cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Wind Gust  (Read 4427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mat Mackenzie

  • Posts: 188
  • Hythe, Kent, England
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Hythe and Saltwood Sailing Club
Wind Gust
« on: July 28, 2016, 05:01:24 PM »
I appreciate that someone posted this a while back, but they got no response.

Is there a Wind GUST gauge as well as windspeed?

Many thanks.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,458
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.82
    • Weather Display
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2016, 10:14:38 PM »
you could actually create one..
just copy the code that is already there for the average wind speed
and name all the variables differently for a different gauge name etc
and then hook it into "wlatest" (which is the gust speed)

Offline Mat Mackenzie

  • Posts: 188
  • Hythe, Kent, England
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Hythe and Saltwood Sailing Club
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2016, 12:26:41 PM »
Hmm - good idea. I had thought of it tbh but was hoping one already existed. Anyway - got to get the thing working first!!

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,458
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.82
    • Weather Display
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2016, 06:25:00 PM »
I Have already added a month rain gauge as proof of concept in a test setup, so I know it can be done

when you say got to get working first, what is the problem you are having exactly?

Offline Mat Mackenzie

  • Posts: 188
  • Hythe, Kent, England
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Hythe and Saltwood Sailing Club
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2016, 06:36:20 PM »

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 644
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 6.0.1
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.81
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2016, 08:36:00 PM »
I Have already added a month rain gauge as proof of concept in a test setup, so I know it can be done
I tried to make the individual gauges as modular as I could to make this sort of thing easier. Glad you got it going.
Mark

Offline Mat Mackenzie

  • Posts: 188
  • Hythe, Kent, England
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Hythe and Saltwood Sailing Club
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2016, 10:19:47 AM »
I haven't yet! Fancy doing the windgust one?  :wink:
« Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 10:26:34 AM by mathewmackenzie »

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 644
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.82
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2016, 11:09:20 AM »
No time I'm afraid, I can provide pointers if you get stuck, but there are too many demands on my time as it is.
Mark

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,458
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.82
    • Weather Display
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2016, 06:19:29 PM »
I can do it for you  :wink:

Offline Mat Mackenzie

  • Posts: 188
  • Hythe, Kent, England
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Hythe and Saltwood Sailing Club
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2016, 03:20:46 PM »
Very kind, but right now I'd just settle for my FTP to start working properly again!

Offline meteohoogeveen

  • Posts: 21
  • Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
    • 11
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Meteo Hoogeveen
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2017, 03:14:43 PM »
hello,

wich code must I copy for creating a windgustgauge and what must I change.
is there a sample of it?

I know nothing about javascripts, so for me isn't so easy to do this.

Why isn't yet a gauge for windgust?

Sorry for my bad English.

Greetings,

Bert

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 644
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.75
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2017, 06:30:40 PM »
The wind gust is displayed on the wind gauge. The pointer is the current value, and the top of the red background sector shows the peak gust in the last 10 minutes (depends on your weather software config), and the red triangle shows the peak gust so far today. I'm not sure what is missing?
Mark

Offline meteohoogeveen

  • Posts: 21
  • Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
    • 11
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Meteo Hoogeveen
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2017, 06:36:11 PM »
i tried to understand to get a seperate windgustgauge but i don't no wich code i must copy and even what i must do too change before its working.

my question is....is there een easy way to get a windgustgauge and why doesn't excist such gauge.

greetings,

Bert

Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 644
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.75
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2017, 09:12:47 PM »
why doesn't excist such gauge.
Because I cannot see the need, what will it show that the wind speed gauge doesn't? Just the peak gust value?
Mark

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,458
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: Wind Gust
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2017, 09:58:51 PM »
you could roll your own gauge...to show what you want..it is possible..I have done that to show extra temperature etc
(there is an older thread about how to do that)