cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Is WML going to survive after Flash?  (Read 4505 times)

Offline tpfrs

• Be patient...I'm a firefighter not a computer whiz
  • Tom Price Western Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 40.0
    • Tom Price Weather Centre
Is WML going to survive after Flash?
« on: September 03, 2015, 02:45:14 PM »
Just wondering
« Last Edit: September 03, 2015, 02:50:15 PM by tpfrs »

Offline Jachym

• Meteotemplate Developer
  • Brno, Czech Republic
    • jachym.czech
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Is WML going to survive after Flash?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2015, 03:47:51 PM »
There are about 10 exactly the same threads about this topic recently.... so just have a look there

Offline niko

• syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 03:57:48 PM »
Chris offered to make the full data stream available, see this, but I don't know if he got any interest.

Since the time that WML was introduced so many other generic "weather on a map" pages, and Ken's more enthusiast focused regional network sites, have become available and popular that in my opinion it would be quite redundant to develop yet another one.

Offline Jachym

• Brno, Czech Republic
    • jachym.czech
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 44.0.2403.157
    • Meteotemplate
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2015, 04:52:32 PM »
I agree with Niko, if the data is available, then it probably wont be a problem to write PHP scripts that would display it on a map, use infoboxes etc., but the question is, would it be worth it?

Offline tpfrs

• Be patient...I'm a firefighter not a computer whiz
  • Tom Price Western Australia
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 40.0
    • Tom Price Weather Centre
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2015, 04:56:28 PM »
Thanks Niko.