I should know this...

A friend of mine has asked me a question concerning a simple rain gauge he is trying to use to monitor rainfall. It is basically a graduated cylinder with markings in inches going up the side. He is telling me that his simple rain gauge is reading consistently twice the amount of rain being reported via the local weather service. I asked him all the basic questions…is it away from trees, buildings etc. And he said it was…yet consistently he get 2X the amount of rain reported.

Now…he is a mechanical engineer and I am an instrumentation technician and the discussion that broke between us is leaving me confused. If you look up “How to make your own rain gauge”, it appears to be unimportant of which container to use. A 2 liter bottle with ruler seems to be the standard method of making one of these for your back yard. But my question is why isn’t the size/diameter of the collection chamber important when trying to collect rainfall for measurement to a reasonable level of accuracy.

As we were discussing this, I tried to guess my way through it as to why he might be reading double the amount of rainfall. Assuming he indeed was away from structures that could add to his lab beaker, and assuming one of his kids isn’t playing tricks…isn’t the diameter of the collection chamber of any importance? If anything, his 1 or so inch lab cylinder should actually miss more rain than it catches. If he were to pour the rain from that tube into another container, certainly he would get a different height of water even though the volume of water is the same. Can anyone help to explain this?

I really never gave it much thought since I have the Davis tipping bucket and all the work is being done automatically. But I’m also curious to know when is an inch of rain an inch of rain when catching it in a container.