5727#msg543161

And on:

https://forum.meteohub.de/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=13996

kind Regards,
Tony

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,120
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2019, 09:51:41 PM »
Can't meteobridge feed WD?

Offline hrvistaweather

  • Posts: 295
  • Tasmania
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2019, 09:56:08 PM »
Hi Niko,
My intent is to only use Meteobridge Pro, no WD/No Cumulus or the like.
Kind Regards,
Tony

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,120
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 74.0.3729.131
Re: WXSim and Meteobridge
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2019, 10:04:59 PM »
Thanks for the clarification  :)

 

cumulus