Data logger hangs

Hi All,

My data logger hangs. I am running on windows 7 pc virtual PC on a HPnl40 server. Running a Davis weather wizard 3 station. Finally have had the time to try and re visit this problem. Have tried re set data logger (unplug etc) and everything I can think of but cannot get past this screen. WX display all works fine if I turn off the data logger in the control panel.

Help really appreciated.

regards

Steve

is that happening after the data is retrieved from the logger…and prior to it being processed by WD (i.e 2nd stage of the import)
is there any errors under view, program event log?
I presume build 81 works OK?

I dont have a wmii data logger here…but…there is a way for me to connect to your station…via virtual com port redirector software…

Hi Brian,

Please connect away, let me know if you need me to do anything this end?

I keep getting a blue screen error on PC every couple of weeks, Im no PC expert but the dump file suggests that it is a driver error. WD is running on virtual machine ( windows 7) that also serves as a web server so nothing else connected to this machine (dedicated just for weather display). I purchased an expensive Serial to Usb converter hoping this would cure it…It has certainly improved it but I dont think its cured it 100%. Apart from that WD has been very reliable.

Downside is that with data logger turned off, I lose all my history. Would love to crack this as this has been ongoing for ages.

Please feel free to log in and play any time that is convenient for you. Thanks in advance.

Steve

Hi
you would need to have a virtual comport redirector installed (e.g comport → IP (port forwarded) then at my end, its IP → com port (with the same software)

re the driver issue …try putting tin foil around the usb to serial adaptor

Hi Brian,

Thanks. Happy to do this, please advise what software I need to install and actions I need to take.

Your guidance really appreciated. Tin foil… really ?

Regards

Steve

Hi