cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: WS-1001 data direct to WD?  (Read 20459 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SWSproule MI0DLW

  • Posts: 320
  • Cloughfern, Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 43.0
    • Cloughfern, Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2016, 06:29:31 AM »
Hi all,

very interested in this too as I just bought one of these stations on Monday,
just found the Ambient Wiki page for WS-1001 and this was on it :

"Cumulus Integration
dontheman Dec 27, 2015
I would love the ability to integrate this station with Cumulus. I suspect that feature will be available at some point.

ambientweather Feb 19, 2016
Yes, we just finished the software connectivity beta testing. We will publish the protocol shortly."


if they're saying protocol will work on Cumulus (whenever they release it) good news for WD users in the future.
The ambient page is at https://ambientweather.wikispaces.com/ws1001-wifi
hope this may be of some use.

Stephen.
Weather:          http://sproule.co.uk/weather/

Offline ebonzl

  • Posts: 44
  • Auckland, NZ
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 6.3
  • Chrome 50.0.2661.94
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #31 on: May 12, 2016, 08:12:31 PM »
Just a quick update - the rain is recording perfectly (shows rain to .01 - with the WU api only showed to 1 place), had it running for a few days now - really is a great improvement, its like having a new weather station :)



- WD version: 10.37S b19
- Weather station type: WS1001 Clone, firmware 2.29
- PC operating system: Windows Server 2012R2 VM  8Gb RAM, running under ESX 5.5

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 50.0.2661.94
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #32 on: May 12, 2016, 08:34:39 PM »
that's good :wink:
would be good if   a write up could be made detailing the steps needed so that others could do this maybe? :)

Offline zl3gp

  • Posts: 149
  • Picton, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.3.2
  • Safari 9.0
    • Picton Weather
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #33 on: July 13, 2016, 05:15:25 AM »

I have tried to view this link on wxforum but it seems to be gone. 😕
Ah well.
----------

This link as been my primary source of information - http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=28709.0

I have used the WU redirection methods weatherist34 has published above for the WS1001 to leverage the same file for import - all of the information can be found on the forum entry above. Many Thanks to the work DrSprite (initially) and ultimately weatherist34 have done on this! (Also luckily for me the WS1001 console is essentially a Windows CE PC, so working in IT for over 20 years this is something I am familiar with) :)

On the subject of using HTTP GET commands I also see that there is a beta version of Easy WeatherIP :- https://ambientweather.wikispaces.com/ws1001-wifi which connects to the WS1001 via WiFi IP address and can get the data - I have tested this with the WS1001 (firmware ver 2.29)and can confirm this does indeed work so getting data out of this device directly is indeed possible, but details of if they use HTTP and/or how they do this is not published.
Philip - ZL3GP
www.Pictonweather.nz

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 5.0.1
  • Chrome 37.0.0.0
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #34 on: July 13, 2016, 05:33:04 AM »
I suspect a http get to the ip address and port number of the station should
Return the data.It's something I want to get working

Offline weatherist34

  • Posts: 315
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.3
  • Safari 9.0.3
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #35 on: July 13, 2016, 09:03:31 AM »
hi

here is the current WS1001( Clones) output dumped when using the updateweatherstation.php to a file called ws1001.json on your server

{ "timestamp":1467623507,"updated":"12:11:47","outsideTemp":"83.8","outsideHumidity":"53","humiditytrend":"53","dewpoint":"64.9", "dewpointtrend":"64.9","windchill":"83.8","heatindex":85.5,"realfeel":84.4,"windDir":"240","windSpeed":"5.8","windGust":"12.3", "rainrate":"0.00","raintoday":"0.00","rainweek":"0.00","rainmonth":"0.00","rainyear":"17.63","radiation":"623.82","UV":"7", "UVtrend":"7","indoorTemp":"83.7","indoorfeel":84.5,"indoorHumidity":"58","barometer":"29.94","absbarometer":"29.68", "indoortrendTemp":"83.7","indoortrendHumidity":"58","trendTemp":"83.8","windtrend":"5.8","windgusttrend":"12.3", "trendbarometer":"29.94","solartrend":"623.82","softwaretype":"ISTANBUL161 V2.2.5","month":"July","year":"2016", "day":"Monday","realtime":"1","rtfreq":"5","status":"updateraw","timeutc":"2016-7-4 9:11:46","power":true }


the ws1001 (clones) only require a simple console file edit called server.ini it basically takes the weather underground upload protocol , using the updateweatherstation.php it also forwards the data directly to weather underground and simultaneously dumps the data to a file called ws1001.json .
the console does not have to be permanently connected to pc/mac it simply does everything for you .

it would a real bonus and benefit if weather display was able to read the file ws1001.json from a server or locally .

