cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining  (Read 959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« on: July 25, 2016, 04:50:06 PM »
Dear Brian,
I have installed Hobby Boards moisture meter (the new version with up to 4 sensors) and have come up to this strange issue:

Tags %VPsoilmoisture% and %VPleaf% are not updated, actually just once once WD is started. Then they go flatlining despite dallas1wirereader constantly showing updated values from the sensors.

This is what I think were the correct steps for a setup:

1) Moisture meter wired to a powered 1-wire network
2) One soil moisture sensor connected to channel 1 and one leaf wetness sensor connected to channel 2
3) Channel 2 allocated to leaf wetness in HB1wirereader
4) Moisture meter set up in dallas1wirereader with Hobby boards type ticked and saved while WD not running
5) dallas1wirereader now reading values from both sensors (soil moisture value showed up immediately in the soil moisture field and channel 2's raw value appeared in the rolling log window)
6) In WD I use 2 tags to get current data from sensors - %VPsoilmoisture% for sensor 1 and %VPleaf2% for sensor 2 (leaf wetness)

As stated above, I get just first update of values in tags upon WD start, no other values are updated then periodically (I have to restart WD again to get updated values).

How could I correct the problem? Maybe something wrong in the wdisplay.ini?
I've added some screenshots to support the issue.

Thanks for help!
« Last Edit: July 25, 2016, 07:07:23 PM by centor »

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 03:17:55 PM »
Could I please ask for some reaction? The problem still persists with the newest version. Thank you!

Offline MichaelPT

  • Posts: 1,220
  • Staffordshire Nr Leek
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 6.0.1
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.133
    • Weather-Above
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2016, 11:29:48 PM »
Dear Brian,
I have installed Hobby Boards moisture meter (the new version with up to 4 sensors) and have come up to this strange issue:

Tags %VPsoilmoisture% and %VPleaf% are not updated, actually just once once WD is started. Then they go flatlining despite dallas1wirereader constantly showing updated values from the sensors.

This is what I think were the correct steps for a setup:

1) Moisture meter wired to a powered 1-wire network
2) One soil moisture sensor connected to channel 1 and one leaf wetness sensor connected to channel 2
3) Channel 2 allocated to leaf wetness in HB1wirereader
4) Moisture meter set up in dallas1wirereader with Hobby boards type ticked and saved while WD not running
5) dallas1wirereader now reading values from both sensors (soil moisture value showed up immediately in the soil moisture field and channel 2's raw value appeared in the rolling log window)
6) In WD I use 2 tags to get current data from sensors - %VPsoilmoisture% for sensor 1 and %VPleaf2% for sensor 2 (leaf wetness)

As stated above, I get just first update of values in tags upon WD start, no other values are updated then periodically (I have to restart WD again to get updated values).

How could I correct the problem? Maybe something wrong in the wdisplay.ini?
I've added some screenshots to support the issue.

Thanks for help!

Hi 👋
Running version 4.4 hb reader
I have  the new hb moisture  sensors

Channel  1 to 3  soil  sensors

Channel  4  wetleaf

main window customise I  use tags. %VPsoilmoisture%  %VPsoilmoisture2%  %VPsoilmoisture3%
Wet leaf 🍀 they are updateing for me on the wd main page

The extra sensor real time graphs

Is not updating  the data :(

It would be amazing . some how to graph the soil data

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 11:35:07 PM by MichaelPT »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,086
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 52.0.2743.82
    • Weather Display
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 01:26:37 AM »
@ centor
try the latest .zip update
@MichaelPT
the soil data is graphed on the Solar/UV/ET real time graph

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 46.0.2486.0
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2016, 01:11:37 PM »
I tried the new update, but still no luck. I get new value from %VPleaf2% just upon WD start, despite 1wirereader showing new raw values instantly.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 01:30:46 PM by centor »

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2018, 07:35:51 PM »
Unfortunately I am still stuck with the same problem - moisture values flatlining. I found out, that for some reason, the soil moisture and leaf wetness values are not updated in the registry section "wdisplayftp.ini/1 wire reader" - I suppose that's the place where WD takes the values from and updates the tags. How could it be when other values in the registry are updated ok? It is very strange indeed, as 1wirereader shows updated values correctly in the debug window... 8O


Thanks for help.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,086
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2018, 08:05:23 PM »
when you say 1 wire reader, do you mean the WD HB 1 wire reader program?

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2018, 08:40:14 PM »
No, I mean the original 1wirereader that is launching every time with WD, the one in the screenshot attached...

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,086
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2018, 09:23:41 PM »
WD gets the data from the registry value as you found
are you saying that value only updates once on start up of the dallas 1 wire reader program?
(note you need to force a refresh of the value you see with regedit.exe)

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2018, 09:42:03 PM »
Precisely. And those moisture values are static, that's why they're flatlining in the realtime graph...

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,086
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2018, 09:48:44 PM »
I am not sure why they are only updating once at the start up of the dallas 1 wire reader program to the registry
I lost the source code to that program years ago,when I had a hard drive crash,  so I can't update it. sorry

Offline centor

  • Posts: 83
  • Prague, Czech Republic, Europe
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 64.0.3282.140
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2018, 09:58:27 PM »
Nevermind. I will try to get around it somehow. Thank you anyway...

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 85,086
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 68.0.3440.106
    • Weather Display
Re: HB Moisture Meter tags flatlining
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2018, 10:00:49 PM »
maybe you could have a script or similar close and then restart it on a regular basis

 

cumulus