the updateweatherstation.php can be adapted to weather display tags (if thats correct phrase)

server.ini file
[Menu]
default=www.wunderground.com
web=1
web1=www.yourserver.com
web2=www.yourserver.com
[www.wunderground.com]
Server=yourserver.com
ServerType=php
ServerPort=80
UploadType=Customize
ReadOnly=true
[www.yourserver.com]
Server=yourserver.com
ServerType=php
ServerPort=80
UploadType=Customize
ReadOnly=true


updateweatherstation.php sample code


"updated" => date("G:i:s"),
   "outsideTemp" => $_GET['tempf'],
   "outsideHumidity" => $_GET['humidity'],
   "humiditytrend" => $_GET['humidity'],
   "dewpoint" => $_GET['dewptf'],
   "dewpointtrend" => $_GET['dewptf'],
   "windchill" => $_GET['windchillf'],
   "heatindex" => $_GET['heatindex'],
   "realfeel" => $_GET['realfeel'],
   "windDir" => $_GET['winddir'],
   "windSpeed" => $_GET['windspeedmph'],
   "windGust" => $_GET['windgustmph'],
   "rainrate" => $_GET['rainin'],
   "raintoday" => $_GET['dailyrainin'],
   "rainweek" => $_GET['weeklyrainin'],
   "rainmonth" => $_GET['monthlyrainin'],   
   "rainyear" => $_GET['yearlyrainin'],
   "radiation" => $_GET['solarradiation'],
   "UV" => $_GET['UV'],
   "UVtrend" => $_GET['UV'],
   "indoorTemp" => $_GET['indoortempf'],
   "indoorfeel" => $_GET['indoorfeel'],
   "indoorHumidity" => $_GET['indoorhumidity'],
   "barometer" => $_GET['baromin'],
   "absbarometer" => $_GET['absbaromin'],
   "indoortrendTemp" => $_GET['indoortempf'],
   "indoortrendHumidity" => $_GET['indoorhumidity'],
   "trendTemp" => $_GET['tempf'],
   "windtrend" => $_GET['windspeedmph'],
   "windgusttrend" => $_GET['windgustmph'],
   "trendbarometer" => $_GET['baromin'],
   "solartrend" => $_GET['solarradiation'],
   "softwaretype" => $_GET['softwaretype'],
   "month"=> date("F"),
   "year"=> date("Y"),
   "day"=> date("l"),
   "realtime" => $_GET['realtime'],
   "rtfreq" => $_GET['rtfreq'],
   "status" => $_GET['action'],
   "timeutc"=> $_GET['dateutc'],   
   "power" => $_GET['action']== "updateraw",
   );

if you would like further info or a ws1001.json to work with realtime drop us a line i can provide a realtime working file updated every 16 seconds.

brian


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.103
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #36 on: July 13, 2016, 09:21:54 AM »
Hi
I actually already do have this ability available in WD. recent version
see the Ambient WS1001 wifi raw data from script
and their you select the raw data file

try that
(in the weather station type setup)

Offline weatherist34

  • Posts: 315
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.3
  • Safari 9.0.3
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #37 on: July 13, 2016, 10:06:39 AM »
hi

i downloaded the mac version earlier i didn't see the reference to ws1001 but ill take a closer many thanks .., and also let me apologise for not reading the whole thread i was about to post and the electric went so you beat me to it ..


brian

Offline weatherist34

  • Posts: 315
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.3
  • Safari 9.0.3
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2016, 04:22:50 PM »
hi

please excuse me it is probably my total lack of knowledge of using this software but I downloaded the mac version and could not find any reference to using the ws1001 , can you give me a pointer  where to look , i don't see any options in the stationless tab .

brian

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.103
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #39 on: July 13, 2016, 06:36:52 PM »
I have not added this ability I mentioned above to the Mac version
(but I could...it was refering to the windows version)

mickeyb

  • Guest
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #40 on: July 13, 2016, 07:19:01 PM »
Hello Brian,

Ive moved here from my other thread.

I have  read through this thread. Is it suggesting that I use the Ws 1001 wiwfi file raw data file from script ?
So I need to set up a local server and have the station send its data there so that the ws 1001 option reads it ?

Is this the only way ? I will have to look up how to do it as I've never ceated a local server before. I take it that wd at present
cannot directly query the ip address of the station ?

Thanks,

Michael
« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 07:26:39 PM by mickeyb »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.103
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #41 on: July 13, 2016, 07:38:18 PM »
Quote
. I take it that wd at present
cannot directly query the ip address of the station ?
we have not worked on to see if that will actually work
we could certainly try that
what happens when you put the IP address and port of the station into a normal browser window URL and hit return..i.e like
192.168.0.1:5000


mickeyb

  • Guest
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #42 on: July 13, 2016, 08:35:06 PM »
Hi Brian,

If I type the ip address with the port number it doesn't find it and reports an error. The ip address on its own, works.
I have just downloaded easyweather 3.0 and it looks like it should be able to read my data and store it, but it cannot find the device.

I hope there is a way, it would be great to receive the data as fast as the station reports.

Michael
« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 08:38:20 PM by mickeyb »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,700
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.103
    • Weather Display
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #43 on: July 13, 2016, 08:37:20 PM »
if you can get the data returned to a web page URL via the IP address (+port ?) then we are in business
(as that is what a HTTP GET request will be able to do)
maybe someone else with more knowledge of how it all works can chime in?

mickeyb

  • Guest
Re: WS-1001 data direct to WD?
« Reply #44 on: July 13, 2016, 08:42:01 PM »
Hello,

The ip address followed by /livedata.htm goes straight to the live data page, but not sure that helps as it does not mention the port.
The data is in the html file, but have no idea how to extract it from the whole page.

Michael
« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 08:43:57 PM by mickeyb »

 

cumulus